We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
aberdeen
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Hotel is situated in a great location right beside the River Ness and very close to the main shopping centre. We were allocated one of the ground floor rooms in an adjoining building, the room was tired, the shower mixer tap didn't work, so it was either burning hot or cold, not safe. One of the window clasps didn't work so we couldn't shut it properly. People smoked at wooden tables placed very close to our room, the noise from this and the lack of privacy was a disturbing factor. The room curtain fell off the rail because they had never put a closer on the end. In all for the money I would not use this hotel again. The free wifi was very patchy throughout the hotel, given four different codes but still not good reception, almost nil in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
W are sorry about your disagreement on your last stay with us and would like to add this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel

We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    401
    237
    110
    80
See reviews for
240
562
53
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked a single room for three days. I got room 210 in the first day. As soon as I entered the room I was speechless – how can anyone call that space a room, especially at 149 pounds per night . The room was definitely small. The bed was minuscule, squeezed between a wall and a small wardrobe. The mattress was weird - it leaned towards the cabinet, so that someone lying on the bed could fall off (had it not been for the cabinet that kept one from falling over). In addition to the terrible bed and wardrobe, a tiny bench, two micro useless tables and a mini TV completed the furniture (see attached photos). The general impression of both hotel and room was of carelessness -- there was indeed a thick layer of dust behind the TV, stains on the carpets and a bad smell all over the Hotel. The bathroom was reasonable, though the shower’s temperature control was broken. As if on purpose, in the second day, at the exact time of one World Cup game, the TV did not work. I complained and the manager gave me another room, much better than the first. The breakfast (compulsorily paid) was pretty bad with respect to both choice and quality. Though staff was aloof and not very helpful, the manager and another lady were very kind in solving the TV problem. The Wi-Fi was poor and went on and off all the time. I definitely do not recommend this hotel despite its nice location. There are many hotels in the same neighborhood and next time I will try another one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heloisabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this in not representative of the Glen Mhor hotel.
Our single room offers less space indeed than our double room but are market competitive.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This could have been perfect. The view of the river Ness and Saint Andrews Cathedral from our room was amazing. The charming appearance of the hotel's exterior is very inviting. Let me say as well, the breakfast is really good there each morning. My husband and I found the staff to be less than helpful, and they seemed unconcerned when we had a problem or question arise. The overall stay however, was nice. Perhaps the staff was having some issue which kept them from demonstrating hospitality. Not a bad experience true, but not perfect either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I was sorry to hear of your disappointment in regards to the staff attitude and would like to add that this in not representative of the Glen Mhor hotel.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was in a deluxe room and it was a lovely large room with a decent bathroom; with shower and bath. The bed was huge and very comfy and a good sized flat screen tv. On the downside one of the lamp shades by the bed was hanging off (bad fitments in hotels annoy me) and I was woken by the clattering of water pipes at 6am as was another guest in the party who was in a separate building so they really need to get that sorted (it sounded like a pneumatic drill had started). Also I was right next to the entrance door which closed with a crash every time someone came or went. Surely an easy problem to fix. Given the cost it really should have been fixed.
Breakfast was nice and well served by staff.
Re the other rooms the guests were in. One said the carpets were threadbare and another in the sigle room said it was very narrow. Beds were universally comfy.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the entrance door and ask if there are rooms not affected by clanging p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a nice 2 night stay at Glen Mhor. Our room was fantastic as it had just been renovated. Still lacking fittings, but clean and spacious. The views wonderful. We found the service a bit unprofessional. Noisy service and setting of tables, felt like we were in a cafeteria. Need some local Scottish charm with the service staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I was sorry to hear of your disappointment in regards to the service and would like to add that this in not representative of the Glen Mhor hotel.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, where we had paid just over £109 for a deluxe room on a B & B board basis.

First of all I would say that the location of this hotel was the main draw for us, and this did not disappoint. Walking into town only takes a couple of minutes, yet the street that the hotel is situated on is lovely and peaceful with beautiful views of the River Ness.

Our room was located in the main building and had splendid views of the River from the bay window. The room was a great size, but when I opened the bathroom door for a quick look I was extremely disappointed as it was old, tired and in dire need of updating. The bathroom is painted a horrible dark brown colour and the suite needs to be ripped out and replaced. There is no window in the bathroom (I know is not unusual) and no extractor fan, therefore ventilating the bathroom is impossible and the only solution for this is to leave the bathroom door open, with the bedroom resulting in becoming damp. The shower itself was pretty hopeless with next to no power, thereby not leaving us feeling very refreshed.

The bedroom appeared to have been recently 'decorated'. By this, it would appear to have had a quick lick of paint and new carpet. It is such a shame that the bed was not replaced at the same time. It was an old four poster bed that looked and felt like it was going to collapse the minute you touched it. Just breathing while in bed seem to cause noise which consequently meant that we had a very poor nights sleep.

The main bedroom is in dire need of a good clean. The first thing we noticed was the significant amount of cobwebs on the window frame, which looked like they had been there for some considerable time. There were stains on the chairs which is rather off-putting and the amount of dust on what appeared to be a new mirror was just inexcusable to note a few points.

The breakfast we experienced at the hotel was adequate. I had the kippers and my husband pipped for the Highlander breakfast. We were both happy with what we received and the service was both friendly and efficient.

All things considered we probably won't be returning to the Glen Mhor as we feel that we did not get value for money, and there is plenty other choice in this area of town which seem to fair better in the ratings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of The Glen Mhor Hotel.

The room you were allocated in is due for complete refurbishment in the autumn.... and this is the last one! Please bear in mind that we are market competitive and most part of the time cheaper than our competitor.

We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The buildings were very tired and dated. We understand why the majority of photographs on the web site were taken in the evening. The room was small and cramped, decorated in various shades of brown (which was not inviting) and there was only one small mirror hidden behind the kettle. The riverside view was extremely disappointing and the fact we had to move furniture to look out the window in the first place should have told us to go to the nearest travel lodge. The list of hidden costs is amazing but the fact that they charge £3.85 for a bottle of water that you would have thought was complimentary definitely shocked us. After a night of sleepless discomfort, we headed to the restaurant for breakfast. After being seated at a particularly small table for 2, we both ordered the Highlander and were surprised to discover we had to make our own toast and fetch our orange juice from the buffet. Our breakfasts arrived and the 1 rasher of bacon that was overcooked on one side, 1 pork sausage, half a tomato, 1 mushroom, quartered and poached egg arrived swimming in a puddle of tepid water. I cannot find anything positive to say about our stay in the hotel and we will never be going there again. We intend to visit Inverness again but nothing could entice me to stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel again. NOT recommended

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but at the Glen Mhor Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment on your last stay with us.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing