We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute excellence”

River House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: For an authentic taste of Scotland���s islands and Highlands look no further than River House, a beautiful restaurant on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Grieg Street bridge to the Free North Church. The restaurant���s spectacular view���s are complemented by the casual sophistication of the dining room, a comfortable and unpretentious space with timeless design and a warm, cosy atmosphere which invites you to relax and really enjoy your dinner. Dedicated to sourcing the best possible ingredients from the surrounding areas, the River House kitchen cooks each dish to order in the open plan kitchen, using fresh, seasonal produce prepared in such a way that individual flavours shine through. Though mainly Scottish in heritage the River House���s recipes also take inspiration from international cuisine with, in particular, a nod to French cookery woven in to many of the creative, modern dishes. Wines are carefully selected to complement the River House menu, providing a good, but not overwhelming, choice of labels.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolute excellence”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a fabulous meal there. I had the crab followed by halibut, with a duck egg and hollandaise sauce, and my wife had a steak. We shared a bottle of wine and were then persuaded to have puddings. Fran had sticky toffee and I went for the pavlova. Watching the chef working away from our table nearby was amazing in itself but the flavour of the food and the presentation was the winner here. Well done and thank you. When we are next in Inverness we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    111
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A very small place with atmosphere and great food. On the way the taxi driver told me the owner cooks all the food?? Highly recommended. Men's loo seat wouldn't stay up but every other attention to detail in both toilets made up for this minor irritation :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived at the River House by chance and were luck to get a table for two on a Saturday night.

Excellent food - scallops and shrimp starter for me, and mussels in a cider sauce for hubby. Then I had seafood linguine and he had a steak - one of the best steaks he's had a in a long time. My seafood was lovely, but the chilli oil was a bit overpowering for my taste.

Great selection of reasonably priced wine, friendly staff, intimate setting overlooking the river.

Definitely worth a visit, and we will most certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seek this one out.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A First date lunch mid week. Only diners. Intimate cosy small tables (of four max) Next to the river Ample parking or walk across the footbridge.Very attentive service but not pushy. Husband & wife team who each know their stuff. Each item cooked to order but straters arrived before we'd finished our first drink. It's everthing the other reviewers have said.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IainwiththeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston_traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So glad we booked !”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were traveling the west coast last week and a friend from inverness recomended this place. I looked at the website and book.

We were certainly not disappointed, it was the best meal of the trip (we ate out every night of the week) service was great, Its a small place but very well run, I'd advise booking as it was full nearly the while time we were there.
My seafood was superb, My fiance had steak and said it was perfect. Wine, desert, irish coffee's all good. very pleased couldnt fault it. !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River House Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing