We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable suites in great location but high street noise, lack of a lift and unusual parking arrangements really do detra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inverness City Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment on the third floor. As a family of 4, we had a reasonable amount of luggage, so schlepping it up 3 flights of steep stairs was pretty awful. This was compounded by the fact that parking is around the corner so we had to unload on the kerb, park the car and then return. Fortunately, there were 2 adults and the receptionist also helped but it was a cumbersome process.

The suites themselves are comfortably appointed, clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable however the duvets were very warm (presumably for the Scottish winter). Staying in the suites in summer with no AC/other internal ventilation and limited ability to open windows (because of the very loud street noise) meant we were rather hot sleeping.

The location is very good close to the river and the main areas. The street noise was very bad though, and continued into the wee hours of the morning. We were torn between opening the windows to cool things down and hearing the noise or over-hearing but with less noise.

There were plenty of brochures in the foyer for tours etc but not really anyone from whom we could seek advice. We only had contact with one staff member during our stay who was friendly but because of the configuration of the suites you didn't feel very connected to anyone. There was no real hub so it felt a bit isolated. Despite the good aspects of the suites, we'd probably look for something that ticked a couple more boxes if we returned to Inverness.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights in June and couldn't have been happier with our experience. We arrived late, but were personally greeted anyway and were helped with our suite and parking. The hotel is a block away from the river and next to lots of good shops and restaurants. Parking was very secure in a gated lot across the street. The suite was very large and well appointed -- perfect for families. Overall a great experience and definitely a great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I along with our 16 year old grand-daughter stayed here for four nights. We had originally booked a 1-bedroomed apartment that slept 3 persons but were upgraded to a 2-bedroomed suite on the third floor. This suite could sleep 6 persons comfortably. It was clean, extremely comfortable and in good order throughout. Everything was of good or very good quality, including the towels and bedding (the beds were really comfortable). The showers were excellent. TV's were in the lounge and bedrooms, there was an oven/hob, washing machine, dishwasher, tumble-dryer and microwave oven as well as pots, pans, cutlery and crockery. Included was free wifi access.
The apartment was serviced daily if you required it to be. The staff were excellent, very helpful and informative - always available but never under your feet so to speak.
There were no real downsides for us but it should be noted that there is no elevator and there are 63 steps up to the third floor. The location is City centre, it was a little noisy during the daytime and early evening which was to be expected, however, we were never kept awake or disturbed during late evening or night. A big plus was the proximity of restaurants, shops, buses, train station and lovely riverside walks!
We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

we stayed here for two nights two adults and one child.we had a two bedroom apartment.it was very luxurious 6 people could sleep in easily here it was that big.and has a fantastic location.we walked easily from railway station with loads of luggage....3 min walk.surrounded by eateries by shops,marks spencer,debhenams...very close to the river too.there were two bathrooms,lovely kitchen...i can go on and on.
now the negatives...no lift.gary helped with the luggage when we checked in.but when during checkout nobody was around...early morning flight it was ,painful to carry all the luggage.
there was no drinking water in the apt...there was milk. though.but providing water shouldn't be so difficult....after climbing all those stairs u need water not milk!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank alok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My family and I spent the last few days of our UK trip in Inverness City in Scotland. Which would be our base to explore the Scottish Highlands. We very lucky to have chosen Inverness City Suites. We stayed in a beautiful, tastefully decorated and very spacious 2-bedroom executive apartment (#3) on the first floor. We felt so comfortable. Gary, the manager, welcomed us warmly and helped us with our bags (no lift). The apartment had a large living room with huge flat screen TV and ipod dock, pretty dining room, completely furnished kitchen with oven, microwave oven, washer/dryer, plates, glasses and cuttlery, 2 big bedrooms with a double bed for me and my husband and 3 singles or our 3 kids, their own bathrooms, TVs and lots of closet space. We had free safe, exclusive parking space across the suite. We had large windows that open to the city street below and the Inverness castle across. The River Ness, the nice local Scottish, Chinese, Indian restaurants, bakeshops , East Gate mall and interesting shops are all within a few minutes of walk. There's a McDonald's, a Pound Stretcher store and Grocery right in the corner. We enjoyed our dinners in Cafe 1, Mustard Seed and Riverside Restaurant as well as Chinese takeout. Wifi access was easy during the entire stay. This felt like HOME away from HOME. Our only suggestion is to provide more counter top space for toiletries in the bathroom. And a retractable clothesline will be nifty.

Room Tip: The apartment in the first floor worked for us, given there was no lift, and we had big suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had a lovely stay at Inverness City Suites. Stayed for two night as part of the girls pamper weekend package deal and it was fabulous. We stayed in the two bed apartment and it was huge! Kept so clean with well-stocked large kitchen - more than ideal for our needs. We arrived to chilled champagne and a yummy M&S hamper filled with lots of snacks.

The pamper part was also really lovely - certainly not one of the deals where you are treated second-rate! There was time to relax and chill out with a glass of wine and some nibbles before going for your treatment - the spa itself was really nice too - the staff were friendly and it was modernly fitted out.

Location of the apartment was perfect - everything you could need was in walking distance - train station, restaurants, bars, the Castle, ATMs, walks, tourist information. Although located right in the centre and in an old building, the double windows in the bedroom meant it was really quiet inside. Fantastic stay and would 110% recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed at the Inverness City Suites for 2 nights, fantastic location right next to the river. Room was huge and had everything you could need. Very clean, neat and modern, kitchen dining and lounge large enough for a medium to large family. Also found Garry and staff extremely helpful and always at your call if required, overall a pleasure !

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom units are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness City Suites

Address: 2-7 High Street, Inverness IV1 1HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Price Range: £101 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverness City Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverness City Suites provide six luxury serviced apartments, perfectly positioned within the heart of the Highland capital Inverness. Our 1 and 2 bedroom Inverness apartments are all fully equipped with everything from Egyptian cotton bed linen and fluffy towels to fully equipped kitchens, ipod docking stations and flat screen TVs, with daily housekeeping all part of the service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inverness City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness City Suites Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing