We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average to poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Joy of Taste - CLOSED

The Joy of Taste
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average to poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The premises appeared clean, food was delicious. Unfortunately, our server did not smile once during our entire visit and left us sitting with our bill for 10 minutes before taking payment. Surely getting the money is the most important part for a business!
We may have been unlucky and service is usually much better. Even so, wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    108
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Light at the end of a tunnel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

After a long walk on a dreary night which included many unsuccessful attempts at trying quite a few other recommended restaurants, we stumbled upon The Joy of Taste by pure chance! What a little gem. We were greeted by a friendly chap who sat us down straight away and made us feel very welcome. We ordered the venison and the steak which did not disappoint! The venison was beautifully cooked and the sirloin was a lovely cut of meat. If you're in the area go on and treat yourself!!!

Helpful?
Thank Fi Fi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A light at the end if a dark tunnel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited The Joy of Taste in Inverness and our first thoughts were that it's was, friendly, relaxing and inviting. We were shown a table almost immediately by a very friendly gentleman. After being told by 5 or 6 other restaurants along the main strip they has no tables available we were just glad to be seated. After our meal we were also glad to have been turned down at the other restaurants as this place is a wee gem! Try it out, go for it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Anndra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The decor of the room is not my preferred one, but the meal was excellent, the service very friendly and the advice received very appropriate. You should consider the visit....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

this is a lovely place to eat and is always busy. the food is delicious but not much choice so i only go when no kids in tow.....usually a lunch out with the ladies!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank teenieHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Joy of Taste also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing