We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bright and spacious TRIPLE ROOM, close to the city of Inverness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #33 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bright and spacious TRIPLE ROOM, close to the city of Inverness”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I travelled around Scotland in July, with our adult daughter, and stayed at Atherstone Guest House twice - once en route to Skye, and once again on our way back to Aberdeen. The triple room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with tea-making facilities and Ruth's lovely home baking to welcome us. There was a double bed and a single bed (and, if I remember rightly, an extra camp bed folded up in the wardrobe?). This B&B is located close to the city, on the opposite side of the river, straight up from the bridge. Ally and Ruth made us feel at home, and we had lovely breakfasts cooked by Ruth both mornings.
Ally was very generous with his time - helping us plan our evenings in Inverness - the walk along the river to "the isles" is so nice, and and we had lovely evening meals at The Castle Tavern and at The Waterfront, both places very close by, and we really enjoyed the traditional Scottish music played at The Waterfront. Ally also helped us to map our route to and from Skye, recommending places to visit and how to get the best from our visits (e.g. exactly where to see basking sharks or Highland cows, exactly where to take photos of Urquart Castle and exactly when to be at Glenfinnan - at the viewing point above and behind the visitor centre - to see the train go over the "Harry Potter viaduct"). Thank you, Ally and Ruth, for your hospitality and a really enjoyable stay in beautiful Inverness.

Room Tip: Triple room / Family room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hiya!

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review! It was lovely having you stay and a pleasure to help you make the most of your stay in the Highlands - especially when the plans and timings all work out - which I hope they did - and it sounds like they did.
Its great you enjoyed the Waterfront and the Tavern as well - we are luck to have such good places nearby that we can recommend to our guests.
The main thing is you had a good trip, and if we helped contribute to that, then it is our privilege!
Thanks again,
Ruth & Ally :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
70
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There is good reason for the many impeccable reviews.

Ruth and Ally were warm and friendly people, and the accommodation itself was faultless. Clean, comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast. The location is great; it is not far from the centre of town.

Ruth and Ally were so kind as to even give my dad a leaving present, a favourite old Scottish comic of his, and we only stayed for one night! It is this level of hospitality that clearly gives this B&B such high ratings, and I am happy to join in and add yet another rave review.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Lachlan!

Thank you for such a lovely review!
The main thing is we are glad you and your Dad were able to enjoy your one night in Inverness when you stayed with us. It was lovely to meet you both and have you to stay at Atherstone, and we were so glad to have a copy of 'The Broons' for your Dad!
Many thanks again for taking the time to leave us a wee mention.

Best wishes,

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Atherstone Guest House for one night on a bus tour through the Scottish Highlands in July 2013. Our only complaint? That we weren't able to stay for more than the one night! Ali & Ruth were wonderful hosts, the rooms were comfy and clean, breakfast was fresh and delicious, and it's only 4 blocks or so from town! We absolutely would highly recommend Atherstone for traveling couples or small families. What a treat, thank you Ali & Ruth!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyann002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi There,

That's a lovely compliment that you would liked to have stayed longer with us - we would have had you stay longer too!
However, when your time in one place is limited, you just have to make the most of each place in the time you have, so I hope we could help you do that in Inverness.
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us and leave such a nice review.

Many thanks,

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Nothing more to add really: the house itself is awesome, Ally makes you feel at home, gives you great tips and makes you feel very comfortable.
Ruth's cooking is great, especially the mini muffins!
Thanx again!
I'm happy to have met you.

Othman from Morocco

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boubouizdacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Othman!

Thank you so much for the kind words - we are glad you enjoyed staying with us and felt at home.
It was lovely to meet you too and we enjoyed having you to stay with us.
We certainly hope to see you again if you are back in Inverness.

Thanks again, and best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Atherstone in July this year during our whistle-stop tour of Scotland. I would thoroughly recommend Atherstone to anyone looking for accommodation in Inverness if only because of its hosts Ally and Ruth. Atherstone's location is fantastic (in a quiet neighborhood five minutes across the river from the city centre and the train station) and our room lovely and spotless, but by far the best thing about Atherstone was Ally and Ruth's hospitality and warmth. They made us feel really welcomed and were a great help in suggesting places to visit in Inverness as well as Edinburgh (our next stop). Thank you Ally and Ruth for making our holiday that much more special :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theletterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hiya!

Thank you for the lovely review- we really appreciate you taking the time to leave that.
We are very fortunate with our location being so close to the centre of Inverness, but also in a nice quiet area.
One of the best parts of doing this job is when we can make someones trip to the Highlands a bit more special, so we are glad we could do that for you!

We hope to see you again if you return to Inverness,

Best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed here mid March when working at Raigmore Hospital. It is a short walk to the bus stop, with a stop within the hospital grounds at the other end. Buses run regularly and the journey is quick. It was lovely returning to the b and b after a day at the hospital and a very relaxing place to stay. Great location for walking about Inverness and Ally and Ruth were very welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinMatUK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review - we really appreciate it.
We were glad you felt it was a relaxing place to come back to after a busy days working!
I agree, it is quite a nice wee journey to and from the hospital - a short bus ride and a pleasant walk as well.

If you are ever north for work again, or even better for a break, it would be great to see you.

Best wishes, and thanks again,

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This is a really homely b&b. Our room was spotlessly clean with a powerful shower and hair dryer. The homemade caraway seed cake was most welcome. There was plenty of choice at breakfast - all freshly cooked and locally sourced. Ally and Ruth's home is very close to town and if we were to be in Inverness again we would most certainly book with them again.
Hope your sweet peas flower Ruth!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjmccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for the positive sweatpea vibes, but they really haven't come to much! How about yours?!
Anyway, thank you for the very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave it, but mostly, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be lovely to see you here again sometime.

Best wishes, and thank you again,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 231 in Inverness
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#28 of 231 in Inverness
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#21 of 231 in Inverness
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Torridon Guest House
Torridon Guest House
#24 of 231 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#30 of 231 in Inverness
165 reviews
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Property: Atherstone Guest House
Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing