We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$426
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$183
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
178
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheart of scotland tourswarm hospitalityquiet residential streetan easy minute walkthe riveroff street parkinga great staycity centreroom was spaciousplenty of hot watertwo nightsnight's sleepstay there againthoroughly enjoyed our staycontinental breakfaststayed here for one nightfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Athertone for 3 nights from the 15th to 18th September while on a 7 week UK/Ireland/France holiday.
This is a quality B&B in a great location with easy walking access to the centre of Inverness and with very friendly hosts Ally and Ruth.
Ally was full of very useful information about local attractions and the best way to get to them.
We tried there recommendations for dinner and was not disappointed.
The rooms are a good size and nice and comfortable. The breakfast are very good and cooked fresh for you.
The off street parking is good with reasonable space available.
We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Inverness.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall and had a large bathroom, the biggest of any B&B we stayed at.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi Rod,

Sorry for the late reply,

We are delighted that you took the time to review our home, It was very kind of you. we hope that the rest of your trip to Ireland and France was just as memorable.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I, while on a tour of the Scottish Highlands, stayed at Atherstone Guest House for one night in August. By far, the best B&B that we've ever stayed in. The house was spotlessly clean, well maintained and well equipped. The hosts, Ruth and Ally, might well be the most charming people in all of Scotland. The kind of people that instantly make you feel welcome. We were pleasantly surprised with the city of Inverness. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi Joey,

So sorry for the very late response.

Thank you for you review of our B&B. It was our pleasure having you both stay with ourselves.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This guest house was the best! Ruth and Ally were fabulous hosts and we felt very welcome the entire stay. They offered great tips of places to travel around Inverness and were very dedicated to making our time the best possible. Beautiful rooms and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

So sorry for the late response to your review - I don't know where the time has gone.

It is such a compliment when someone says they felt at home when they stay at Atherstone - it is really what we aim for. And as for being helpful, it is easy to be helpful with such lovely guests!

Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you in Inverness again

Ally and Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent just one night at the Atherstone Guest House, but wished we had time to stay longer. The hosts Ruth and Ally were tremendously welcoming and the rooms offered everything a traveler might need. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and well maintained. Ruth's homemade baked goods in each room were a delightful touch! And breakfast was ample and delicious.

The guest house is in a quiet residential neighborhood within an easy walk of the main attractions in Inverness. Ally suggested a lovely pub for dinner. We were on private tour of Scotland with our own tour guide, but had we been making plans on our own, Ally would have been a fabulous resource for travel ideas.

If you're looking for a B&B where you'll feel like you've "come home", this is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Manager at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure having the two of you to stay and it will be lovely to see you again, the next time you need to stay in Inverness.
We know its not always easy to be away from your home comforts, but if we made you feel at home, and as comfortable as you could then I am delighted!

Till, the next time...

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

So glad we booked this B&B a couple months in advance, as we saw many No Vacancies signs when we arrived in town.
Atherstone is a wonderful place, and Ruth and Ally make it that way. So welcoming, friendly, offering us two immaculate rooms with en suite, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The guest house is within walking distance to the town and to a wonderful restaurant recommended by them (The Waterfront).
A delicious breakfast was served in the morning (loved Ally's apron!), along with tips on getting to Ullapool and the ferry.
All in all, it was a great place to stay in Inverness....we recommend it very highly!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi to you all,

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you all enjoyed your all to brief stay with ourselves.

We both hope to see you all in the future,

take care,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews