We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top B & B with lovely hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #25 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top B & B with lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after walking the Great Glen Way, and were given a really warm welcome by Ruth and later by her husband Ali. Our twin room was spacious with all amenities needed, including home made cookies. The bathroom was like new, with a great shower. Everything was spotless and immaculate. There was a guest lounge with a laptop available to use, which was a nice touch. Ruth was very helpful in advising us where to eat close by, and even made the reservation for us. There was lots of choice at breakfast, including fresh berries and fruit as well as a choice of cooked meals. Ali was very attentive and kept the coffee and toast coming! A really great place to stay - thank a lot guys and good luck with the new parenting!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eflteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hiya to you both,

We are so sorry that this response has taken so long.

Thank you to you both for such a wonderful review, we are just delighted that you both enjoyed your stay so much. It really gives us both a buzz to know that what we're doing is really appreciated.
As for the parenting, it is an amazing, outstanding experiance and total sleep deprivation all at the same time!

Many Thanks

All & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
70
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Athertone for 3 nights from the 15th to 18th September while on a 7 week UK/Ireland/France holiday.
This is a quality B&B in a great location with easy walking access to the centre of Inverness and with very friendly hosts Ally and Ruth.
Ally was full of very useful information about local attractions and the best way to get to them.
We tried there recommendations for dinner and was not disappointed.
The rooms are a good size and nice and comfortable. The breakfast are very good and cooked fresh for you.
The off street parking is good with reasonable space available.
We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Inverness.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall and had a large bathroom, the biggest of any B&B we stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Rod,

Sorry for the late reply,

We are delighted that you took the time to review our home, It was very kind of you. we hope that the rest of your trip to Ireland and France was just as memorable.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I, while on a tour of the Scottish Highlands, stayed at Atherstone Guest House for one night in August. By far, the best B&B that we've ever stayed in. The house was spotlessly clean, well maintained and well equipped. The hosts, Ruth and Ally, might well be the most charming people in all of Scotland. The kind of people that instantly make you feel welcome. We were pleasantly surprised with the city of Inverness. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Joey,

So sorry for the very late response.

Thank you for you review of our B&B. It was our pleasure having you both stay with ourselves.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This guest house was the best! Ruth and Ally were fabulous hosts and we felt very welcome the entire stay. They offered great tips of places to travel around Inverness and were very dedicated to making our time the best possible. Beautiful rooms and great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
So sorry for the late response to your review - I don't know where the time has gone.

It is such a compliment when someone says they felt at home when they stay at Atherstone - it is really what we aim for. And as for being helpful, it is easy to be helpful with such lovely guests!

Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you in Inverness again

Ally and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent just one night at the Atherstone Guest House, but wished we had time to stay longer. The hosts Ruth and Ally were tremendously welcoming and the rooms offered everything a traveler might need. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and well maintained. Ruth's homemade baked goods in each room were a delightful touch! And breakfast was ample and delicious.

The guest house is in a quiet residential neighborhood within an easy walk of the main attractions in Inverness. Ally suggested a lovely pub for dinner. We were on private tour of Scotland with our own tour guide, but had we been making plans on our own, Ally would have been a fabulous resource for travel ideas.

If you're looking for a B&B where you'll feel like you've "come home", this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Manager at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure having the two of you to stay and it will be lovely to see you again, the next time you need to stay in Inverness.
We know its not always easy to be away from your home comforts, but if we made you feel at home, and as comfortable as you could then I am delighted!

Till, the next time...

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

So glad we booked this B&B a couple months in advance, as we saw many No Vacancies signs when we arrived in town.
Atherstone is a wonderful place, and Ruth and Ally make it that way. So welcoming, friendly, offering us two immaculate rooms with en suite, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The guest house is within walking distance to the town and to a wonderful restaurant recommended by them (The Waterfront).
A delicious breakfast was served in the morning (loved Ally's apron!), along with tips on getting to Ullapool and the ferry.
All in all, it was a great place to stay in Inverness....we recommend it very highly!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi to you all,

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you all enjoyed your all to brief stay with ourselves.

We both hope to see you all in the future,

take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We felt most welcome at Atherstone Guest House. It is conveniently located (walking distance from the heart of Inverness. A spotless guest house, good breakfast and more importantly hosts that make you feel welcome, are knowledgeable about the area and willing to share tips and ideas of what to do. The bedroom was comfortable, slept three. The bathroom is small but well appointed. I would definitely recommend Atherstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi There,

First of all, thank you for staying with us when you came to Inverness, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to recommend us in your review.
We are glad that you felt welcome and comfortable - that is the main thing - and if the tips and ideas helped too, then we are delighted!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review, and we hope to see you again if you are ever in the Highlands.

Best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#40 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#36 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#20 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Property: Atherstone Guest House
Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing