We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.”
Review of Daviot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daviot Lodge
Ranked #21 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A lot of attention went into this place. In the decoration of the rooms, in the amenities. No doubt that the owners really put their harts in it. Location on the countryside outside Inverness is good and quiet. The only negative remark could be that some noise (doors, etc.) from other rooms can be heard.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    22
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
121
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying in Margaret and Alex's wonderful Bed and Breakfast for three nights at the beginning of August. This was the best bed and breakfast experience I have had. The hosts are warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the area, the room was beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were delicious - the porridge can't be beat! The breakfast room has a wall of windows that look out over the countryside and you can watch the birds at the feeders just outside the doors on the lawn. After each busy day, we enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful guest sitting room, enjoying the sherry and chocolates Margaret left for us each evening in our room or just having a cup of tea . It is a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere where you feel welcomed. I highly recommend this b and b to anyone wanting to visit the many historical sites in the highlands that surround Inverness. Margaret told us they have had many Diana Gabaldon fans visit over the years! All sites are close at hand and an easy drive from the Daviot. An exceptional bed and breakfast - not to be missed if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel0848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Room was terrific, lounge for guests was very comfortable and the breakfasts very good. The little touches were so nice and Margaret, just a great hostess.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights as a base for other explorations in the area. Very convenient to Cawdor Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, the Black Isle, etc. I liked staying a bit out of Inverness; it was very quiet and peaceful. As for the actual home: after having a little bit of trouble finding the place (hint: make sure you have good directions!) everything else was wonderful. The rooms were cosy, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Great bed and lovely little details in the room (nice soap, shampoo, chocolate, shortbread, etc.) The breakfasts are truly phenomenal--they will definitely keep you going for most of the day. Lovely fresh berries and wonderful cooked breakfast with local ingredients. One of my favorite parts of our trip was driving aimlessly through the little tiny roads surrounding the lodge--lovely views! Great stay, great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

more like a fabulous boutique hotel than a B&B. tastefully decorated, really big comfy bed. fridge on landing with fresh milk. sherry and chocs in room. best breakfast ever with fresh berries galore, cereals, and a tick what you want full scottish freshly cooked - i even loved the black pudding which i usually hate. served by owners delightful daughter. bird feeder outside dining room window full of siskins and other lovely birds. even had binocs on window sill. at night lounge has big bowl of choccies - great place to read a book from their library. easy drive to inverness but in wonderful tranquil location on B road that is more like a tiny lane. my window overlooked the garden with resident border collie then gorse, field with cattle and on to the hills. magnificent. owner is slightly reserved in a countryside way (but underneath is a big softie!) but nothing is too much trouble. she even chased after me when i left to ask if i had slept well - i had told her in advance i was a terrible sleeper and so she put me in the quietest room - next to the linen cupboard (but any room would have been tranquil). i wished i was staying longer - it was the highlight of my stay in scotland and i shall return to the area a) because its nice but b) so i can stay at the daviot! do not stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were welcomed with a bottle of Scottish whisky in the room, clean and fresh sheets. The evening we returned we found candles lighted everywhere.
This is Daviot Lodge: something plus than a B&B. Rooms were huge, bathroom better than my home: big, clean, colorful. Everything you need is there and owner is lovable. There is a big park in the court. Breakfast is celestial, everything you could desire (fresh wild berries included).
The only problem is that it is VERY far from city centre (where park is on pay) and there's nothing nearby. You have to take the car for everything. It is not so convenient in this sense.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lead_expression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2011. Daviot Lodge looks brand new on the inside. Our room was on the second floor and was very large(canopy bed) with a nice bathroom--all very clean. Location of this B&B is about a 10 minute drive south of downtown Inverness, in a very quiet rural area. The lodge is surrounded by open fields and abundant wildlife. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety, from the full Scottish breakfast to cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt. There are a couple of restaurants in the immediate area, and then plenty of lunch/dinner choices in downtown Inverness. Daviot Lodge is located very close to Culloden Battlefield and Clava Cairns. (Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle are on the other side of Inverness, so if you are coming in from the west/south, it is best to stop there on your way in to Inverness.) We highly recommend Daviot Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
565 reviews
4.4 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 231 in Inverness
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#26 of 231 in Inverness
264 reviews
4.1 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#4 of 231 in Inverness
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daviot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daviot Lodge

Property: Daviot Lodge
Address: Daviot, Inverness IV2 5ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Daviot Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Daviot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daviot Lodge Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing