We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Warm Highland Hospitality near Inverness”
Review of Daviot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daviot Lodge
Ranked #16 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was as far north that we managed to get on our month long tour of the UK. My only regret was that we didn't have enough time..
Margaret met us with warmth and practical information.so many little specials. Not just your coffee, tea and biscuits. Hot chocolate, sherry, chocolate biscuits and fresh milk if long life milk is not to your liking. On returning from our dinner, the bed cushions had been placed on the chairs, the very pretty bedside light were on and the candles lit. Our room was a picture. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was definitely luxurious . The whole house spoke luxury and made our stay really memorable. This is not budget but it is more affordable luxury for that special birthday or anniversary.
Breakfast was of a very high standard. Everything available was very fresh and cooked to perfection.
For entertainment the bird feeders outside the breakfast room were full of local birds I had never seen before. Looking further was the beautiful garden and rural setting.
You would definitely need your own car to get there it is about 20 minutes drive from Inverness. We had trouble finding it with our GPS but by driving on from the nominated spot on the GPS we found it.
There is a set of steps upstairs which is a challenge for a rolling bag as is the chunky gravel driveway.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and offer beautiful views over the countryside. It's away from closing pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertailvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my lovely wife in June 2014. Beautiful place. Nice decorations, owners are very friendly. Roms are extremely spacious, bed is very comfortable. Only down side - lack of rubber backing curtains. The sun rose on our bedroom side and since it is summer woke us up around 430am. They have books, dvds and table games to be borrowed. Two lovely sitting rooms. It seems there are yummy lollies in each room. Great bathroom with good water pressure. Wonderful home cooked breakfast. Only wish for some more fresh fruit. It is more than reasonably priced to our pleasure and surprise. There is also a nice cafe 5 min walk away where you could grab lunch and Inverness is only a short drive away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to and then again on our return from visiting Orkney
The rural location is very good with access to Inverness being only about ten minutes car drive away
Our room ( the large room with the Canopy bed) and the room my Father-in-Law had ( next door) were spacious, comfortable and very clean and added to with the complimentary decanter of Sherry - a very pleasant way to unwind after a long days travel.
We found Margaret and her husband to be very helpful and pleasant hosts
Breakfast selection was very generous and the view from the dinning room window of the Birds around the Bird feeders outside made for a very relaxing breakfast - a great start to the day
We would definitely stay again should we return to the Inverness region in the future and will recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay In the area.
Thanks Margaret for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A quiet peaceful location in the country not far from Inverness.
The rooms are of a high standard with chocolates, and Croft sherry in the room if you wanted it.
Very friendly owner and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An excellent, 5 star accommodation, we were warmly welcomed by the owners and shown around, beautiful rooms with all you require for a comfortable stay. Excellent breakfast with lovely view. They recommended a couple of excellent restaurants which were every bit as good as they said. We traveled with my 93 year old mother, and nothing was too much trouble, also a fantastic room with wheelchair access.
My Thai wife was amazed at just how beautiful the whole building was decorated.
Highly recommend staying here.
Thank you Alex & Margaret for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangkokscubadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Simple to find, good location, easy parking, welcoming host and that was all in the first five minutes!

Margaret welcomed us in, showed us to our room, which was great. She had thought of everything we could need. Fresh milk in the fridge, chocolate buscuits if we wanted them and even sherry in our room. An ironing board and iron, lovely toiletries and a bathroom so spotless I was afraid to take a shower!

We went out into Inverness for dinner, but Margaret had even left directions for us in case we chose to eat at the local pub. We didn't stay out long as had a busy day and came back to relax in their lovely lounge, with free wifi. Very comfortable, and I could even have a glass of wine!

Breakfast was lovely, with amazing views over surrounding countryside and wildlife. Alex kept us right on what birds we were seeing! A great relaxed atmosphere! A lovely couple whose attention to detail really shows through in the quality of this accommodation.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the Nairn room for three nights and loved our time at Daviot, even though the weather wasn't too kind. There are some really great touches that make all the difference; sherry and chocolates in the room, binoculars to watch the varied bird life. The breakfast was brilliantly cooked with great choice. This is without doubt one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in and is close to Colluden, Cawdor Castle and an easy 10 min drive into Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
4.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
#13 of 36 in Inverness
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,781 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daviot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daviot Lodge

Address: Daviot, Inverness IV2 5ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £96 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Daviot Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Daviot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daviot Lodge Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing