We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location with excellent hosts”
Review of Atholdene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atholdene House
Ranked #58 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed her for 9 days over a 3 week period while attending company training. Fred & Penelope are great hosts and I was made welcome from day one, room was comfortable and clean. Special
mention must be given to the breakfast served each morning which was delicious....especially the sausages. Would not hesitate to stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was our first time to Inverness. Freddy and Penelope made us feel very welcome at their guest house. The rooms were nice and comfortable, the breakfast was great every morning (great choice).

They were extremely helpful, giving us information of good restaurants and sights to see.They are a lovely family with good a sense of what their guests need.

The guest house is very close to the centre of the town, we walked most of the times to restaurants and around town. We would definitely go to Atholdene House the next time we are in Inverness again.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and very affordable, we had one single room for our father and a double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Found Atholdene house on late rooms very good choice .Lovely place very friendly and clean.We will stay again when we are inverness.the breakfasts were really good very handy for the town centre the room was lovely clean

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We arrived a day early by error but Fred offered us a place to stay immediately. A pot of tea was next while he made preparations for our room. We received some great history of Inverness and detailed directions to some great restaurants near by. The breakfast was always first class and we had quite a selection to make. Their breakfast system was unique, you preselected the evening before and when you went down to eat they knew what you wanted. Also this B&B was en suite which the website did not point out. Fantastic bathrooms too and Wi-fi. I can't say enough about Atholdene House.

Room Tip: En suite was a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Here on a business trip, the room was quiet and comfortable and, luckily, I was able to connect to wifi in my room (on a trip when most of the hotels had wifi only in the lobbies). The inn is in a grand old house in a largely residential neighborhood. Breakfast was fine, the host accommodating. Oddly, the restaurants nearby stopped serving at 9:00 on the Saturday night we stayed, having arrived late from a day of travel. Thankfully, the central business district is only about a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

So glad that we found this great place in Inverness!
A very lovely guesthouse runed by a nice family. With there hospitality and little details (choclate on the pillows, soft towels on the bed and the tv on just when you enter your room) the owners make you feel at home in their guesthouse. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is clean and the breakfast in the diningroom was good. Parking is free and it is just a short walk to the centre with a lot of nice restaurants, bars and shops. The owner advised us a few good restaurants and is very helpfull. Even when I told him via email that I forgot my jacket (it was very sunny weather in Inverness!), they suggest to send it to my home adres! A very good place to stay in Inverness!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent overnight accommodation in easy walking distance of the town centre. Welcoming hosts despite the fact I arrived after 9pm. The breakfast in the morning was great - possibly the best black pudding I've ever tasted! Just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegalExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Moray Park Guest House
Moray Park Guest House
#100 of 232 in Inverness
78 reviews
0 mi away
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
#105 of 232 in Inverness
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
296 reviews
10 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholdene House

Address: 20 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £22 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, 3-star Scottish Tourist Board bed and breakfast. Families welcome. All rooms en-suite. Free Wi-Fi throughout Guest House. Large private car park. 5 minutes walk to Town centre. Residential Crown district with similar period houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atholdene House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing