We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hebrides Guest House

Hebrides Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hebrides Guest House
Ranked #66 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's hard to fault this great bed and breakfast. We were finding it hard to find somewhere where we could stay with a dog at a reasonable rate, but this place fitted the bill perfectly. Dogs are allowed in the room downstairs at no extra cost, but the rooms upstairs are kept dog free.

The owners are a lovely couple, we could have stayed chatting for hours if we didn't have a train to catch! The breakfast was great, full cooked breakfast was available and included in the price, and also a large continental selection was provided. The black pudding was especially good!

As we had the dog with us the location by the canal was ideal as it was a lovely spot for a walk. There is a Beefeater pub just over the canal that serves food and has an outdoor seating area, and the main centre of Inverness with bars and restaurants is a mile away (£5 in a taxi). A word of warning, Inverness gets busy at the weekend and you need to book in advance at the better restaurants.

All in all we were very satisfied with this B&B and plan to stay here again I'd we find ourselves in Inverness in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhQ4080FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for this review. We were delighted to receive your feedback, highlighting the positive aspects of our location which is ideal for dog owners and those who prefer not to be in the city centre. Thank you for complimenting the cooked breakfast. We are very happy that you all enjoyed you stay. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests and we hardly knew the dog was in the house. You are welcome anytime if you come back to Inverness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this charming bnb for 3 nights in June , and we loved it from the moment we arrived. We were staying in 2 bedrooms and they both had a great view. The bnb is also right opposite the Caledonian Canal which made for some great walks. It is also a 10 mt walk from the city centre which was very convenient.

Alisdair and Moira were very friendly and hospitable and gave us some good suggestions on places to visit and things to do. They manage the place extremely well, and the rooms were airy and comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was great!

We miss Inverness already, and will definitely be back to stay here again! Would highly recommend it to everyone .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhea0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for this review and for emailing us before to let us know you had reached home safely. We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased to know that you found our place welcoming and comfortable. As a family you were a delight to have as our guests and you are very welcome to come and stay again if you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights (after originally planning for 2) in the family room with our 6-yr old son. Couldn't have asked for more in the way of hospitality from the owners Moira and Alisdair, who went above and beyond finding toys and DVDs for our little boy. A lovely welcome, comfortable room and of course those fantastic breakfasts!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Our pleasure is in making sure our guests have the best possible experience possible during their stay with us and we are pleased to know that you felt at home and cared for here as a family. Thank you for coming and welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were given a really warm welcome by the Proprietors, Alasdair & Moira, who went out of their way to make our stay both warm and enjoyable. The rooms were large and very clean, warm and cozy. Nothing was too much trouble to the Owners. We thoroughly recommend the Hebrides Guest House as the place to stay in Inverness. The house is also well placed for eating the city towards the west. Johnny Bett

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us having you and your friends as our guests and we are very pleased to hear that you found our house warm and welcoming. We hope we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The proprietors are absolutely lovely and took really good care of us. I'm very happy that we found this little gem of a guest house on our road trip.

The room was very cozy, clean and warm, the bathroom was high standard and so big that I wish I could've taken it with us. And the breakfast was to die for.

When I come back to Inverness, I'll definitely stay at this guest house again. As I said, our hosts were absolutely amazing and very kind. The lady of the house even removed the morning dew from the car, wishing us a safe trip when we wanted to leave which was such a lovely gesture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiruke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest in our home and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived late in Inverness and got a room even though we did not book in advance.The owners were wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. They provided a map and gave suggestions what we could do or see during our stay there.The room was fanatsic. It was a family room, very spacious, very clean, very confortable. There was a separate private bathroom. The bathroom was again very clean. Breakfast was brilliant, so very good that we ate almost all of the offered food. I will definitly stay with them again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We enjoyed having you to stay in our home and will welcome you back anytime if you visit Inverness again. It is gratifying to know that your were more than happy with your accommodation and the hospitality you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for one night having just completed the Great Glen Way. Excellent location near to the canal if you don't want to walk any further! The owners Moira and Alasdair were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay, and were very helpful in providing advice on places to visit and have a meal in Inverness. Alasdair made the effort to remember our christian names which was nice. The breakfast was excellent, ample and well cooked. My room was a good size, very clean and tidy, a high quaity guest house

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair M, Owner at Hebrides Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were happy with all aspects of your stay here and that the accommodation and food was to your liking. For our part it was a pleasure to have you here as our guests and you are welcome back anytime if you visit this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#21 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bannerman Bed and Breakfast
Bannerman Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tay Villa
Tay Villa
#59 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Torvean Caravan Park
Torvean Caravan Park
#17 of 40 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#68 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corunna Bed & Breakfast
Corunna Bed & Breakfast
#90 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebrides Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebrides Guest House

Property: Hebrides Guest House
Address: 120A Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the western side of Inverness Hebrides Guesthouse is within easy reach of the city centre and all the best amenities the capital of the Highlands has to offer. Offering cosy, comfortable rooms, hearty, healthy breakfasts and the best in Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebrides Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing