We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights and managed to get a fantastic rate; £60 per night B&B in a deluxe room overlooking the river with a free bottle of wine on arrival, it WAS January though which is a quiet month.
Spa facilities and pool were nice, if a little busy with families.
Found the room spacious, clean and well equipped, with a king size bed and a small and basic, yet spotlessly clean bathroom. I work in hotels so know exactly where to look for build up of dirt & dust & I couldnt find anything. Gorgeous view.
Valet parking was handy as the car park is TINY and the overflow car park is a short drive away.
Breakfast had everything you'd expect, I'm a veggie and there was plenty of choice, both cooked and continental. Only slight complaint is that we went down at midday to the Starbucks they have in the lobby for a coffee and were told they'd run out! However there was a million other places in Inverness to go for one.
Would definitely stay again, if we could get a similar rate!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonface88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We selected this hotel due to the good price and the location. You are very close to the "downtown" area of Inverness and directly across the river from the castle, which looks very cool at night.
Inverness is very walk-able and there are a few excellent hotels nearby the hotel. The bar in the hotel is good for a beer or cocktail.
The rooms are a little dated, the shower was a bit of a challenge as you have to lift your leg up over the edge of the tub (it was higher than a regular bathtub). Our towels were not the best either.
However, the hotel staff are very nice and helpful. They gave us good directions whenever we needed it.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

As we were part of the "Great Rail Journey" group a block booking on our behalf was done through your Hotel,

The room was absolutely fanatastic overlooking the river plus the facilities ie Gym,swimming pool etc were excellent.
The service and information we were given was top class and I commend the young South African lady you have on reception.
The Location was also excellent overlooking the River and close to most all amenities.

However I did have concerns with the Dinner although the actual main meal was good we were given the same soggy vegetables every night and with every course ordered. The little beans were the exception because they were always undercooked. Every night and again with every main meal you were presented with either boiled or roast potatoes.

I recommend a change of menue would go along way ,not with regard to the actual meal but those side vegetables

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My boyfriend and i decided to have high tea in the palace hotel but i wish we had saved money and eat at home could have cooked better myself. First of all the the waiter served my boyfriend the wrong beer, then we were not offered toast which you normally get with high tea. We had ordered sunday roast for our meal when it arrived what a disappointment pre-packed meat with bisto gravy, salad and chips wher was the veg! best was yet to come thou i work for tesco the cakes were from tesco not one thing was homemade. There was a tour bus arriving as we left good luck to them they will need it i have eat in other places along the river ness which are much better don't go here i won't be going back that for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed for a week with a 3.5yr old. Write up on website was pretty accurate and overall was a really lovely stay. We were lucky enough to have a room upgrade to an exec room which was massive and overlooked the castle, which was lovely (and lucky I guess)!! It was a lovely location overlooking the river ness which was great in the evening to just sit in the lounge bar with drinks and let our little girl play, which no-one was bothered about at all. Was also a bonus having a pool and spa. The hotel seems to cater predominantly for "mature" groups on touring holidays, but that wasn't a problem at all, it may not suit the younger more lively traveller though!! The location was the key for us, as within easy walking distance to the centre, opposite the castle, but ideal for access by car to the black isle, nairn, loch ness, fort augustus/william etc so would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitteclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The hotel is very well situated on the banks of the River Ness, directly opposite the castle and only a short walk from the city centre. It is therefore very conveniently placed. Like many hotels in older buildings, it could benefit from some refurbishment and redecoration. Some parts of the hotel appeared to have been smartened up, but others were a bit shabby looking. Cleanliness was generally fine, although the dining room could have done with a good dusting and the blinds were in desperate need of changing. The bedroom we stayed in ideally needed a new carpet. The lift to the wing of the hotel in which we were staying was out of action for the duration of our stay. Hotel service was OK (room service better than that), although one of the bar-staff didn't appear to have much idea. We dined in the hotel restaurant one night, but the food was nothing special although reasonably priced. However, breakfast was very good. The swimming pool/health club was a real bonus, and appeared well managed and organised. It was a pity the jacuzzi was out of action on the day we used the facilities, although it was back in action the next day. Despite my criticisms, I would stay there again although, whilst the hotel remains in need of refurbishment, I would consider it somewhat over-priced and therefore not best value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank SageOopNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We arrived here after a long day of driving in terrible weather. Our room faced the front of the hotel overlooking the Ness River. While we only had to deal with one tour bus arriving in the afternoon and departing in the morning, I am sure that in the summer this room location would not be so serene. As it was it was delightful.

However, I would recommend eating and drinking elsewhere. The bar is less than comfortable and the drinks pricey for what arrives in your glass - that and choice is limited. We went to breakfast after the tour bus had departed, but the breakfast room was poorly managed and service incredibly slow and disorganized. I would have been more understanding if we were there during the rush, but there were only a few guests seated at tables and yet staff was unable to get the tables cleared and reseated in an efficient and organized manner.

The pool was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £58 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing