We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lowsy wifi internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lowsy wifi internet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Will never visit again. The internet is sonlowsy they were bettter off without it, as it pisses people off. The breakfast is so so, and the price is not really that low.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cnpetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness. I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards
Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    440
    176
    72
    26
See reviews for
192
588
56
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The location cannot be beat. Everything else about this hotel can be. The kitchen is horribly slow with meals. Even getting a cup of tea can be an ordeal. The rooms are desparate for a freshening. We were awoken at 6 AM by hotel staff forcibly - and quite loudly - removing a guest from our floor.

The bathroom was a mess with a toilet that more often than not would not flush and a very slippery tub with no mat.

Breakfast is an outright disaster. Very little food. Horrible service. I had finished with breakfast by the time the hot water for tea and the toast arrived. And the only teas to select from were herbals - not the way I care to start my day.

An all around disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cresheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness. I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards
Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel was a BIG DISSAPOINTMENT! Interesting exterior, lobby ok, good location, staff were "ok", but once checked in was a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE - WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT OR EVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!
I booked it for two main reasons, proximity to Eden Court Theatre (where I was attending a concert), and the Best Western name (which I hoped would assure some sort of quality control - ha). Thankfully I was only there for a short stay. It was indeed a good location, but the room was HORRIBLE. As a single traveler I didn't book a big room, but still didn't expect such a claustrophobic closet with tiny lumpy bed, very musty smelling bathroom with a leaky toilet that didn't always flush but kept running. Thin walls, very noisy, so no sleep impacted travel plans... Internet did NOT work in the room - AT ALL. Stay away!!!! SHAME ON THEM FOR RENTING OUT SUCH A ROOM - "Palace"?!

Room Tip: Don't book a single room unless you've just been released from prison and are used to a tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness.

I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Great location right by the river Ness and a lovely old building. Now the bad bits, our room was a shabby disgrace, the window rattled non stop, the minute bathroom was very dated, with chips out of the bath and a ancient shower which could not easily be adjusted and no extractor fan for condensation. The toliet seat wobbled due to broken supports and no safety shower mat provided making the shower dangerous to use. Whilst the food was very good, the same could not be said of the service which was very poor. Your food was virtually thrown at you. We gave up on ordering drinks with our meal after the 2nd night, and got our own from the bar. I saw many other guests doing the same, and once you had finished eating you were asked to move out for the next sitting. I believe there were 3 sittings for dinner!! Breakfast was quite simply chaos!! Tea & coffe would arrive as you finished eating, toast likewise. Clearly they had far too many guests to cope with.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plymstockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness.

I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst working in Inverness. The location of this hotel is very good, right on the river opposite the castle. This means its central but a little quieter than staying on the other side of the river. Depending on the price I may stay here again, although I thought it was expensive for a single room.
The room itself was very clean and had a huge bed, no Sky Sports only freeview in the rooms. Hotel provides free parking onsite, hotel has a gym which is pretty basic, the pool is a decent size and these facilities are available free to guests. The staff were very friendly and attentive at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

I’m glad to hear your enjoyed your stay at the Palace hotel. I noticed in your review that you are a corporate client, if you wish to discuss a rate while you are in the Inverness area please feel free to contact my directly at the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were on a Great Rail Journey Holiday - Highland Adventure and we stayed at
the" Palace Hotel". It is central for the city and is located on the river Ness.
It is ideally situated to explore the city or for a walk along the river where there are bars and restaurants.
The hotel was rated 3* but should be rated higher.The en-suite bedroom, overlooking the Ness river, was large with a super King size bed, arm chairs and coffee in the bay window
Meals were served in the huge restauaunt. Breakfast - There was a huge choice, fruit, cereals and a variety of cooked breakfasts. Evening Meal - was 3 course waiter service with a varied menu .
Either side of the foyer were lounge arears, where drinks were served
There was also a swimming pool and multi-gym.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

It was so nice to read you had a delightful stay at the hotel while traveling with Greatrail Journeys. I was glad that you enjoyed your large room and appreciated the stunning view onto the castle. I was also glad to read that you really enjoyed the food, our staff service and the leisure club.

Thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our second visit to the Palace in a riverside room with a wonderful view of the river and castle. The rooms are clean and comfortable and although we only had breakfast in the hotel the food was good and the staff friendly. There is a fitness centre and an excellent swimming pool. The hotel is over 100 years old and would benefit from a little maintenance to the exterior but dont let that put you off, its a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

I’m so glad to read you have come back to the Palace Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace Hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing