We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend, perfect hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

we stayed at the Palace Hotel with our 2 teenagers and as they are getting too old for the pull out beds in family rooms, asked the hotel for advice when booking. She suggested getting the interconnecting rooms with the second one given at half price. Was a wee bit wary about the hotel as quite a few negative reviews but was definately very pleasantly surprised. Could not fault the hotel on any level.

Rooms were both identical with HUGE double beds (more comfortable than our own!!), flat screen tvs and tea making facilities. Very clean, very roomy and well equipped rooms. Plenty towels and also little extras like shampoo, shower gel etc. The showers also fantastic and powerful. We didnt have a view to speak of but that is never important to us on short trips and anyway when in the room it was mainly dark outside.

Arrived at the hotel after a day of paintballing and had planned a quick dip in the pool before heading out to cinema in the evening before dinner but the pool was so inviting that we skipped the cinema and made use of the pool, jacuzzi. steam room and sauna.

Didnt eat dinner at the hotel but the menu did look very good and prices were not expensive but location of hotel was very central and so we headed out across the river.

Breakfast next day also lovely, few minutes to wait for a table but the staff kept coming over letting us know it wouldnt be long, no problem. Did run out of a few breakfast items but again staff very willing to cook up more. Partly our fault anyway as we didnt arrive for breakfast until 15 minutes before the end.

Myself and my daughter had a few spa treatments, again very reasonably priced and highly recommended for relaxing (def go for a massage) Spa doesnt usually open on a sunday but as she had no space on saturday and had some free time on sunday the owner took our booking and gave us her full attention. Most impressed.

My daughter also used the gym which was well equipped with one of everything. Not too busy either.

Every member of staff in all areas, (reception, leisure centre, spa, restaurant, valet etc) very friendly and polite, nothing too much trouble.

All in all would definately recommend this hotel and will definately be going back, maybe for a girlie weekend nearer christmas or again with the family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesco_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa.

I’m was delighted to see you decided to give the hotel the opportunity to show you what we can deliver and by reading your review I believe we did just that.

We do try to make every guests stay special and focus on individual needs and requirements. I was delighted you found our accommodation to your liking and comfy.

The leisure club is a fantastic place to relax and after a day of paintballing I’m sure the Jacuzzi helped all those aches.

I’m glad you were impressed with the beauticians, the owner Ellen always makes sure she’s able to fit guests in where possible.

I was also glad to hear that all our staff were friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves and get lots of positive feedback regarding our staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    459
    183
    74
    26
See reviews for
201
618
57
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the Palace Hotel as part of a Great Rail Journeys Highland tour..
We would highly recommend this hotel. There were several tour groups at the hotel but the service was friendly and efficient, the meals were excellent and the rooms comfortable with views over the river Ness and Inverness castle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

I was glad you found the accommodation very comfortable and it suited your needs

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future

Kindest Regards
Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed here as part of Page and Moy tour. Very full mostly with other tour parties. Efficient, comfortable room, good pool and good food served promptly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandsylviano7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

I'm glad you ejoyed your stay at the hotel while traveling with Page & Moy. I hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We arrived for a couple of days stay for my husband's graduation. The hotel was lovely, we had a beautiful room which was spotless and very comfortable with a huge bed. The staff were all very pleasant and mannerly especially the two girls on the reception. The breakfast was great and a good choice for all tastes. We will be back as soon as we can to do some christmas shopping, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldfish39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace Hotel soon

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I was part of a coach holiday group. We received an efficent and warm welcome and located our rooms very quickly. Our room was very big with a huge bed, it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and products were okay. Our major issue was to do with the creaking floorboards from above. It was difficult to get a good nights sleep because at times it was like a heard of elephants. When the occupants turned over in their bed, it was almost as if they were in the room with us. Other than that everything was great. We were on half board terms and the food was excellent. I also used the swimming pool and my husband used the gym. The entire area was scupulously clean and the staff were devoted to cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in completing a review on the Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel while traveling with a coach holiday group. I was glad that you enjoyed your large room but apologise the creaking floorboards disturbed your sleep. I was also glad to read that you really enjoyed the food and the leisure club.

Thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Will never visit again. The internet is sonlowsy they were bettter off without it, as it pisses people off. The breakfast is so so, and the price is not really that low.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cnpetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness. I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards
Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The location cannot be beat. Everything else about this hotel can be. The kitchen is horribly slow with meals. Even getting a cup of tea can be an ordeal. The rooms are desparate for a freshening. We were awoken at 6 AM by hotel staff forcibly - and quite loudly - removing a guest from our floor.

The bathroom was a mess with a toilet that more often than not would not flush and a very slippery tub with no mat.

Breakfast is an outright disaster. Very little food. Horrible service. I had finished with breakfast by the time the hot water for tea and the toast arrived. And the only teas to select from were herbals - not the way I care to start my day.

An all around disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cresheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on the Palace Hotel in Inverness. I’m sorry you felt you had such a bad stay at the hotel, if possible could you please contact me at the hotel directly where we could discuss these matters further.

Kindest Regards
Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing