We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4 day mid week break”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here on a three nights dinner bed and breakfast package for my husbands birthday. Ended up with a lovely room overlooking the castle and river. (041) 24th to the 27th jan. Our room had a sofa and two chairs so was perfect to chill out in the afternoon. Used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room every day. Just perfect to relax. Booked a pedicure, manicure, back massage and facial at the hotel and really enjoyed my afternoon there on the thursday.
However I will say that the food was very hit or miss but I understand there was a problem with the chef and someone else had to cover. (ordered lime and white chocolate and was told there would be a short delay. Well have you ever had hot cheesecake as thats how it came.!!!!??? Think they had to rustle it up then. Awful. At breakfast a very good choice but burnt toast one day and hot bread the next day as the toast looked like it just had a look at the grill.) Having said all that it was a great 4 days rest and I am sure once the chef matter sorted it will be back to its normal standard. However for us we will just stay b and b as put us off slightly. Shame really as good hotel otherwise. (but we were offered a free glass of wine on the thursday night as they had problems but couldnt drink it. ugh lol ) Went to pay bill and dinner bed breakfast package on then charged us for all that we had eaten too so charged twice for the same thing. But staff all very friendly and helpful and sorted it out quickly and explained what they had done wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river. Lovely view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Est1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I apologise for the problems that arose with the food and sorry to read that this has put you off staying at the hotel again.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay though.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    472
    196
    82
    27
See reviews for
213
641
63
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in mid January. The reception staff were very nice and helpful when checking in. The room was large and pleasantly decorated with a superking bed. The bathroom was a let down, but they are in the process of upgrading them.

We had dinner in the restaurant (not the bar where the TV is). The starter, broth, was lovely and thick and hot. My main was chicken in bacon and was just lovely. My husband had fish in a sauce, something he would never usually have, and was most impressed. Unusually, we both managed sweet. I would certainly recommend eating in the restaurant.

Breakfast was also very good. The usual hot and cold selection, but it was good quality. Tea, coffee and toast was taken to your table and most unusually these days, a pot of hot water for the tea,

The pool area was nice, hot tub, sauna, steam room. All nice and clean, even though there was refurb works going on in the ladies shower area.

Mark the manager seemed to be there all the time and was a really nice guy who leads a great team.

All in all the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The main public area is a pleasant space with lots of sofas and tables in the bar area. Some other areas are a little run down, but they're working on it. Look past it and enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ford maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm nice to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. You are right in what you have written some of our bathrooms are part of the refurbishment plan for 2012.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed the food on offer at the hotel and the comfortable surrounding we have to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Arrived after hrs traveling. Showed a large river view room which was quite large but shabby. Bathroom was fine but tiny. Room very warm and rad could not be turned down. Asked for someone to sort out, manager came with his pliers and screwdriver!! Asked for another room but no he wanted to fix or install a portable oil rad. He said it was easier to do this than show me another room. Dinner was to 9.15 only and the spa open to 9pm. Staff were hoovering the spa at 8.30pm and the jacuzzi only worked at 10 min intervals. This means 10 on 10 0ff. Towels were from the 50s. Thin and thread bare. Dinner was fair but not worth the cost. Also served in brightly lit room with large tv with football on !!!! Staff young and there was no evidence of any form of decent management.
BED was hard and to top it all you could hear all forms of plumbing from the rooms above and next door. I mean every toilet pull, shower, and people themselves using the loo. This went on thru the night. I t was really loud. Breakfast looked like it had been eaten before being served and was awful. This hotel needs some serious money spending on it and some decent leadership . DONT STAY

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November 2010. We booked through Hotel Connections and got a cracking room rate for dinner, bed and breakfast. Despite the weather we had a lovely stay and felt warm and cosy throughout our time in the hotel. The room was spacious with a high ceiling and a massive bed which was a big bonus as my partner is 6ft 3inch tall. A really good central location right on the river front and we even had a river view from our room. Dinner was of a good standard and full Scottish breakfast was AMAZING especially the haggis. Leisure facilities were available as was wi-fi which ticked additional boxes for us. All in all a fabby weekend away from it all in good surroundings, with decent food and a nice atmosphere. We are happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel from a stay you had with us in November 2010.

The effort you have made is very much appreciated and I'm glad to see tht you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will be welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had a great time here, we were booked in somewhere else but cut our stay short and travelled into inverness instead, we made the right choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I'd glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be coming back again to us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Pleasantly surprised , Location spot on , good condition throughout , good size rooms, very welcoming , staff very nice , clean and tidy hotel, breakfast good , best liesure facilities in inverness . Very close to excellent ,but slight down side , allowing pets and no sky tv (just 5 or 6 channels on freeview ) But if staying in inverness again this hotel would still be my first choice

Room Tip: we stayed in the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We recently stayed at the palace hotel room was fantastic staff could,nt be more help full

Facilities were top notch and would definetly stay there again. Well worth the money

Room Tip: If you want a view to remember ask for a room with the bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing