We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great wifi”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

After France & London hotels, Scotland Best Western hotels (2) have had the best wifi service...impeccable. Inverness Palace Hotel in excellent location. Room average. Compare room to old budget hotel room in US at triple price. Did not try dining room as we like to get out of hotel to explore. Definitely recommend the Inverness island walk. Leave hotel by red-carpeted front steps, turn right and walk along the river to the second bridge, turn left over the bridge and come back on the other side of the river. A wonderful way to end each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockfish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting a review about your stay at our hotel. We really appreciate our guests letting us know what they think.

It's great that you found our WIFI so reliable which is free for all of our guests to use during their stay.

I'm sorry you weren't impressed by your room. Our classic rooms are of a 3* comfortable standard but I do apologise if it did not meet your expectations.

What great directions you've given for the lovely walk along the Ness Islands! They are the perfect distance from our hotel for a stroll and as you have said, well worth doing for a beautiful view of Inverness.

Thank you once again, your comments are very much appreciated.

Kind Regards, Della
Della Evans, Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    464
    190
    78
    27
See reviews for
209
628
61
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Westayed 1 night at this hotel in June 2013 for vacation. We picked this hotel mainly due to location and to the lack of other suitable hotels in Inverness, and that's probably part of the problem with this hotel.

The hotel required the room to be pre-paid. Happy to pay my room in advance if I get a good deal instead - but this was certainly not the case here since we were charged 150€ which is the standard rate.

The hotel is very nicely located on the less busy side of the river Ness in the centre overlooking Inverness Castle and the town. It’s a little less than 10min walk from the station.

We arrived at the hotel pretty early in the morning: roughly around 10am. We didn’t expect our room to be ready obviously but we wanted to get rid of our luggage. The young women at the reception was rather surprised about guests turning up this early wanting to check-in. She literally said "But your rooms are not ready yet! You cannot check-in yet!"

Strange: in every hotel of the world one can finish the check-in formalities even though one's room is not ready yet. She told us to come back later. We asked her if there is a place to leave luggage, she was looking around her, again rather surprised about such a question, shrugged her shoulders and told us "Just leave them somewhere over here".
Our luggage was put simply behind the counter; no name was taken, we were not given any ticket. Anybody could have turned up pointing at our bags and pretending they belong to them.

But well... we returned in the afternoon, almost intimidated if we would already be allowed to check-in, and this time we had luck: the staff was actually willing to check-us in!

We were sent to our room on the backside of the building. The room was visibly run down and was praying for a refurbishment. The carpet was dirty, the furniture nagged and decoration transported you into the long gone nineties. There was nothing of charm or taste in this room, nothing that reminded you of the Highlands or of Scotland, it could have been a motel or an industrial estate anywhere in the UK.

Our biggest disappointment was the bathroom. It clearly needed some work done: the sort of rubber like floor cover was dirty and eroded. The toilet didn't properly refill after it was flushed. Certainly not a place you wanna spend any minute too much in.

The hotel advertises itself as a spa. And indeed it features a swimming pool, gym, dry and wet sauna. We had a stroll through the facilities. The hotel is clearly no five star property so you can't expect anything fancy: yet I still would not call the spa of this hotel a proper spa. The pool seemed to be more of a community pool with splashing and yelling children and cheap plastic lounge chairs. In the end; a nice to have feature but nothing that deserves the word "spa" where you can lie down and relax.

In the evening we had a drink in the hotel's bar. I'll let you guess... Somewhere hidden between the dozens of cardboard signs shouting into your face "Proud to serve Starbucks Coffee" was a little bar counter stuffed with the bare necessities you need to fill people up and muffins to go with that proudly served Starbucks coffee. Again; no place with any taste, or charm. We quickly zipped our drinks rushing back to our room hoping the night will make it look less shabby.

After an okay night of sleep; it was time for breakfast. The hotel does not offer cocked à la carte breakfast like a lot of British hotels but does the more continental version of a buffet with some hot options. Okay but once again: not even trying to walk the extra mile.

Check-out was unsurprisingly faster than check-in. We gave the receptionist our key and after an immediate and simple "Thank you, that's fine. Bye!" we were done. No "how was your stay?" or any other friendly talk that would at least sort of let you know you were welcome. This hotel would be an okay place to stay for 100€ per night; but certainly not for 150€, it is simply overpriced!

At the end of our stay we understood this hotel's business concept: charging people in advance and then hoping they will not turn up so you don't actually have to provide them any service.

I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to any other travelers unless they get a really good price for the room.

+Recreational facilities available: pool, gym etc. Though no proper spa.
+Location
-Value for money
-Room and in particular bathrooms
-Friendliness of staff
-Atmosphere and decoration

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a thorough review of your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience.

We would not say we of a 5 star standard and that is not our business concept.
However, I would say that we are a busy 3 star city centre hotel which takes a great pride in providing efficient and reliable accommodation and services with on-going improvements being part of our strategy.

All the comments we receive from our guest's are reviewed and are used to try and make further improvements to our systems so we always appreciate our guests feedback.

Again, I'm very sorry we did not fulfill your expectations on this occasion and if you would like to discuss any further aspects of your stay, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards, Della
Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and booked this hotel just before new year and when we arrived we were ordinal ly given a room at the back of the hotel, I think it was on the first floor, it was over some machinery which made a constant drone. We had just travelled up from Lancashire a journey of about 6 hours including breaks so needed a quiet lie down. To be fair the receptionist changed our room very quickly but we had to go for a walk instead of a lie down. The bed was a bit lumpy as per other reviews. We were also informed that we could not eat in the Restaurant after about 18.30 as they had a couple of large parties in (Coach parties) we were made to feel very inferior to the coach parties. At breakfast we had to sit on a table sharing with some of the party members and made to feel uncomfortable by them, not the hotels fault, but if non coach party members were given an area to themselves this would avoid the uncomfortable situation we found ourselves in.

Room Tip: Go to the Lochardi House Hotel, bit farther out but much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am so sorry you were made to feel inferior to our guests travelling as part of a group, this is certainly never our intention and we really do try and accommodate everyone equally.

With reference to your experience of breakfast during your stay, I am very sorry that you were not seated at your own table. I can assure you that this is not how we usually manage our breakfast service and I will be investigating this further as this is very disappointing to read.

Thank you for your fairness in praising our reception team for changing your room quickly and providing an alternative. We always encourage our guests to let us know if there is something they're unhappy about when they arrive and we will do everything we can to try and rectify the issue.

Please do accept my apologies for all your disappointments and thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a lovely place overlooking the River Ness.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Service and food is very good, and worthy of consideration when visiting this lovely city.

The hotel boasts a superb spa, which is very welcome after a hard day's work or touring.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much writing a review about your recent stay.

We're really happy to read that you enjoyed our spa facilities and that you found them so welcoming after a long day out and about.

Our rooms are very comfortable and our outlook onto the beautiful River Ness and Inverness Castle is very special.

All the feedback we receive is passed onto our team here and it's always great when we see that our guests have enjoyed the service we provide.

Thank you once again and we really hope we can welcome back in the future.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Ordered dinner special, Bangers and Mash, could not eat sausages, they were dried out and too hard to cut with a knife. I think they were left over from breakfast and heated in a microwave. Informed wait staff that sausages were not edible, wait staff apologized, said she looked forward to telling the Chef.
No reduction in bill or alternate food offered. Ordered dessert, absolutely no taste in the whip cream. Bill was 70 lbs.!!
Will not eat here again.

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest

Please let me thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent meal with us.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and we would ordinarily offer you a replacement if you were not entirely happy so I am sorry that we did not do that on this occasion. Our guests satisfaction is vitally important to us and so this will be looked into further.

I can assure you that we take all of our guests comments and feedback extremely seriously and we try and use it constructively.

Thank you once again for leaving your review.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed very recently in the palace hotel. On a positive note our room was well appointed, spacious, clean - perfect. Breakfasts were good and the bread of good quality.

However, we were disappointed with the restaurant meals. We ate on two evenings, our first meal was ok but hardly inspiring. The second night I asked for fruit cocktail, this was composed of oranges and grapefruit from tins - exactly the same fruit I had eaten that morning for breakfast! I selected plaice for my main course( not convinced it was plaice) this was served with wet, grey vegetables that appeared to have been warmed up from the day before. We complained and were told there would be no charge for the meal and we were offered complimentary drinks.
The lounge doors were open during the evenings and therefore the temperature was too cool for us to sit in comfort.
At the end of our stay we were charged for our poor meals and for the Complimentary drinks, this was rectified when we brought it to the attention of the staff. Would we stay again - I very much doubt it. We have stayed in lots of hotels and never felt the necessity to complain before.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterFew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest

Please let me thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I and everyone here at the hotel is very sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your evening meals and that you found them so disappointing. I can absolutely assure you that the fish you were served was plaice but I am so sorry you found the vegetables were not up to standard, this will be addressed.

We try our utmost to make sure any of our guests issues are dealt with promptly and efficiently to ensure their stay is disrupted in the least possible way, so I am very sorry we didn't get your bill correct when you checked out and caused further inconvenience to you.

Thank you for letting us know the positive aspects of your stay - your room and our breakfasts - it is lovely to read and I do hope that if you are in Inverness again you may be able to give us another opportunity.

Thanks again,

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is located on Ness Walk, not far from the river bridge, and overlooked. the river and the castle. Very handy for the city centre which is just a few minutes walk. You can also have wonderful walks by the river.

We had a superior bedroom with a bay window at front of the hotel, with fabulous views of the river and the castle. There were 2 double beds - very comfortable for a good night's sleep. The en suite bathroom had no bath, but there was a large walk-in shower.

The breakfast was self service, but very nice.

If we stay in Inverness again, the Place Hotel would be our first choice, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room 26 at front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We're all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is in an excellent location for all that Inverness has to offer including the beautiful walks along the River Ness.

Room 026 is a gorgeous room and we're very happy you found it so comfortable.

We do hope we can welcome you to the Palace Hotel again when you next visit Inverness.

Thanks again,
Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing