We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my partner was up for a night with my sister and partner. Firstly we arrived to no spaces to park the car, the leisure club at the hotel do a service which takes car to another carpark and brings it back up on check out which was really good. The lady at reception was very pleasant. I paid for a river view room but the room wasn't very spacious and wasn't worth the extra money. My sister didn't pay for a river view room but got upgraded to one which her room was double the size of ours, even though we paid an extra £40 than her. People that pay the extra should be given the bigger rooms and if any rooms are left then an upgrade to other guests would be a nice surprise. Also we arrived about 4ish and asked reception if room service is available for sandwiches as we hadn't eaten, which she replied yes. Went upstairs and phoned down abt half an hour later which the person on other side of room service replied no not until 6pm and was quite rude. So was a complete different answer to what reception said so we couldn't get anything to eat. We didn't have any hot water that evening so phoned down to reception and they said they will speak to manager. After and hour it still hadn't been sorted so we couldn't get a shower before going out unless you wanted a freezing cold shower?
The hot water was back on in the morning!
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty choice.
The location is really good and the hotel is clean but it wasn't worth the £140 that we paid. Especially for a small room, no room service for snacks at half4 for guest and no hot water when needed. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Day1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

I would like to begin by apologising for the disappointment you have been left with upon leaving.

You are right about the allocation of the bedrooms with River Ness views and I have made our Reception Manager aware of your experience.

The hot water issue has hopefully been rectified but I am sorry that you were left with this problem in the evening.

I have told the Food Service Manager about your experience with room service. Again, this should not have been the case as room service is available through-out the day and night. Rudeness is unacceptable and I am very sorry you were left to experience this from one of the team.

I would really appreciate you contacting me directly at the hotel to discuss your stay in more depth. There are many areas of concern from your review and I really am very sorry you have been left with this view of the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were here for a hen weekend & can not fault a single thing. We are astonished by the value for our money. We had bubbly on arrival, finger buffet (yummy), spa treatements, a delicious 3 course meal- just as good as a 5* hotel, midnight munchies after our night out- which was a perfect selection of sandwiches, crisps & pizza. Finally the best breakfast I have had in a long time.
Service has been great, would like to give a special shout out to Graham who was fantastic (15th Feb).
Thank you Great Western!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Hens!

Thank you for posting such a brilliant review on Trip Advisor.

We're all delighted you had a great weekend and we're very happy we were part of it.

Graham is fair chuffed with his special mention - thanks, I think you made his day!

It's brilliant that you found the package such great value for money and that you enjoyed everything that's included.

Maybe you could all organise another girlie weekend away soon - we would love to have you all back!

Many thanks again and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Only have a few bad points about our stay - don't expect a warm shower/bath nor able to get hot water from the sink. Tried at several different times for hot water but still - no more than lukewarm water!! This put is off even trying to use the pool and jacuzzi etc assuming these would also be cold! So kind of missed out on what we went there for,relaxing spa break!
Had our dinner in restaurant and the roast beef option was terrible, very tough meat and over done Yorkshire puds , also had the haggis starter which was nothing more than a mountain of it in the middle of a plate swimming with what was apparently a whiskey sauce but tasted like cheese sauce.

Apart from those complaints had a nice stay, staff were good, breakfast was good, room was large enough and clean, and the view of the castle and river was just great!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quietfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of your stay.

I am sorry that you had trouble getting hot water during your stay, this is a real shame and I have made sure your comments have been passed onto our maintenance team to look at. The pool and spa water is sourced from a completely separate system so this would not have affected the leisure facilities.

It's very disappointing to read the feedback on the meal you had, the Yorkshire puddings are homemade so I have told our Head Chef about this and the other issues you encountered. I am very sorry you didn't entirely enjoy your meal.

Thank you for you kind praise of the team and of the cleanliness of your room and I'm delighted you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

nice hotel and all staff are excellent and friendly,very clean,all meals,drinks, restaurant,pool etc all superb,this is a hotel that is good for visiting Eden court 5 mins away.central for shopping.Will go back again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your very much for the very lovely review on Trip Advisor.

It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your visit to us so much and your comments have been passed on to all of the team.

We are just a five minute walk along the river to Eden Court Theatre, and a very picturesque walk it is too.

I do hope you are able to visit Inverness in the future and that you will book with us again - we'd love to have to back!

Very many thanks and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The worst service I have received in a long time would not stay here again, The food was returned and the breakfast eggs were like rubber. The restaurant staff were rude and very unhelpful The price did not reflect the standards you would expect for £135.00. The location is good but the lounge floor shakes where the seats are located, I had to move.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

What a disappointing review to read, for all of the team here and I would like to apologise sincerely for the less than satisfied feeling you have been left with.

Please be assured that all of the comments and feedback we receive is scrutinised and investigated - positive or negative and is passed on to the entire team.

Hospitality is our business and it so disappointing for us to read that we have fallen short of being at the very least friendly and helpful.

If you would like to discuss the issues that arose during your stay in more depth, please do feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have been to Inverness a few times, but only passing through so it was a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful old hotel by the side of the River Ness. We walked from the station which is only 10-15mins away. The city is within walking distance, as are all the bars and eateries.
I could not fault the breakfast at all, plenty of choice and extra tea/coffee and toast if needed. The toast was huge thick slices of mixed white and brown, I cannot comment on the evening meals as we did not try them.
The leisure facilities were clean, the pool was a little cool, but beautiful steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. I would definatley recommend this hotel for good value and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your brilliant review on Trip Advisor.

We are all absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and Inverness.

Thank you for the very kind words about the team, the leisure facilities we have and the breakfasts. We order our bread from a local bakery round the corner and our Head Chef is very grateful you've given the toast we serve a mention.

I hope that if you find yourselves visiting Inverness in the future, you will choose to book with us again - we'd love to have you back.

Thanks very much for your very lovely praise.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend break in Inverness. We had never visited the city before but would thoroughly recommend it. On arrival at the hotel the staff were so friendly and helpful, and that continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone greeted us with a smile. We stayed in a classic double room which was spacious, clean & comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The leisure suite is really good, great size pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a well equipped gym. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, the hot food selection was fresh and well cooked. We also ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and had a fabulous steak, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

It's a pleasure to read such absolutely brilliant feedback and I am delighted you found all the team so friendly and helpful.

Thank you for such kind praise of the meals you had and it's great that you were able to take full advantage of the leisure facilities we have.

Also, it's brilliant that you enjoyed staying in one of our classic bedrooms and that you found it clean and spacious.

Inverness is a fantastic base to explore the Highlands and we are in an ideal location to walk into the centre of town where there's plenty to discover.

I hope that if you find yourselves visiting Inverness in the future you will choose to stay with us again - we'd love to have you back!

Many thanks again and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,824 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.6 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £65 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing