We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace equals amazing two days stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palace equals amazing two days stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed with a friend this week, weather was fantastic considering the rest of the UK seemed to have the worst weather possible. I have lived all over the world so do not usually write reviews on hotels but thought I would give this one a review. Maybe it is because they put me in such a fantastic room with a view. Room I was in was spotless, although the corridor could do with brightening up as they are very old hat. Food great, breakfast amazing and staff fantastic. Will be staying here again the next time I am up in Inverness

Room Tip: Be 007 and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks ever so much for making an exception with us and posting your very generous review.

I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay so much and that you liked the room. That's great and it is a fantastic view, you are right!

I am very happy to see that you will choose to book with us again when you are next in Inverness - I hope it's soon - we'd love to have you back!

Many thanks again and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    448
    177
    72
    26
See reviews for
196
599
56
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Upgraded to a lovely room with bay window overlooking the River Ness. Well equipped room with a huge and very comfortable bed. Pillows a little firm. Free wifi was a bit erratic. Decent breakfast in the morning. As usual with a buffet breakfast some of the items were not quite as hot as they could be but it was a decent selection.
Didn't use the attached leisure club/pool and didn't eat in the restaurant as there was a great Italian just 100 yds away.
Would give special mention the hotel receptionist, Sarah, who was extremely pleasant and helpful and a real asset to the place.
Will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I'm really delighted you are going to stay with us again and that you enjoyed your visit so much.

It is a shame that your breakfast wasn't as hot as it should've been and I have mentioned this to our Head Chef so that we can look into this.

Also, we are looking at the WIFI issue as we have very recently had this upgraded so it is disappointing that you had trouble with the service.

Thank you very much for giving a special mention to Sarah - she is thrilled, it's always such a boost to receive such lovely recognition from our guests.

I note you are a seasoned traveller and reviewer so we very much appreciate your experienced opinion.

Thank you once again and I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Arrived early and the room was ready we were in the wing part at back the room was lovely and clean and comfortable as was the whole hotel we had booked for 2 nights with Dinner & B&B all the staff were Friendly and made you feel really welcome the dinner the first night was excellent 3 course in the main restaurant u could not ask for more the price of drinks was reasonable in the bar too the next night we had a meal in the bar area sirloin steak which was very good apart from the mushrooms/onion rings being cold we got them reheated no problem
tried the leisure pool which was good.
Would we return to this hotel a big YES if we could get a room in the old part of the hotel .
Thank you very much for a good weekend to the palace hotel and staff u do a great job

Room Tip: Get a room in the old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dondarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We're really delighted you enjoyed your weekend break with us and thank you very much for such kind praise of all the team, it really is appreciated.

I'm very glad we were able to rectify the problem with the steak you ordered quickly, I am sorry for the disruption though.

I hope if you are in Inverness in the future, you will choose to stay with us again.

Many thanks and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels l have been too for a long time, they certainly know how to make your stay pleasant, the rooms clean, en suite bathroom amazing the power shower so powerful the pool and jacuzzi fantastic just what your body needs.
The meals are huge portions large and very tasty the breakfast great so much choice they cover every dietary needs the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Best thing is to sign up to Best Western hotels reward card which is free every pound spent you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dab976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your brilliant review on Trip Advisor.

We honestly couldn't ask for more and we're all thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much.

You are right, the benefits of signing up to a Best Western rewards card are excellent and it's free and easy to do.

I very much hope you are back in Inverness very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Very many thanks again and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here beginning of January. It was rated a 3 star and we have stayed in the Columba next door which is a 4 star. Can honestly say this hotel deserves a 5 star rating. The service was excellent throughout our weekend. We received a complimentary upgrade to a riverside view superior room by booking direct with hotel. The room was spacious, warm, excellent view of the river and castle. We ate in the restaurant on the first night as part of our deal and it was superb. Very efficient and for the first time my hubby was unable to finish his main meal. Having a back problem my other half finds it difficult to sleep in hotel beds but he slept very well both nights and didn't want to get up. Breakfast is buffet but excellent as well, not greasy and always topped up fresh. We were so impressed we booked a weekend away for my parents for their anniversary later in January and they said it was the best hotel they have ever stayed at and have rebooked to go back in March. Will definetly be booking this one again as we have stayed in many in Inverness and this is by far the best one we have stayed at. Parking at the hotel is limited but there is still parking compared to the 4 star next door but overall an excellent experience. Must try out leisure facilities next time.

Room Tip: Phone direct you may get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting such a glowing review!

We're all absolutely delighted that you and your parents enjoyed staying with us so much.

You are absolutely right, the best deals are to be had by booking direct so thank you for mentioning that to all your fellow travellers.

We look forward to welcoming your parents again in March and I very much hope you are able to book again very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Many thanks and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we have been going to this hotel for years and love it! staff are great- helpful and friendly, and breakfast and dinner delicious. rooms clean and comfortable and spacious. pool wonderful for families. highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review!

Your comments are very welcome to all the team and we're really grateful you've taken the time to write about the hotel.

It's fantastic that you enjoy visiting the hotel year after year and I really hope you continue to do so - we'd love to see you again very soon!

Thanks again and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macduff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my partner was up for a night with my sister and partner. Firstly we arrived to no spaces to park the car, the leisure club at the hotel do a service which takes car to another carpark and brings it back up on check out which was really good. The lady at reception was very pleasant. I paid for a river view room but the room wasn't very spacious and wasn't worth the extra money. My sister didn't pay for a river view room but got upgraded to one which her room was double the size of ours, even though we paid an extra £40 than her. People that pay the extra should be given the bigger rooms and if any rooms are left then an upgrade to other guests would be a nice surprise. Also we arrived about 4ish and asked reception if room service is available for sandwiches as we hadn't eaten, which she replied yes. Went upstairs and phoned down abt half an hour later which the person on other side of room service replied no not until 6pm and was quite rude. So was a complete different answer to what reception said so we couldn't get anything to eat. We didn't have any hot water that evening so phoned down to reception and they said they will speak to manager. After and hour it still hadn't been sorted so we couldn't get a shower before going out unless you wanted a freezing cold shower?
The hot water was back on in the morning!
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty choice.
The location is really good and the hotel is clean but it wasn't worth the £140 that we paid. Especially for a small room, no room service for snacks at half4 for guest and no hot water when needed. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Day1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

I would like to begin by apologising for the disappointment you have been left with upon leaving.

You are right about the allocation of the bedrooms with River Ness views and I have made our Reception Manager aware of your experience.

The hot water issue has hopefully been rectified but I am sorry that you were left with this problem in the evening.

I have told the Food Service Manager about your experience with room service. Again, this should not have been the case as room service is available through-out the day and night. Rudeness is unacceptable and I am very sorry you were left to experience this from one of the team.

I would really appreciate you contacting me directly at the hotel to discuss your stay in more depth. There are many areas of concern from your review and I really am very sorry you have been left with this view of the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing