We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining at the Palace - pick your meal carefully.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great room overlooking the river, very friendly staff. But we were disappointed by the food in the evening. The set dinner at £20 was not good. I had ordered fillet of mackerel, and what came was a reheated piece of smoked mackerel that you would buy at a supermarket with a big dollop of tomato paste. My mother ordered chicken and got a reheated slice of pre cooked chicken and a poor sauce. Next night we avoided the set menu and went 'a la carte' which was better - great fish and chips.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinty6086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry we let you down with your dinner on the first night, I have made the Head Chef aware of your feedback as this is disappointing. The fish and chips are always a winner though!

It's great that overall you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you again.

Thanks ever so much and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here, stunning location on the banks of the river and right in the centre of town. However I was disappointed with my room, it was very noisy - seemed like a boiler or something, no idea what it was but it was noisy at night. There wasn't great soundproofing and unfortunately we were within earshot of a family who are unsure how to raise children. The car park is tiny, they do valet parking but your car is off site at an unsecure location, not too far though. We only had breakfast, which was fantastic so if the evening meals are as good then superb. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Location is simply superb with many fine resteraunts within walking distance. Would I stay again? Yes,but only if I couldn't find something else.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, I had a room towards the rear of the hotel and my window overlooked what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkintilloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your stay.

I am sorry you were left disappointed with the room you were allocated, rest assured we review all of our guests feedback thoroughly.

Thank you for the kind words about the breakfast we serve - there is a fantastic choice, perfect for the most important meal of the day!

The overspill we use is CCTV monitored and a three minute walk from the hotel, we are more than happy to take the car to the overspill for you and bring it back for you when you need it.

Please do accept my apologies once more for the room not being as expected as we are always sorry when a guest leaves disappointed.

Thanks again for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic hotel great customer service,was given a free upgrade to a river view room with stunning views,free bottle of wine too. Delighted with our room very spacious & clean. Love this hotel , close to city centre and always great service.the spa is so relaxing couldn't ask for better, Breakfasts are amazing & so are the staff can't wait for my next stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacksonalimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks ever so much for posting your lovely review!

It makes for fantastic reading and we're all thrilled you enjoy staying at the hotel.

I hope you can make your return visit very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Thanks again and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed in a River View Room

Positives: decent views and a decent size room. conveniently situated close to the town centre, easy walking distance to restaurants/ bars etc.

Negatives: carpet was soiled and sticky around the window area.
No safe.
Outdated decor.
TV and alarm clock was outdated and in poor condition.
No air con due to the age of the hotel, the room was stuffy even with the windows open (old sash and case windows were difficult to open fully).
Two double beds in the room, we are used to a king size bed so found the double uncomfortable to sleep in.
The upgraded shower room was ok but no bath.
No 24hr room service.
The car park at the side of the hotel was full so we were instructed to park in the valet bay where it was later parked off site by the hotel's valet car parking, we were not informed where this was but when we returned to our car in the morning we were absolutely horrified to find the car in a disgusting state, completely covered in bird crap. We went to complain to the Hotel's valet car parking who did then offer to clean the car for us with a bucket and brush. We still had to take the car to a jet wash to remove the remains of the bird mess which was caked into the paint work. Our car is brand new, not even a month old. To say we were not happy is an understatement. The valet team advised us the car was parked under nesting birds. If we had been informed of this we would not have accepted it and parked the car elsewhere on the street next to he hotel.

Overall we were not impressed with our stay and won't return to the Best Western Palace Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are all deeply sorry for the distress and inconvenience you endured during your visit last weekend.

Thank you for pointing out the positives of your stay, it is very refreshing to read as you did enjoy the size of the room and views.

The room you were allocated does have to two double beds in it and we will review your points that perhaps a king size bed would be better suited along with your opinion of the decor and the furnishings. A lot of the rooms in the hotel have king sized beds so it's such a shame that we didn't allocate you one of these.

I can completely understand your distress about your car. The overspill car park was very busy the night you stayed and the intention had been to clean your car before your scheduled pick-up time. The valet team will always clean a guests car for them as we understand it has been us that has parked it in that particular spot. I am very sorry that this incident happened to you and that you have left the hotel with such a distressing end to your break away.

We all review and consider our guests feedback thoroughly so you can be assured your points have been taken very seriously.

I would be more than happy to discuss your stay further with you should you wish to contact me directly.

Our intention was for you to enjoy your stay, I do hope you can accept my sincere apologies on behalf of all the team at the hotel for you not leaving entirely satisfied.

Thanks again for posting your review on Trip Advisor and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good position by the river and close to the shops and castle. I recently had High Tea at the hotel. It was great value with good choices of main dishes, followed by selection of cakes,biscuits & scone. Staff also pleasant. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank simpkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Diner

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor!

High Tea has become so popular again over the last few years and we're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us.

I hope that you can pop by again very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Thanks again and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent a weekend in Inverness with the wife and kids at the Palace in Inverness. Our room overlooked the river and Inverness castle. Nice and convenient location with a great leisure club.
Didn't eat in the hotel but the breakfast was superb. Keep up the good work will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We're all delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and we're thrilled you're recommending the hotel to fellow travellers.

I hope you are able to return very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Thanks ever so much and very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arranged my friends hen weekend in this hotel. Well we couldn't have asked for better service. They decorated the table and room as we had asked for and bent over backwards to accommodate all our needs. Honestly they were Fantastic, so helpful and pleasant to talk to. The staff were all brilliant, the manager, the reception staff, the waiting staff, spa staff and night porter all lovely. Everything was just perfect!!! Location is stunning and close to everything. Cannot fault anything. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Best place I've every stayed. Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namastemrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Hens!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor!

What absolutely brilliant comments and we're all thrilled you had such a great weekend!

I hope you all think of us when the next Hen is getting hitched! We'd love to have you all back!

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really couldn't ask for more!

Very kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £74 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing