We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THAT, is NOT a High Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“THAT, is NOT a High Tea”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Any High Tea that I've had has always been a selection of dainty sandwiches, hot finger food, petit fours and other assorted small cakes, usually served in elegant surroundings. It was with this in mind that my wife and I booked in for a High Tea. How wrong were we. High Team consisted of a full main course meal (which we both agreed was lovely), followed by a 3 tiered platter of what was really stale left cake - some slices of cherry cake, 2 lurid pink lamingtons and some other stale cake slices. It was like instead of having main course followed by a desert, this was a main course followed by cakes ! ! ! Instead of elegant surroundings we were seated in the bar area with the large screen TV showing the then current World Cup football match. Unless its changed very much in the last month, I would strongly recommend against having their High Tea - unless of course you enjoy having stale cakes after your main course.
A truly terrible and disappointing meal and overall experience

Room Tip: Don't have their High Tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Gosh, we're all very sorry that you have been left so disappointed following your high tea.

What a shame you didn't say at the time of ordering your meal that it didn't seem to be what you were expecting. However, I am really glad to read that you enjoyed the main meal.

I have spoken to the Head Chef about the quality of the cakes you received and I am very sorry about this and definitely should not have been the case.

If you would like to discuss your meal in more depth please do feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    459
    184
    74
    26
See reviews for
202
618
57
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a short break in early August. We had upgraded to a river view, superior, room, and it was well worth it. A sublime view from our windows of the river and the castle. Room excellent, although the bathroom was a tad small perhaps (but with lovely toiletries). The hotel is so close to the centre of Inverness, which is great. The facilities are splendid, with a lovely gym and tremendous pool. Breakfasts were very good, although smoked fish such as kippers were sorely missed. We had a bar meal on two evenings and it was great, with good food at reasonable prices. Definitely a hotel to stay in if you're in the area!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks ever so much for your sublime review!

It's great that you enjoyed your short break with us and your lovely feedback is very kind.

I hope that if you are in Inverness in the future you will choose to book with us again.

Very many thanks and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
356 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Inverness Palace Hotel is located in the best location in Inverness, overlooking River Ness and with a view to the Castle. Our room was large and very nice and we enjoyed the great view from.

On the other hand, the lobby and restaurant area, breakfast and service definitely have room for improvement, especially for a hotel that commands prices as they do.

If you are looking for a hotel with nice rooms and don't mind paying a considerable premium for a top location, the Inverness Palace can be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your stay.

4/5 scoring means all the more from you as you are such a seasoned traveller!

I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your visit and you are right, we have the best location in Inverness!

Your constructive criticism is very valuable so thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback.

I hope that if you find yourself in Inverness again you will choose to book with us.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting friends in inverness, got an excellent deal on the actual hotel website and it didn't disappoint room was lovely, all the staff were great, and the leisure suite was a really nice touch after a long drive getting here, will definitely book again when we're back at Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review.

It's brilliant that you enjoyed your stay and if you are visiting your friends again at Christmas please do look at the deals we have for the festive season - booking direct is always the way to get the best deal!

Pamper packages, autumn packages and Christmas shopping deals, we have them all - love that time of year and it's coming round quick too!

Thanks for all your lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel (as with most of the UK hotels) was overpriced, but the location is great, our room overlooked the river, which was lovely. The bathroom was nice size and had a tub. Room was great size, but a little "tired"...could use some updates or at least a fresh coat of paint at the least.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks ever so much for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry you thought the room could do with some updating, we have a decorating and upgrading plan in place which carries on through-out the year. I'm delighted you enjoyed the view and location though, which is stunning!

We really appreciate all of the feedback we receive so thanks very much for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Best western Inverness palace Hotel & spa during holidays in July 2014. It is a lovely hotel with an old world charm attached to it. The location is great overlooking the River Ness and castle. It is centrally located and most places of shopping and dining are easily accessible. The rooms are big and nice. There is a starbucks located inside the hotel. One can rent a bicycle from just behind the hotel.

The staff was really very helpful and cordial. They also helped us with places to visit around Inverness.

Even though room rates are on a higher side but considering the location and comfort level it was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Wow! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post such a brilliant review!

We're all thrilled at the lovely comments and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful Highlands.

I hope that you can make a return journey very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Thanks ever so much and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went for a 2 night stay on a deal through hotel. Brilliant location, near the shops, Eden Court ,and right beside the river Ness. Asked for a room upgrade, as was my mothers birthday. Room was a delight, right at the front of building overlooking the river and Inverness Castle, could not have wished for better! Bottle of wine chilling for our arrival. Hotel staff first class, advised us of busy meal times, and what was on menus, very helpful! Swimming Pool and leisure facilities was great, and a car park that actually had spaces, or if not, car was valet parked. Will definitely be back to this hotel again, and would definitely recommend to others. First class service!

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel, and ask for upgrade, if possible to enjoy views of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for posting your review and it's an absolutely fantastic read!

We're all delighted you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your lovely comments.

I hope that you can make a return visit very soon - we'd love to have you back!

Many thanks again and kind regards, Della.

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing