We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel ideally located for Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel ideally located for Inverness”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Only stayed for one night on the way up north for new year with boyfriend and friends, but very nice hotel in a great location for Inverness and the surrounding area.

Will definitely try and return for a longer stay in the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    459
    184
    74
    26
See reviews for
202
618
57
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Stayed here to attend a work night out, hotel central with parking, the room was clean,roomy and warm. Breakfast was buffet but choices superb and staff polite and efficient, would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2009

This is a great hotel for location. No car needed as you can walk everywhere and catch buses or day tours where you want to go outside town. We splurged and asked for a room overlooking the river and had a huge room with a great bed and shower. We were there to get married at Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness and the staff was very helpful to us with getting my dress there and looking for last minute items. The restaurant manager was very helpful in preparing a special off menu dinner for us on the night of our wedding. We used the pool and jacuzzui. The only 2 things negative were the inconsistent wireless connection and there was the floor was very wet in the dressing rooms and even getting to the dressing rooms. But otherwise was a nice set up. There were some large groups there that made some food at breakfast a little hard to get, but the staff was doing the best it could to manage and kept a smile at all times. We look forward to coming back on anniversaries.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Very well located, close to to the centre of town with fab views overlooking the river Ness & castle. Some of the staff were good but the majority downright rude. A special mention for Dorothy & Lisa. They were our waitresses over our 4 day stay. Things were pretty tough for them as they had to cope with at least 3 coach parties and we had to take second place. But they did their best to accommodate us when we requested a quiet table away from the mass of coach parties. This was not easy as some of the big parties chose to eat away from their group, which meant taking over the few availavble tables for two. Overall a pretty average hotel with no outstanding features apart from the view if one is lucky to get a front facing room overlooking the river & castle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed here on our way back from the Orkneys for 2 nights. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The only thing we didn't understand was why you had actually to go into the main dining room to see what food was on offer so we ate in the bistro instead. Food in there was good. The hotel is centrally situated for shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayandJay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Charming old hotel situated on the river walking distance to city center. Very helpful staff. Gym, pool and health club were above average. hotel could benefit from some minor cosmetic upgrades. Would return on next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed here for one night at the end of July en route to Orkney. We wanted somewhere with a pool in the centre of Inverness and this seemed to fit the bill for about £120. Parked in front of the hotel. Check in was speedy and polite and once we had got our luggage out, handed over the car keys to the leisure suite, whose staft took the car away to park in the nearby local authority car park.

The room was absolutely fine, a little old fashoned in style perhaps. but clean, quite large and perfectly acceptable. Although it was at the back you could see through to the river. There was free wi-fi broadband, though it was a bit on the slow side in this room.

The leisure suite was great: nice modern pool of a decent size with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, though the latter was not working. There was also a fully featured gym, which we did not use, but it looked fine.

Bed was comfy, shower powerful and so down to breakfast the next morning. This was the usual mixture of the staff bring you toast and tea and you help yourself to everything else. Good selection of fruit and "continental" options as well as the usual heart attack stuff. All perfectly good. We got a nice table in the bay window looking out on the river and the comings and goings. Check-out was speedy and the car was fetched immeidately from the car park for us.

All in all, I had no complaints at all. Though perhaps not the style of decor I would choose it's hard to find much to criticise about this hotel and I'm a little surprised at some of the negative reviews. The price seemed fair to me especially considering it's right in the centre of Inverness and has good leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,788 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing