We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Inverness”
Review of Corran Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corran Guest House
Ranked #11 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here on 4 May for one night. Could not have been better. John was extremely helpful in every respect and also showed us a circular walk that we could do by the river which was really good. The location is also excellent as it's an easy short walk into town. The bed was incredibly comfortable, I think I had the best night's sleep in ages (and I do sleep well anyway!). The breakfast was excellently cooked and one of the best I've had in a B&B. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Corran Guest House to anyone and if I visit Inverness again I would certainly hope to stay again with John and Caroline - that's if they're not fully booked!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad you especially enjoyed your sleep and the Breakfast. It is great when Guests comment upon the location as we are walking distance to the City centre but yet in a quiet location. We hope the Boat trip was a success.
John & Caroline -Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed our brief stay in Inverness. We were warmly welcomed by John and Caroline. The breakfast was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable. There are delightful walks nearby, including along the River Ness and into the city centre. John and Caroline were eager to discuss our plans with us and advise us on the best places to visit. We very much enjoyed a late evening dinner at Rajah Indian restaurant that they recommended. We only stayed one night at Corran House, but we have very pleasant memories of our stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is very pleasing to receive positive reviews. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland and it was lovely to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Inverness for the first time and stayed at The Corran House for two nights. John and his wife were wonderful hosts and we felt like we we visiting family while at their house. The location was great; close to the train station and walking distance to the town center. The room was very clean and comfortable as was the rest of the house and the breakfast was delicious! We really enjoyed our visit and would recommend The Corran House without any hesitation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DRgirl_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It is very pleasing to receive such positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the indifferent weather compared to the Keys. Thank you. John & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We are impressed by everything here. Caroline and her husband is very kind and helpful. Rooms, actually the whole house, are very clean and the location is great to access every attractions in this town by car. Free car parking here too :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anupharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A decent sized single bedroom, which was clean and comfortable as was the single bed. Fantastic breakfasts every morning with an excellent menu. With very special hosts in Caroline and John. I must say they made me feel welcome from the very first minute of my stay to the very last. The guest house is in good repair and in a good location for access to town, taking a maximum 5 to 6 minutes at most to walk there (for me). Nothing was too much trouble! I can in all honesty say to any visitors who maybe looking for accommodation in Inverness to give Corran Guest House a try. I guarantee you would not in anyway shape or form regret the choice.

Room Tip: I had a single room however from comments from guests who were staying at the same time as myself in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graybosiddley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were so tired and relieved to get to the B&B as it was the first time for us driving in Scotland. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room. It was perfect. Large bed in a modern, spotlessly clean room and so comfortable. Both John and Caroline were excellent hosts and offered all kinds of information to make our stay perfect. They are located in close proximity to the down town and all amenities. Everything in walking distance and Inverness is beautiful. We stayed 3 nights and only wish it could have been longer. The breakfast was perfect and even the other guests were excited to be there and shared all of their tips. It was truly a perfect part of our trip. If ever back to Inverness I would definately be booking here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Caroline and I thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your holiday overall. Inverness is a lovely place to use as a base for a holiday.
John & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

John & Caroline offer a warm and friendly welcome into their beautiful home which is tastefully decorated and very clean and warm. The bedrooms are spacious, very comfortable and extremely quite. A great breakfast is awaiting you in the mornings setting you up for a great day to explore. The guest house is in a great location with easy walking access into Inverness city which offers great restaurants including Hootanannys, The Kitchen and The Mustard Seed. Eden Court is only around the corner and has a great little cinema and make sure you check out what is on before you visit as we were lucky enough to have a good laugh with Ed Byrne whilst on holiday. You can enjoy a leisurely walk along the beautiful Ness Walk taking in the pleasure of being by the water and enjoy a glass of wine at The Piano Bar. We had a great time and hope to be back again sometime, we highly recommend staying with John & Caroline at The Corran Guest House and thank them both so much for having us and making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: For total piece and quiet and a lovely spacious single room choose No4 you will have a great nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozricwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. The fantastic weather we had that week raised everyones spirits. You made best use of all the nearby facilities which are fantastic. We are glad you enjoyed your sleep in a quiet room. We hope all the rooms are just as quiet! Well done on completing the marathon.
John & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
1,880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Guest House

Address: 9 Montague Row, Inverness IV3 5DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corran is a family run Guest House situated close to the City Centre Restaurants and Bars of Inverness. On the ground floor we have a twin bedroom with private facilities. On the first floor we have 2 Double en-suite bedrooms and 2 single bedrooms which they only share a large bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully furnished with a relaxing atmosphere. We also have a lounge to use at any time during your stay. We have free parking and once checked in you can leave your vehicle and walk to your Restaurant, Café or Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Corran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing