We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Guest House
Ranked #116 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My family had a very enjoyable few days at Birchwood Guest House at the end of August. We booked the family room with the ensuite bathroom and our 11 year old loved the bunk bed! Jean and Donny made us feel very welcome and even surprised my husband on his special birthday with a cake at breakfast! With its family atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble. It was an ideal base for our Runrig concert as well as some very enjoyable sightseeing and activity days in the highlands. Thank you for making our trip so memorable. We highly recommend this accommodation. We hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

From start to finish a great place to stay, friendly, lovely room, extremely comfy bed ! delicious breakfast, will definately stay again when next in Inverness. Thank-You for a pleasant stay and putting up with all the Runrig revellers

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were staying near Edinburgh and we wanted to visit Inverness and the surroundings . We booked the family room for one night. Jean welcomed us very warmly ; the room was very clean and so was the house. Jean did her best to offer us what we wanted for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family have just got back from staying at Birchwood Guest House.I would most certainly recommend this accommodation . The location was perfect and the Quest house was lovely and clean inside . The family room was perfect for what we were looking for as having a teenage daughter and young son it is very difficult to find a quest house which will accommodate us all in one room. The room was lovely and spacious and bathroom was just as spacious . Jean and Donnie are fabulous hosts and nothing was a bother . Donnie does a mean cooked breakfast which set us up for the day . If you are looking for a Quest house with the perfect location , cleanliness and the feeling of visiting old friends instead of walking into a strangers home then this is the quest house for you . We will most certainly be back and look forward to seeing Donnie and Jean again for a short break :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family and I have been on the road for over two weeks seeing Ireland and Scotland and the Birchwood Guesthouse is our favorite stop so far! We have had the opportunity to stay in hotels, B&Bs and Guesthouses and thisnhas been the most comfortable yet. The house is clean, new and the owners' attention to detail is outstanding. We stayed in a family sized room that was bright, clean and rather large. A beautiful, spacious bathroom had a very large bath tub that my wife and daughters fell in love with.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and put on a HUGE Scottish breakfast but offered cereal and other familiar items for the kids. It really felt as though we were staying with a favorite aunt and uncle. The house is located near stores and fast food, but is in a nice, quiet residential neighborhood near two highways. We used an online hotel locator service to find them, and the price just couldn't be beat. It was simply the best value for our money of the last 13 accommodations we've used.

I cannot recommend them and higher than this. Do NOT miss this place if you are looking for comfortable rooms anywhere near Inverness!

-Gregg & Valerie Chrissakis
Hanford, California

Room Tip: Travelers from outside the UK would do well to stay away from boring hotels and seek out local Guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We are a family of five and stayed in the family room at Birchwood. It was brilliant. We had a fantastic welcome from Jean and Donnie, who made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic - we were able to get all the kids in the bath at once! Breakfast was a great affair - plenty of food for us all. We had a really wonderful stay in this very friendly family guest house. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Donnie and Jean made us both feel so welcome, they could not do enough for us, even a lovely tipple after the golf was a real surprise and oh so needed.
This is a great place to stay while visiting, sightseeing or even working in Inverness. The B&B was clean and comfortable with both Donnie and Jean there to see that everything was just so for our visit. The bed was comfortable unfortunately our room did not have an ensuite but the showeroom was very handy and clean. We have no reservation in recommending this great B&B

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
787 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,828 reviews
9.0 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Guest House

Address: Birchwood Culloden Road, Inverness IV2 5BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £83 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house close to Inverness city centre, just off the A9 motorway and within easy access to airport and bus and train stations. We offer accommodation in family room, double rooms, and twin bedded rooms; we also have a residents lounge. Some rooms have en-suite.All have t.v tea/coffee and free wifi.There is ample free private parking, and a regular bus service just outside the door ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing