We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of MacDonald House

MacDonald House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MacDonald House
Ranked #186 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had a great tour of Scotland with my parents, and stayed in this Guest house as a base for daily travels to other destinations. Well kept and very near to Railway station and eating joints and market, its near to the river Ness too. You are lucky if you get a room facing Ness. The bath rooms are kept meticulously clean. The breakfast is also good.

Room Tip: The ones facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romit_verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at MacDonald House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi
Well it looks as if you had a great stay with me.We would love to see you again in the future,if you ever come back to our neck of the woulds.Thank You once again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Located just along the River Ness, it is very convenient to walk to the main markets along and across the river. You can walk to the railway station. Stroll on the river is a beatiful and unforgettable experience. Fiona and her teams take great care of this beautiful property. Neat rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast all add to its value.

Room Tip: The ones facing the river (we didnt get one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Manager at MacDonald House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi
We all enjoyed having you stay with us. Your review is very warm and welcoming.Thank you,and we hope to see you again, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with family as our tour operators Scottish Tours couldnt get us accomodation in a hotel due to some festival.It was not a bad option. This bed and breakfast is very conveniently located along the river Ness. We couldnot get a room facing the river. The best part is the immaculately clean bathrooms, though bedroom looks a bit old. You are served a good breakfast with love. The main market, railway station are all walking distance .

Room Tip: The one facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayv1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Manager at MacDonald House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed you stay with me.If you ever come back to stay with me be sure and ask for a River View Room. These rooms go quickly so try and book early.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Due to work commitment for the past 2 years I have stayed at this B&B every Tuesday & Wednesday and have enjoyed every stay. Very friendly and great service from lovely Fiona, who cannot do enough to make your stay welcoming.The rooms(I have stayed in a few) are spacious and clean and are all equipped with all the amenities. Great location and I know where I'll be booking into if I am Inverness again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at MacDonald House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guest
I can not say that any more. For over the years you have stayed with me you have become a very good friend to me & my family,that we will all miss. I know we will always keep in touch you have touched my whole family's heart and will always be welcome any time. Love Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it. We had a great spacious family room, good size bathroom with bath (which my son loved!), good breakfast, friendly people, great view of the river all at a walking distance from the centre of Inverness. Fiona even dried our clothes!!!!! A huge thank you for everything:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at MacDonald House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a family run business and make every effort to look after our guests and it is encouraging to receive such positive comments. We are very lucky with our great views and central location for exploring the city and I do hope you have the chance to visit the highlands and stay with us again. With warm regards, Fiona.
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a family run business and make every effort to look after our guests and it is encouraging to receive such positive comments. We are very lucky with our great views and central location for exploring the city and I do hope you have the chance to visit the highlands and stay with us again. With warm regards, Fiona.

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a family run business and make every effort to look after our guests and it is encouraging to receive such positive comments. We are very lucky with our great views and central location for exploring the city and I do hope you have the chance to visit the highlands and stay with us again. With warm regards, Fiona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have just stayed for 4 weeks and have enjoyed every minute Fiona cannot do enough to help. This is a warm friendly family atmosphere and the food was fantastic and plenty.
Room was a good size and bathroom was very spacious. The room was clean and well maintained.
The hotel is in a great location next to the river and cathedral and only couple of minutes from the town with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.
I’m not sure how people can comment on any smells the only thing I encountered was the smell of a delicious full English/Scottish breakfast in the morning.
Would recommend to anyone
Thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a B&B, not a hotel, and the 4 stars are thus for B&B standards.
The location is great, right by the river and a 2-minutes walk to the town centre.
The place is a bit outdated and there is a stench of cigarette smoke (probably from the last century). The bathroom was very basic and we had problems getting any hot water.
Breakfast ok but not more.
We paid only £70 for a double room which was very reasonable.

Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
9.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDonald House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald House

Address: 1 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £80 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MacDonald House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MacDonald House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacDonald House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing