We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of my life!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGonagall's Steakhouse

McGonagall's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
McGonagall's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 252 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my partner ate here last Sunday. Best meal of our lives! Superb service and truly exceptional food. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    178
    81
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Steaks Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our stay in Inverness i had been looking for an excellent Steakhouse and came across Mcgonagalls Steakhouse. It is a small restaurant on Bridge Street. It is fantastic. The steaks were cooked to perfection, i ordered a medium rare ribeye and that`s exactly what arrived at table and the other steaks we ordered were cooked to perfection.
The staff were excellent and attentive but not overly so.
The atmosphere is lovely as it is not an overly big establishment, maybe 40 seats.
I would recommend however that you book your table as we were there on a Friday Evening and while we were there they must have turned away 20 walkins who hadn`t booked.
The only slight criticism i would have and this has been mentioned in another review is that we did have to wait for someone to bring the bill even though it was obvious we were waiting, however when you are putting out food of this quality you do not want it getting cold so i think you could live with this.
All in all a fantastic place to have a great meal and afterwards take a stroll along the banks of the River Ness. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here a few weeks ago. We all had something different, the food was excellent and all so hot. Only down side was the heat & noise inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Marske
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slurp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

On holiday in May we came upon this restaurant. Popped in and ordered lunch and it was gorgeous. Had a few little cheeky reds to go with it. We did not have to wait long and the food was hot. We were really happy with the service and the staff worked hard to ensure all guests were happy. Loved the poem on the wall very funny!! Would recommend a visit. we will definately return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my partner went to this restaurant last night and were extremely happy with our meal! The girls that worked here were lovely, we would absolutely recommend it.. Best steak ever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMcCall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGonagall's Steakhouse also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to McGonagall's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing