We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Night?”

McGonagall's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
McGonagall's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off Night?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate here during a long weekend in May. Nice decor, but service was poor overall. Our meal was brought out, but without the chips, which sat on the counter for over ten minutes, despite our attempts to make eye contact with the waiting staff, all of whom walked past the awaiting chips several times. Eventually one of the kitchen staff pointed out that service was required, and the rest of our meal was brought over without apology. Even getting the bill seemed to be hard work, and when it finally arrived it took equally as long for the card machine to arrive. Whilst it did become relatively busy towards the end of our meal, there were a lot of waiting staff for the number of occupied tables. The steaks were okay, but the overall experience was very disappointing given the other reviews here. Perhaps we visited on an off-night, but would consider other restaurants first when we return to Inverness.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSmitesCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    187
    83
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my partner ate here last Sunday. Best meal of our lives! Superb service and truly exceptional food. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Steaks Ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our stay in Inverness i had been looking for an excellent Steakhouse and came across Mcgonagalls Steakhouse. It is a small restaurant on Bridge Street. It is fantastic. The steaks were cooked to perfection, i ordered a medium rare ribeye and that`s exactly what arrived at table and the other steaks we ordered were cooked to perfection.
The staff were excellent and attentive but not overly so.
The atmosphere is lovely as it is not an overly big establishment, maybe 40 seats.
I would recommend however that you book your table as we were there on a Friday Evening and while we were there they must have turned away 20 walkins who hadn`t booked.
The only slight criticism i would have and this has been mentioned in another review is that we did have to wait for someone to bring the bill even though it was obvious we were waiting, however when you are putting out food of this quality you do not want it getting cold so i think you could live with this.
All in all a fantastic place to have a great meal and afterwards take a stroll along the banks of the River Ness. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was Excellent!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here a few weeks ago. We all had something different, the food was excellent and all so hot. Only down side was the heat & noise inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Marske
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slurp!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

On holiday in May we came upon this restaurant. Popped in and ordered lunch and it was gorgeous. Had a few little cheeky reds to go with it. We did not have to wait long and the food was hot. We were really happy with the service and the staff worked hard to ensure all guests were happy. Loved the poem on the wall very funny!! Would recommend a visit. we will definately return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGonagall's Steakhouse also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to McGonagall's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing