We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I so wanted to give this 5 stars”

McGonagall's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
McGonagall's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I so wanted to give this 5 stars”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Busy steak restaurant in Inverness City centre. Nicely kitted out and had a great buzz about it on the Friday night we visited. Had booked in advance so we're expected and seated by a friendly waitress. Drinks offered promptly and order taken things were looking good.

The staffing arrangements looked good with 3 waitresses on the floor and 3 chefs in the kitchen. For the covers it looked about right and they were turning walk ins away. Food arrived and was very good. My rare steak was perfect, in fact better than that, I'm not sure how they got it that good. Portions were fine as well.

So what was the problem. Well, it was organisation. Although we were served ok to start with it deteriorated. In the end we were given the dessert menu and then basically forgotten about. We gave up in the end and paid the bill and left.

The staff needed some order and discipline in how they worked, it looked like a free for all with all three waitresses serving all the tables. Someone previously mentioned that part of their meal was left on the counter. I can completely see how that happens probably quite regularly. It's a shame.

One other thing that was a bit gross really. Where we were sitting you could see into the kitchen. One of the chefs picked up a teatowel, wiped his hands on it then wiped his face with it THEN started wiping plates with it. I'm sure worse things go on in kitchens but you don't want to see it do you.

I'd give it another try though because the food was great. Hopefully be able to give it 5 stars next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    191
    89
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our waitresses were wonderful, keeping an eye on us and if they felt we needed attention, they arrived at the table. The only negative comment I have to make is that the chips were frozen and not home made which I found very disappointing for a restaurant of such good quality food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone even the non red meat eaters as they have an excellent alternative menu as well. We will be back when we visit Inverness again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off Night?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate here during a long weekend in May. Nice decor, but service was poor overall. Our meal was brought out, but without the chips, which sat on the counter for over ten minutes, despite our attempts to make eye contact with the waiting staff, all of whom walked past the awaiting chips several times. Eventually one of the kitchen staff pointed out that service was required, and the rest of our meal was brought over without apology. Even getting the bill seemed to be hard work, and when it finally arrived it took equally as long for the card machine to arrive. Whilst it did become relatively busy towards the end of our meal, there were a lot of waiting staff for the number of occupied tables. The steaks were okay, but the overall experience was very disappointing given the other reviews here. Perhaps we visited on an off-night, but would consider other restaurants first when we return to Inverness.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSmitesCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my partner ate here last Sunday. Best meal of our lives! Superb service and truly exceptional food. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Steaks Ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During our stay in Inverness i had been looking for an excellent Steakhouse and came across Mcgonagalls Steakhouse. It is a small restaurant on Bridge Street. It is fantastic. The steaks were cooked to perfection, i ordered a medium rare ribeye and that`s exactly what arrived at table and the other steaks we ordered were cooked to perfection.
The staff were excellent and attentive but not overly so.
The atmosphere is lovely as it is not an overly big establishment, maybe 40 seats.
I would recommend however that you book your table as we were there on a Friday Evening and while we were there they must have turned away 20 walkins who hadn`t booked.
The only slight criticism i would have and this has been mentioned in another review is that we did have to wait for someone to bring the bill even though it was obvious we were waiting, however when you are putting out food of this quality you do not want it getting cold so i think you could live with this.
All in all a fantastic place to have a great meal and afterwards take a stroll along the banks of the River Ness. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGonagall's Steakhouse also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to McGonagall's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing