We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, small hotel but filthy mold all over bathroom” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Court Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent, small hotel but filthy mold all over bathroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Arrival experience: Arrived early afternoon. Front desk clerk was welcoming. We did not have a reservation, and I was able to negotiate the “list” rate down to the internet rate (ten pounds less).

Room (general): Decent room with separate bedroom (en suite). Small TV, clean pine furniture.

Bathroom: Bathroom had a full-size tub with shower. It would have been nice if the ceiling hadn’t been covered in mold and the tub hadn’t been moldy.

Bed: below average bed.

Housekeeping: Bathroom cleanliness was sub-par, hovering (vacuuming) was ok.

Restaurants: On site bar and restaurant. We did not eat there.

Grounds: good parking and clean.

Pool: n/a

Staff attitude/service: Nice.

Parking: free on site

Misc: Easy walk to key sites in Inverness and very close to the Inverness Castle.

For some high-res photos of this hotel, check out my photos on Flickr. My username on Flickr is utfiero.

About us: We’re irreverent, younger American professionals who travel regularly.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utfiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    50
    38
    32
    20
See reviews for
40
73
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were booked in, through Laterooms, to stay a night in this hotel. When we arrived they had no booking for us. Where it all went wrong I have no idea but there we were having driven 125 miles and no where to stay. The receptionist telephoned around and managed to find us bed and breakfast for the night, it was more expensive but the Crown Court hotel made up the difference. What could have been an horrendous start to our short holiday was rectified, what more could you ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Ok for a one night stay...bathroom and bedroom needed a good clean....bins still had rubbish in from previous guests although bed was freshly made. Evening meal acceptable, staff very friendly. Cheap and cheerful at best! Not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broombankUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a birthday party at another hotel. Arrival was excellent, met by pleasant staff and directed to our room. Which was clean and tidy if a bit dated. Our room was located above the entrance to the public bar which could be an issue if you were spending all night in the room which we weren’t so no problem for us. Breakfast next day was excellent and no issues booking out.

Ok hotel and fitted our needs.

Room Tip: avoid the room above the entrance to the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubique341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

the location is between the city center and Raigmore hospital. Both are in walking range for the fit! There is a quirky one way system around the hotel to confuse those not familiar with Inverness. The hotel always feels like it is about to fall apart at the seams, but hasn't on the visits I've had on the company. My room was a modern type vision of beige. An average size and comfort. The tv cable stretched across the window. Nothing is awful about this place, but like my old school reports, it could do better. The breakfast has a buffet of mini boxed cereals, tinned fruit etc. Cooked breakfast is brought to you / cooked to order. Evening meal is of the pub food variety rather than fine dining, look to Rocpool, The Musdard Seed et al for the later. The waiting staff are good bar workers, with the lively pub attached. But their waiting skills perhaps need updating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DyslexicPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. On arrival the gentleman couldn't find the key to the room so he had to let us in with his main set. The room was large, nice bed, enough cupboard space, television, chairs, bathroom was very clean. Went out to have something to eat and was told there would be a key when we returned. On our return - no key! Seemingly the person beforehand had taken it away with them. So, the gentleman had to let us in once again. I live in a very out-of-the-way rural village with hardly any noise at any time of the day or night so I do notice noise when it is there. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had a room on the main road but it didn't seem all that noisy to me - there was noise obviously, but not as bad as some others have made out. The breakfast was very nice, nothing out of the ordinary but it was edible and tasty - what more can you ask? Plenty of space to park your car as well. All in all, nothing brilliant but it is comfortable and clean and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed here with a few friends while touring Scotland on motorbikes. The Hotel is clean and simple, little bit dated but the prices reflects this.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food in the bar is excellent and the location is just a walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.6 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#31 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Court Hotel

Property: Crown Court Hotel
Address: 25 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Court Inverness
Crown Court Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing