We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”
Review of Crown Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Court Hotel
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed one night after having a nightmare of a hotel in Nairn. Very impressed,great food, lovely room with a great power shower and friendly service. Well worth the money compared to other hotels in Inverness and will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel, the room looked like on the pictures. Despite the central location rather quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and were pleseantly suprised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for family wedding. As stated in previous reviews, the rooms are a bit dated and could do with "tarting up" a bit but they're only for sleeping in! We had Room 10 which is above the bar entrance and also faces the main road but can't say we noticed much traffic noise. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Someone commented that the breakfast wasn't huge? We had full breakfast both mornings - 2 sausages, 2 bacon, black pudding, half tomato, beans, half slice fried bread, mushrooms and choice of fried/scrambled/poached egg, toast. Believe me - it was huge! The reception was held here and I couldn't fault it. Well organised, excellent 3 course meal and buffet later on. Had excellent bar meal on Friday night on arrival. Baskets meals - make sure you're hungry though! Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was staying in a nearby b and b and decided to go to the restaurant in the Crown hotel as I did not want to walk back into town. The service was absolutely appalling. There was one man who was trying to wait at tables and serve at the bar. As a result the whole process was very slow. He then said that relief was at hand as somebody else had arrived to help. However I did not notice any significant improvement. I had the pate which was good and the steak and ale pie which was also good, although some gravy would have been nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a nice little hotel with very pleasant rooms. It sits on a corner of a very busy junction but the car park is easily accessible. Staff were friendly and helpful. In the evening we had dinner and the food was excellent. Highly recommend it. The menu had a good selection. The bar next to the restaurant was populated by locals who were very friendly. The location is good as it is only about a 15 minute walk into the city centre. Check in and check out was smooth with no problems. The breakfast is also worth trying. Overall very satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel has potential, being conveniently located and having a pretty exterior. Much work has also been done to the dining area. One would only hope that staff get better trained to give guests a more friendly welcome, and some general refurbishment be given to the rooms, assuming that accommodating people is the core business of a hotel. The sheets were immaculately clean, but the interior design was haphazard, the fitted carpet had seen better times (or to spell out: looked dirty), but worst was the bathroom - mold all over and an outrageously filthy toilet seat. This is what I call poor performance, and I am stunned to have seen that this hotel won a young hotelier award. I wish the proprietor sufficient skill and money for a rapid improvement!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Looking for somewhere new to have dinner, we tried the Rannoch Bistro, Lounge Bar in the Crown Court Townhouse Hotel. It has been a few years since we went there and it didn't disappoint.
The restaurant was full when we arrived so we were sat in the bar. Both member of staff who served us where very friendly and chatty. The décor is simple and atmosphere chilled, it was a pleasant change from some restaurant who try to hard. We were after a good hearty meal somewhere relaxing; with emphasis on good quality food rather than the show.
We had steak and Ale pie with vegetables, good size portion, the steak was delicious, falling apart with a stork of the fork in an rich velvety sauce, topped up by a light fluffy pastry and a selection of vegetable and potatoes. We only had the time for one course that day so we are planning to go back for one of the meal offer evening.
This has great potential for being a regular place to visit, it seems to be the local for quite a few people already. Can wait to go back and tried starter and pudding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isandygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#21 of 36 in Inverness
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#14 of 36 in Inverness
660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#33 of 36 in Inverness
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#22 of 36 in Inverness
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Court Hotel

Address: 25 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Court Inverness
Crown Court Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing