We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 01:00
Save
Review Highlights
Decent pint, decent food.

Dropped in here to watch the champions league game and grab a bit of dinner. The food and drink is... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sy1441
,
Hamilton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great place

Went in for a drink and something to eat friendly efficient bar staff not a big menu for food but... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
sandyd507
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 192 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Inverness
from US$67.40
More Info
from US$46.20
More Info
from US$64.70
More Info
from US$54.20
More Info
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
77
44
15
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
44
15
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub scottish music fantastic music efficient bar staff singing and dancing cracking pub pint of lager traditional bar bar maid bridge street staff were really friendly all ages visiting inverness isle of skye schiehallion accordion rory
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to see Schiehallion playing on Saturday 3rd November 2018 on way home from Orkney. I have both their CDs. Music was fantastic and the atmosphere brilliant but once the bar was full, the bar staff were only concerned with serving locals and had no intention of serving visitors. The bar was 3 people deep but the staff avoided eye contact and only served people they knew. After a full 20 minutes at the bar we left and missed the second half of the set.

Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gellions, Manager at Gellions Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Graeme, and thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately we had a number of very short-notice staff absences due to illness that weekend which resulted in occasional service wait times that were not to our usual high standards, so please accept our sincerest apologies. If you can get in touch via email we'd be happy to make it up to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in here to watch the champions league game and grab a bit of dinner. The food and drink is great value and the customer service is excellent. Food was ok but the place could do with a clean. Would probably pop back in, live music sounded good.

Thank Sy1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This bar was my local when I lived in inverness and it was a great bare. Good stag great pint. Went in today at was standing at the bar for 20 min and never got served. Bar staff were more worried about glasses, filling bottles (that didn’t need filled) and cutting fruit. Place is a joke now.

1  Thank dannyson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went in for a drink and something to eat friendly efficient bar staff not a big menu for food but what we had was the best we've had so far in Inverness I had the fish and the wife had baked potato with cheese and onion both dishes very tasty great place with a good atmosphere just what a pub should be like certainly will go back.

Thank sandyd507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our hotel recommended this spot to enjoy some live Scottish music while in town. We popped in for a quick beer before dinner to listen to the lively music. Got talking to some Irish guys at the bar and became fast friends. Some Scottish gals got us all out on the dance floor in record time. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming to us Americans. We were having a great time during the hour we spent here but reluctantly had to leave to join our tour group for supper. Loved this place!

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stopped in for a beer because we saw a sign advertising traditional Scottish music. The music didn't start until much later than the advertised time, but we just hung out in the back and had a few beers. This is definitely a dive bar, but the bartenders were friendly and the beer was cold, so what more could you want? We ended up making friends with some Scottish dudes who took us on a mini bar crawl after, so we had a great night!

Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We attended Gellions for the finishing party of the Inverness or Bust Rally.
We had over 40 people attend the evening and they all had a great time. The staff were really friendly and the live music was terrific.
We hope to return soon.

Thank sidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Dropped by Gellions on a recommendation, was not disappointed, great live group, playing good Scottish music, the place was busy, a good sign that everyone knows that it is a worthwhile venue!

Thank phillip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The hauntingly-mesmerising accordion music coming from inside Gellions drew me in. More tourists followed suit. Enjoyed listening to Ruaridh whilst supping a pint of lager.

Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We visited Gellions on several nights and we had a great time on each visit. The staff was great, good service and the place was always packed. This is a great stop and we met many fun people here.

1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gellions, Manager at Gellions Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Harry, thanks for visiting and taking the time to review us, we're glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews