We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3 star but choose a good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good 3 star but choose a good room”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst exploring Inverness and the surrounding area. The hotel does indeed have some good facilities - some free, parking, good restaurant, small swimming pool, wifi etc. However, we found our twin room very small, the beds extremely hard, you needed to be under 5 feet tall to use the shower properly (and if it matters to you, only 4 channels on the in room TV), no guest guide etc. So, as the other reviews say, for leisure this is probably a good hotel representing good value for money but if you are used to something a bit more modern it may not be for you and if the quality / size of your room is important then suggest you ring and book one of the 'larger rooms with comfortable beds' that the other reviews mention rather than taking pot luck of booking online as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    172
    82
    29
    16
See reviews for
109
197
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mstyson
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at the Craigmonie Hotel a few days ago and can thoroughly reccomend it. The food was 1st class, the staff were so friendly and the accommodation was great, we had a family room which overlooked the pool, my son loved it! Will definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Had a very nice stay here in March. Only downside was that the heating went off in the room and it was very cold, but we asked for extra quilts so slept well, just a wee bit chilly jumping in and out of the shower. Pool looked lovely, just a shame I didn't get to use it, and the breakfast was great. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Just retuned from the Craigmonie Hotel in Inverness where we enjoyed a three day break.Staff very friendly can't praise them highly enough,guests comfort is their priority.Breakfast was super with choices to suit most people.Varied menu served in pleasant dining room.We didn't use the pool and fitness centre but those who did seemed to enjoy it.Special thanks to Laura,for her help and patience re:booking problems,this made our life easier and we are grateful.Thanks to all staff and we hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Stayed in a suite over Easter weekend on B&B basis.
The staff couldn't have done more for us. the hotel is 10 mins walk from ton centre, has free wifi, free parking, leisure pool, restaurant, bar etc etc. the rooms we had were very large and comfortable and even had a view over the leisure pool. Breakfasts are buffet style with limitless choice. We took dinner one evening in the hotel (when it was raining) and although the restaurant was quiet (due a wedding in the other function room) the service was excellent and the food very good.
Our 3 yr old daughter keeps asking when are we going back to Inverness?
Despite it being a long drive we hope to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

If in Inverness and you don't stay at this little hotel, you're nuts! Yes I agree that the hotel is very dated and in need of a makeover but this adds to its charm. It is situated in a quiet area yet is close to the city centre and it has ample free parking.
From the moment we arrived we were treated royally by all the staff. They were all very friendly and could not do enough for you. Everything they do is very efficient and done with a smile. We had a small double room on the first floor, it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The room had flat screen TV, telephone, tea, coffee and shortbread, free WiFi, and was comfortably warm from the ajustable heating.
The food is excellent and breakfast was particularly varied. The bar has a nice open fire, large flat screen TV (if you want to watch) and the drinks are reasonably priced.
There is a small swimmiing pool with a sauna and I think a jacuzzi as well., which is free to guests. We didn't use it this time but those who did seemed to really enjoy it.
There is a small residents lounge with a roaring fire and we settled in here on Sunday morning for a quiet read of the papers.
Local things to do....a cruise on Loch Ness can be arranged and a trip to the Eden Court Theatre for a show was a great way to spend one of our evenings. Loads of nice restaurants in and around the city centre as well.
We certainly will go back and perhaps a little longer next time>

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordnorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We were on a long weekend break for our anniversary in Inverness.
As always we checked out hotel reviews on trip adviser,and many of
the reviews were very positive,so we booked up and well we were glad
we had chosen this hotel.

The hotel is in a quiet street,there is ample car parking facilites in the hotel
grounds,The rooms are on the large side,and very warm,with free wi-fi if required.
you also have a flat screen tv,with freeview channels,tea and coffee and shortbread
which is a nice touch.

The beds are so comfortable,and the breakfast selection in the morning is awsome
you are spoilt for choice.,the hotel even has a free yes free sauna and swimming pool
for the guests.which in my opinion is fantastic,as other hotels I have been in charge five pounds to use their facilites.

So If you ever visit Inverness I do not think you will find any better value,the hotel is clean
comfortable,and the staff are freindly, And I know that we will definatley be going back for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowHaggishunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Property: Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Address: 9 Annfield Road, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmonie Hotel And Leisure Ltd.
Craigmonie Hotel Inverness
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing