We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Visited Inverness en route further north &decided to stay over. Chose the Craigmonie Hotel from googling Inverness Hotels &are definately happy that we did. As Premier Inn was looking for £80 B&B we decided to check out traditional hotels chose this one. We have a very clean, modern room in a well presented hotel in a lovely area. We have dined in the conservatory which has a very pleasant, relaxing atmosphere and have both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. They were perfectly cooked, presented &portioned. There is a very comfortable lounge bar with a 'real' fire. Our room is adequately sized with a sparkling bathroom with shower &toiletries. It is traditionally furnished, unmarked & spotless :-) The staff have been very helpful both at reception &at dinner...looking forward to breakfast now! The pool is very inviting so we're sorry not to be using it...THIS VISIT! Would most certainly return &thoroughly recommend the Craigmonie.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed for one night en route to Harris. We booked 2 rooms and we had a dog with us. We had stayed at the malmaison in glasgow ther night before so we were not expecting to be impressed. The hotel is in a lovely resedential area and has plenty of parking. The staff were very nice....some very young but cheerful and competant. The swimming pool was a big hit with the children and its a bonus. We ate at the hotel and the food was fine and well priced - not michelin but fine! The public areas are nice and old school - its in keeping with the building! Ther rooms were good with very nice bathrooms and they were spotless. We got free wi-fi which was also a bonus. The only downside is that you have inconsiderate neighbous it is noisy - upstairs went to the bathroom about a dozen times - LOUDLY! For one night though we didn't care. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna26Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed two nights in a suite, with a double bedroom upstairs and living room with two single folding beds downstairs. The room was clean and tidy, with plenty towels and toilettries. It was part of the pool building, overlooking the pool, making it quite hot, especially at night. The only down side is that the furniture in the room is old fashioned and you can see stains from previous water leaks on the ceilings. We had dinner at the hotel and it was a pleasant experience. Dinner is served in the conservatory, very nice in summer evenings. Food was nice, with good service. Breakfast is served in an inside room overlooking the pool, making it hot too. The bar area is welcoming and confortable, although some chairs seem a bit "tired". You have free wifi access from this part of the hotel. Finally you have access to a pool, situated in a building with a glass roof, making it very bright.
The hotel is situated near the center of Inverness, in a quiet area, with plenty parking.
Finally, as regular clients of hotels in Scotland, we appreciated the fact that staff was hired locally, which is not often the case.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jura4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Initial impression of the Craigmonie was good with friendly and helpful staff. However, room was a big let down. Very small,shabby, unbearably hot and with paper thin walls. As we did not sleep a wink the first night due to the heat and a man snoring loudly in the next room we asked to be moved for the remainder of our stay. This request was dealt with by reception politely and efficiently and although our second room was a bit better, it was still really small for two adults and two dogs. The restaurant food is okay with reasonable prices. Breakfast is buffet style with a wide choice of items but again the room is unbearably hot. Would advise having breakfast early though as at ten o' clock on the dot (the time breakfast is advertised until), the staff of the hotel all turned up for their own breakfast leaving us feeling really akward and in the way. On a final note, despite the hotel advertising itself as dog friendly, there are no facilities for dogs (such as waste bins, somewhere to walk the dogs etc). In conclusion, the hotel is okay but wouldn't rush to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed here for one night while on business as our usual hotel, ' Kingsmills' was full. We had a standard room which was very small, very dark and dull. Our only window faced on to the hotel extension the windows of which were so close I could have touched them, had to keep curtains drawn for any privacy . Room looked to have been recently refurbished, however bed was uncomfortable and the carpet was badly stained and quite unpleasant. Breakfast was good, with a huge choice of scottish produce including haggis and tattie scones!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed here when my son was married at the end of April, rooms were excellent as were the staff,who were all very pleasent.
The hotel was always very clean as were the rooms as we stayed for 2 days meals were very good and everything was well layed out.
Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst exploring Inverness and the surrounding area. The hotel does indeed have some good facilities - some free, parking, good restaurant, small swimming pool, wifi etc. However, we found our twin room very small, the beds extremely hard, you needed to be under 5 feet tall to use the shower properly (and if it matters to you, only 4 channels on the in room TV), no guest guide etc. So, as the other reviews say, for leisure this is probably a good hotel representing good value for money but if you are used to something a bit more modern it may not be for you and if the quality / size of your room is important then suggest you ring and book one of the 'larger rooms with comfortable beds' that the other reviews mention rather than taking pot luck of booking online as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#16 of 36 in Inverness
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Address: 9 Annfield Road, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £69 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmonie Hotel And Leisure Ltd.
Craigmonie Hotel Inverness
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing