We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a great time at this hotel over Christmas and Boxing Day to see family and do some shopping.

Check in: Done through a self service machine with a staff member there to help you, very quick and efficient.

Rooms: Very clean and what you expect from Premier Inn.

Restaurant: Only had breakfast on Christmas morning which was great.

Staff: First class, nothing too much and always had a smile on their face.

Definitely Recommend!

Room Tip: Had a view of Ben Wyvis, spectacular on a clear day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stowelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William V, General Manager at Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year and I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

William Veidemanis
General Manager
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    496
    130
    30
    14
See reviews for
432
670
98
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and it was faultless. The staff are first class, kind and helpful. The rooms are great and the location perfect. Considering that this was over a Christmas period, the staff worked as if it was any other day and no compromise was necessary. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William V, General Manager at Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your repeat business with the hotel.

I was delighted to hear you fully enjoyed your stay and I certainly appreciated your kind words regarding my team.

I hope you had a great Christmas and wonderful New Year!

Kind Regards,

William Veidemanis
General Manager
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights over Christmas including Christmas Day and really enjoyed it here.

Great location, just across the River a short walk to the city centre.

Breakfast was really good and I was very surprised the restaurant was fully open for all the hotel guests.

Staff were all very friendly and approachable.. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smithy12500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William V, General Manager at Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

It was nice to hear you took advantage of the hotels great location and breakfast, which I hope, helped make your Christmas special this year.

Thank you once again for leaving a review and hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,

William Veidemanis
General Manager
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Highlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year on Christmas Eve and gave it a 5 star rating - sadly (as I am a Whitbread shareholder) I can only manage 2 stars this time. The staff were friendly enough (and even gave all the guests a Christmas card - a nice gesture) but the (understandable) use of skeleton staff over Christmas caused its problems. I am a clergyman and returned from Midnight Mass at Inverness Cathedral at around 1.15 am. My room was nice and warm (it was a storm outside), but I tried to turn the heating down before retiring to bed. The lowest the thermostat would go was 19 degrees. (I don't like the heat, and keep my central heating thermostat at 18 degrees during the daytime at home.) So, I decided to turn the heating off and open the window. Not the best idea, because music was floating across the river from some night club - driven no doubt by the storm. However, I woke at 4.15 am to peace and quiet, but I was roasted. I decided to phone the 'friendly reception team' and see if anything could be done about the heating. I was surprised to find no phone in the room, but used my mobile and dialled the number given on my 'we're just a call away' card. What did I get? The Milburn Road Premier Inn which is over a mile away! Not much use, but when I managed to persuade the (polite) person on the other end that I was not staying in Milburn Road he said he would try to contact River Ness for me! At 4.30 am the night porter from River Ness arrived in my room, admitted that it was rather warm, but was unable to get the thermostat any lower than 19 degrees. He said he would try and do something to the heating for the entire hotel from the ground floor controls, but it had no effect! I arrived to take the 11.00 am service at St Michael's church in a very tired state. Fortunately, I managed to hide this from the congregation and led a festive service, but I almost fell asleep watching The Queen's Christmas Message when I got back home. It is one thing roasting the turkey - quite another roasting one's guests.

I suggest that the hotel routinely check the heating controls in each room when they are being prepared for a new guest. It is sleep quality and cleanliness which I value most whenever staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William V, General Manager at Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am disappointed to hear you did not fully enjoy your second stay at my hotel. You have left a very detailed review and I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the points you raised.

The first point you raise is regarding the thermostat in the room that would not go lower than 19 degrees. I can confirm this is the specification used by the hotel in the room and is aided by an additional control panel to help keep a constant temperature in the room. In this instance I would only recommend opening the window in the room but I fully understand the problem you had with the nightclub across the river. This is not normally feedback I receive in the middle of winter but I will certainly speak to my maintenance team and try and come up with a solution.

The second point you raised was regarding the telephones and the phone number given to contact reception. I can also confirm that the telephones were removed from the bedrooms at the end of the October after extensive research was conducted to find that they were seldom used. I must extend an apology to the difficulty you had trying to contact the hotel during the night. The phone number given was indeed incorrect but I have replaced these cards and provided a local area number to avoid charges from 0870 numbers.

The final point you raised was regarding my team and I am certainly appreciative of the kind words. I have spoken to Claire, my Reception Manager, and she informed me she put up the time for the various services at the local churches and had contacted you previously to make your stay more enjoyable. These are things I expect from all of my team and I am happy to hear she did not let me down on this occasion.

Once again, I apologise for the problems you encountered while staying at the hotel and I can guarantee this is not the norm at Premier Inn River Ness. Thank you once again for leaving a review and please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel should you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,

William Veidemanis
General Manager
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent location on riverside only a few minutes walk from old town centre and within walking distance of Eden Court Theatre, railway station and bus station. Modern hotel. Continental breakfast excellent although thought full breakfast a bit pricey.
Would definitely stay again. Comfort of city/town centre premier Inns can't be beaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed there for a couple of nights this week, and it was just fine. In fact, I thought it was excellent for a 'budget' hotel. All the staff I spoke to were very pleasant, the room was a good size, clean and warm. I liked the 'selection' of pillows on offer so you could choose soft or firm. The bathroom was also clean and in good condition, and there was plenty of hot water.
I did not actually make use of the bar or restaurant, but they did look quite inviting.
The location is very handy for the town centre with its shops, eating places and transport links. I travelled up by train, and it was only about 10 minutes walk from the station.
Well worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMunro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

stayed at this particular hotel for the first time after receiving very good reports which had not been exaggerated. Staff friendliness excellent. Would definitely stay there again. Parking availability is limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Address: 19 - 21 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#1 Family Hotel in Inverness
#2 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Best Value Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT INFO: There is limited parking at this hotel which is allocated on a first come, first serve basis and is chargeable. Please note there are road closures around the area. Please note there can be noise disturbance due to the location of this Premier Inn. Please note all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Feast your eyes on incredible views from the Premier Inn Hotel Inverness Centre (River Ness). With an amazing panorama of the River Ness and Inverness Castle from the front of the hotel and great attractions nearby, you'll find plenty to inspire you. Get a taste of the Highlands in one of Scotland's most buzzing cities. Savour the chance to see Nessie in person at Loch Ness, or bite into some traditional Scottish fare. Enjoy some food for thought at Eden Court Theatre, or indulge in history at Inverness Castle. Then come back to some even tastier treats at our Thyme restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing