We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blazing log fire awaits you, a true home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
Nottingham
2 reviews
“A blazing log fire awaits you, a true home from home”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As soon as you walk through the door, you're greeted with a friendly smile and a cheery Hellooo welcome, nice to see you. Beds are comfy, showers hot running water and very clean. Kitchens equipped with everything you may need, although i only used it for breakfast and the odd cup of tea. Inverness has an abundance of restaurants and eateries on offer. The main hub is probably the lounge with a blazing fire roaring away, well we are in Scotland and it was the end of October. The place was buzzing with people from around the world, a great chance to find out about things away from your front door. I stayed here for 4 nights and would not hesitate to come back. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Taeke

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
We were incredibly lucky to have you come and stay with us - we enjoyed the banter and of course the fabulous hand made chocolates that you brought back for us!

Need I say we are already eagerly awaiting the next business trip back up to Inverness - let it be soon - or at least not too far into the future! Trust you got back down the road safely and we'll look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    55
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
14
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here again for the marathon weekend for 3 nights this time. A great cosy atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk to the centre of the city and a 20 second walk to a great pub (The Castle). Efficient check-in, very friendly staff (even though got up early (still dark) again for us runners on Sunday morning to lay out breakfast). Comfy bed, small kitchen but wasn't an issue as nice chats whilst prepping. Free wifi and as much free tea/coffee and hot chocie are added bonus. Have entered to do the run again next year, so will be booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you Phil for such a lovely review - it was great seeing you again this year.

Also glad to hear that you'll be coming back again next year for the Baxter marathon - we'll look forward to seeing you then and hearing how South America went - not at all jealous about that by the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had an amazing stay this summer at the Inverness Student Hostel, Paul and Lynn took such fabulous care of me as a single woman traveler. They gave great ideas of things to do during the day, took me out on adventures in the evening and became my friends. The facilities and location are great at this hostel, but it's really the people there that make the experience unforgettable.
To the staff: Thank you so much for the hospitality, this place is one of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Och - that put a smile on all of our faces towards the end of a busy Summer - thank you for such a lovely review!

We'd have told you when you left that we're looking forward to your next visit to Scotland and hopefully the Inverness Student Hotel!

Get planning that next trip and if it's Scotland even better, and if not - enjoy the next adventure!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hostel had a really friendly, cosy feel to it. I liked the decoration and the input from other travellers, the rooms were okay, nice showers and helpful staff.
It was important to me that there is parking for your car and you can walk into town really quickly.
The only negative thing was that the kitchen is really small and gets too busy at dinner times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Many thanks for such a lovely review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Our kitchen isn't called 'intimate & friendly' for no reason - that's for sure!
It does get cosy - especially in the Summer months - sadly we can do nothing about the size, however we're hoping to give it a face lift this Winter once it quietens down and do try and keep it well stocked with herbs and spices to try and distract people from it's size constraints!

Once again we do appreciate all feed back and certainly hope the rest of your travels went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I loved this hostel. The kitchen, the common room, everything although tiny is very comfortable. Lots of guides, bus timetables, brochures, board games, etc.

But Iona (or Yona?), from the reception, is the reason why I'm giving this hostel a five star review. She was very, very, very helpful. One couldn't be more helpful and friendly. I say this because she helped me to plan my trips, to book my day-tour to Isle of Sky and, most of all, to find a place to stay instead (long story. Want a tip? Never pop up in August without a reservation, as I did).

Latin knows, Iona!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claucio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
What a beautiful review - we made sure that Ainhoa read it. We call her the Basque pocket rocket and what a welcoming person to have greet you on reception for sure!

It is lovely getting reviews so complimentary especially after such a busy summer - so many thanks.

I hope the rest of your trip went well and we'll look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My son recently stayed at this property, which I chose with only the information available here on Trip Advisor. In his words, "it can't compare to a B & B but it was pretty standard for a student hostel." There was free tea and coffee, the staff was friendly and the wifi was dependable. If you value privacy, this might not be for you, since the bathrooms are co-ed. But the doors lock and the other guests were mostly accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangiaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review on behalf of your son.
When carrying a heavy bag - just under a 10 minute walk can feel a lot longer I do admit!

When in shared accommodation - it all depends on your room mates - so it can be hit and miss with snorers etc, however it is a budget way to travel.

I hope your son enjoyed his stay and I'm sure he'll be welcome back any time should he choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was cycling through Inverness and arrived looking like a drowned rat. Paul went out of his way to help me dry out and get sorted including locking my bike away safely. He and the team made me very welcome, the bed was comfortable, the tea and coffee was free and the breakfast was a bargain. Great location close to the castle and the town centre. Before leaving Paul helped me sort out my onward route with maps and printouts, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Tom

Thanks for such a lovely review.
Paul is certainly a smiley, happy face to be greeted by on reception and is so passionate about the outdoors he loves sharing his passion and knowledge with others.

We hope your cycling trip is going well & that the weather has improved for you - it's been dry with us so fingers crossed! We'll also look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit - be it in a few days or a future adventure!

Thanks again for such lovely feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#25 of 34 in Inverness
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#17 of 48 in Inverness
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness Student Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Student Hotel

Property: Inverness Student Hotel
Address: 8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inverness Student Hotel has a terrific outlook over the river and the city to the hills beyond. It's a cute building with real character and a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Our comfortable dormitory rooms have between 5 and 10 beds in each room that come complete with full bedding and 2 comfy pillows! We have a spacious common room with big Victorian style windows that offer stunning views over the River Ness. It is a great place to meet like minded travelers, whilst enjoying all the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate you can drink! You can also relax in front of our beautiful real fire and take advantage of our FREE WiFi. The Student Hotel staff are always very friendly and approachable. We can help you book your tours, recommend places to visit and most importantly we know the hidden gems of the city to ensure you a memorable time in Inverness. We can arrange bike rental and will send you on your way with free maps to help you discover the magnificent beauty that is....Loch Ness! If you do see Nessie, don't forget to mention that you're staying with us when you talk to the press!Also, if you are completing the Great Glen Way and need a bed to rest your weary legs then you are in luck as we are only 100m metres away from the finish line. Hurrah!! We are also only 10 minutes walk from the Train and Bus Station and a quick 5 minutes walk into the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inverness Student Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Student Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing