We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the greatest...”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here in early December, 2013.

The rooms, in my opinion, the most importaint part of staying in a hostel or hotel ect, sucked - a lot!
The beds were very unstable, the sheets were dirty and on one of the bunks in our room there was no ladder. The people who we happened to be sharing with, my friend and i are pretty sure were living there, and had no consideration at all about how their clothes and belongings were scattered all over the floor. I would also like to add that on one occasion a staff member walked into out room, observed the HUGE mess, and nothing was done over the four nights we stayed there, even though we made clear we were uncomfortable having someones dirty undies right next to our bunk.

The staff were not the best, a bit rude at times and in my opinion very unprofessional. The manager however was pretty nice and always welcomed us back after we were out all day.

The bathrooms are disgusting and were not cleaned regularly, but thats to be expected i suppose.

The breakfast was good, and the free tea and coffee is a nice touch. The kitchen is in poor condition and gets very busy around dinnertime.

Due to my experience here, i would not recommend, especialy since we could have gotten a cheap hotel in the area for the same price we payed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review & post some photos.

I am sorry that you weren't happy with your stay & I do appreciate that the mess in our long term girls dorm is a little poor to say the least. It does not look like that now I can assure you.

Long termer guests are accepted in our hostels - especially during the quieter Winter months and it can sometimes be a constant battle to contain their belongings neatly. I assure you that we do ask them regularly to keep things tidy - but when they are busy working the room can get out of hand at times.

I can imagine that the staff member in question would probably have expressed exasperation at the mess - as we had asked the guests in question regularly to clear up their belongings... they were trying to contain it as best possible under the bunks believe it or not!

I can also assure you that our bathrooms are cleaned daily and checked regularly - our cleaners work incredibly hard to ensure a high standard of cleanliness.

We are an old building and tired often gets mistaken for unclean.
The kitchen is small - however we believe well stocked - to try and compensate for it's size and again we clean it several times throughout the day.

I do appreciate your comments and with regards to the manager being quite welcoming - perhaps a quiet word with her may have resolved these issues immediately? We could have moved you to another dorm room to try and ensure a happier stay for you both.

I do hope the rest of your travels went well and I am glad that we managed to get your bank card to you before the last Christmas post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    53
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
14
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago for 3 nights and again last night with a group. What a lovely wee hostel! The staff are so friendly and helpful - nothing seems a problem, they got breakfast prepared for us crazy early just for us. The prices of the accommodation, breakfast and everything is really good value. We arrived quite late and were really taken by how relaxed and warm the place felt. The fire, so nice ambient tunes and people seemed so chilled. Clearly they are recruiting the right people. – brilliant, hence 5 stars

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrassmarketCafeTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review - it has perked everyone up no end!

You know that you will always be welcome back - especially when you bring the Winter sunshine with you!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Cozy, welcoming and warm just few meters from Inverness Castle and the city center. You can't beat their 2 pounds breakfast with any place in the city, be sure to hit the kitchen in the morning. Only downsides were the room a little cold during the night and the wifi that was down for most of our stay (2 nights). I would suggest.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi There

Thanks so much for your review - we always appreciate feedback of all types.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast - it's convenient when people are passing through over night instead of lugging supplies around - so great to hear that it was appreciated.

I will say that I am sorry if you were a wee bit cold during the night - the radiator should have been on in the room - especially at this time of year so apologies if that was an over-site on our part. If we'd known, we'd have come up to put it on, or given you extra blankets - so please accept apologies on that front.

Many thanks again - we'll hopefully welcome you back on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I found this hostel to be very homey and welcoming. It had a nice atmosphere, good common room and kitchen. The rooms and bathrooms are very basic an probably in need of an upgrade, but nevertheless I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us.
Also great to hear that you found us homey and welcoming - we do certainly try to make it a home from home.

Our hostel is an old building so in need of some TLC - however I'm hoping that if you come back for another visit soon you will see a few changes as this Winter we're going to spruce it up with a lick of paint and some new windows once things quieten down.

Watch this space!!
Enjoy the rest of your trip and once again thanks for giving us some feedback - we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As soon as you walk through the door, you're greeted with a friendly smile and a cheery Hellooo welcome, nice to see you. Beds are comfy, showers hot running water and very clean. Kitchens equipped with everything you may need, although i only used it for breakfast and the odd cup of tea. Inverness has an abundance of restaurants and eateries on offer. The main hub is probably the lounge with a blazing fire roaring away, well we are in Scotland and it was the end of October. The place was buzzing with people from around the world, a great chance to find out about things away from your front door. I stayed here for 4 nights and would not hesitate to come back. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Taeke

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
We were incredibly lucky to have you come and stay with us - we enjoyed the banter and of course the fabulous hand made chocolates that you brought back for us!

Need I say we are already eagerly awaiting the next business trip back up to Inverness - let it be soon - or at least not too far into the future! Trust you got back down the road safely and we'll look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here again for the marathon weekend for 3 nights this time. A great cosy atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk to the centre of the city and a 20 second walk to a great pub (The Castle). Efficient check-in, very friendly staff (even though got up early (still dark) again for us runners on Sunday morning to lay out breakfast). Comfy bed, small kitchen but wasn't an issue as nice chats whilst prepping. Free wifi and as much free tea/coffee and hot chocie are added bonus. Have entered to do the run again next year, so will be booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you Phil for such a lovely review - it was great seeing you again this year.

Also glad to hear that you'll be coming back again next year for the Baxter marathon - we'll look forward to seeing you then and hearing how South America went - not at all jealous about that by the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had an amazing stay this summer at the Inverness Student Hostel, Paul and Lynn took such fabulous care of me as a single woman traveler. They gave great ideas of things to do during the day, took me out on adventures in the evening and became my friends. The facilities and location are great at this hostel, but it's really the people there that make the experience unforgettable.
To the staff: Thank you so much for the hospitality, this place is one of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Och - that put a smile on all of our faces towards the end of a busy Summer - thank you for such a lovely review!

We'd have told you when you left that we're looking forward to your next visit to Scotland and hopefully the Inverness Student Hotel!

Get planning that next trip and if it's Scotland even better, and if not - enjoy the next adventure!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#25 of 34 in Inverness
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#19 of 47 in Inverness
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness Student Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Student Hotel

Property: Inverness Student Hotel
Address: 8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inverness Student Hotel has a terrific outlook over the river and the city to the hills beyond. It's a cute building with real character and a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Our comfortable dormitory rooms have between 5 and 10 beds in each room that come complete with full bedding and 2 comfy pillows! We have a spacious common room with big Victorian style windows that offer stunning views over the River Ness. It is a great place to meet like minded travelers, whilst enjoying all the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate you can drink! You can also relax in front of our beautiful real fire and take advantage of our FREE WiFi. The Student Hotel staff are always very friendly and approachable. We can help you book your tours, recommend places to visit and most importantly we know the hidden gems of the city to ensure you a memorable time in Inverness. We can arrange bike rental and will send you on your way with free maps to help you discover the magnificent beauty that is....Loch Ness! If you do see Nessie, don't forget to mention that you're staying with us when you talk to the press!Also, if you are completing the Great Glen Way and need a bed to rest your weary legs then you are in luck as we are only 100m metres away from the finish line. Hurrah!! We are also only 10 minutes walk from the Train and Bus Station and a quick 5 minutes walk into the town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverness Student Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing