We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inverness Leisure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inverness Leisure is the largest sports, leisure and recreation facility in the Highlands of Scotland. Welcoming over 1 million visitors every year it is a major attraction in this part of the world.Our facilities offer access to leisure waters with flumes, river and pool as well as a conventional 25 metre 8-lane competition pool. We also have excellent fitness facilities, with the largest studio programme in the north of Scotland supplying over 110 classes every week.Inverness Leisure also boasts two dedicated indoor climbing walls; one for bouldering and the other for lead climbing with some awesome overhangs. In addition, we have a large sports hall that accomodates 8 badminton courts or two football pitches.We can cater for major conferences or meetings and have excellent catering facilities which use local, ethically produced and Fair Traid products where possible.Come along and have a chat with one of our friendly team members who will be more than happy to show you around or give you some more information about Inverness Leisure.Fun|Friendly|Family|Fitness
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Inverness Leisure has 2 large swimming pools, Gym and studio. Climbing wall, plus sports hall. If you need to use up some energy this is the place to do it.

Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the facility and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Inverness Leisure clearly offers a wide variety of services. The gym is well equipped however the machines could be kept a little cleaner. The staff were friendly enough, although somewhat slow at reception. The vending machines often break, and on more than one occasion have broken - causing a hassle for me having to ask for staff to open it to get my money out. The lockers can sometimes also swallow money. The 'fun pool' is good, and the flumes are also fun, which children clearly enjoy. The lazy river is also fun, however rings are a little dirty. I was particularly disappointed, however, with the failure to warn us when the fountains came on. Although they are enjoyable when on and the complaint may be silly, mine and several young other children do get an awful fright when they come on, spurting up unannounced. The cafe/bistro - although recently refurbished - is also substandard. The sandwiches, for instance, have been packeted for days and the tables hadn't been cleaned. In conclusion, they do offer a great variety of services and are generally good value, but certain aspects could be improved to make the most of a venue with so much potential.

3  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the facility.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be advised to our management team in order that the issues you have highlighted can be addressed.

Should you have any concerns when visiting in the future please feel free to bring them to the attention of the Duty Officer so they can be dealt with promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Firstly my friend who comes swimming with me can never get a disabled parking space (although she is a badge holder) because the spaces are already taken by non badge holders. The reception staff are painfully slow. If you are welcoming over a million visitors per year you would think the staff would be fairly quick at dealing with customers. The gym equipment is shocking its dangerous and I'm amazed nobody has been seriously injured. The downstairs strength and conditioning room has no air conditioning or water dispenser. The tv's on the cardio equipment are a joke and there are machines in there that I've never seen anybody use. Surely it would make sense to remove these and make some space considering the free weights area is tiny. The lockers are too small to fit a normal size gym bag in and several of them don't lock and swallow your money. The vending machines are also faulty and are normally half empty anyway. Now to the swimming pool section and where do I start. Dirty changing rooms (quite often nappies lying about) the smell in general is disgusting. The pool is cold and the rings for the rapid river are mouldy and look discoloured. I've complained several times about all these things but nothing seems to change its a shame because facilities like this if run and maintained correctly are great fun. But Inverness Leisure is far from either.

Thank BonnieScotland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to submit feedback on your use of the facility.

We are sorry to hear of the various concerns you have and would like to offer you the opportunity to meet with one of our management team in order to go through all the points raised - please give us a call on 01463 667500 to arrange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It's always busy and fun for the kids. I didn't particularly like the cleanliness of the showers but because we are Highlife Card Members from another area of Scotland, it costs us nothing to go and I feel this is a great deal!

Thank myislandhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the facility.

We are sorry if the standard of cleanliness of the shower area at the time of your visit was not all that you hoped for - if you have a problem when visiting then please feel free to contact the Duty Officer who will be able to resolve the issue for you promptly.

Good to hear you are enjoying the benefits of High Life membership and hope to see you along again at some point!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Every time We go to inverness my boys ask to go swimming while other years have been trouble free this years trip wasn't with out a few problems. We phoned to ask prices and we got told that the slides were not working over one week later still not on but we still went just for somthing to.
On arriving we got told we could not pay by card as the machine was broken. So after a ten minute drive to a cash point all was good.
We did have a good time still loads of people there so be warned if you have kids don't let them out of your sight its easy to get lost if its busy.
All I am saying is ring first to make sure everything your wanting is working if it is you will have a good time.

1  Thank StuConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your recent visit.

We are sorry to hear of the issues that spoilt your experience and can advise that both have now been resolved.

The delay with the flume repair was as a result of having to wait for parts and our card payment system was down for a short while an upgrade took place.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inverness Leisure also viewed

 
Tain, Ross and Cromarty
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing