We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sports centre - great pool and flumes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inverness Leisure

Inverness Leisure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inverness Leisure is the largest sports, leisure and recreation facility in the Highlands of Scotland. Welcoming over 1 million visitors every year it is a major attraction in this part of the world.Our facilities offer access to leisure waters with flumes, river and pool as well as a conventional 25 metre 8-lane competition pool. We also have excellent fitness facilities, with the largest studio programme in the north of Scotland supplying over 110 classes every week.Inverness Leisure also boasts two dedicated indoor climbing walls; one for bouldering and the other for lead climbing with some awesome overhangs. In addition, we have a large sports hall that accomodates 8 badminton courts or two football pitches.We can cater for major conferences or meetings and have excellent catering facilities which use local, ethically produced and Fair Traid products where possible.Come along and have a chat with one of our friendly team members who will be more than happy to show you around or give you some more information about Inverness Leisure.Fun|Friendly|Family|Fitness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely sports centre - great pool and flumes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Swimming pool - Great flumes for all the family. Outdoor section of the pool too!
Good track facilities though we didn't use them.
Bistro offered nice hot food for a snack.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank relaxedholidaygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to the facility, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. The outdoor pool is always popular - especially when the weather is cold for some reason!

Hope to see you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    21
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kids loved the pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My teenage boys loved the flumes and the two pools .A little further out of town than we thought but a great place to spend a cold February afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the facility, your feedback is very much appreciated.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and will return at some point - it is even better in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Inverness Leisure has 2 large swimming pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Inverness Leisure has 2 large swimming pools, Gym and studio. Climbing wall, plus sports hall. If you need to use up some energy this is the place to do it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the facility and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Inverness Leisure clearly offers a wide variety of services. The gym is well equipped however the machines could be kept a little cleaner. The staff were friendly enough, although somewhat slow at reception. The vending machines often break, and on more than one occasion have broken - causing a hassle for me having to ask for staff to open it to get my money out. The lockers can sometimes also swallow money. The 'fun pool' is good, and the flumes are also fun, which children clearly enjoy. The lazy river is also fun, however rings are a little dirty. I was particularly disappointed, however, with the failure to warn us when the fountains came on. Although they are enjoyable when on and the complaint may be silly, mine and several young other children do get an awful fright when they come on, spurting up unannounced. The cafe/bistro - although recently refurbished - is also substandard. The sandwiches, for instance, have been packeted for days and the tables hadn't been cleaned. In conclusion, they do offer a great variety of services and are generally good value, but certain aspects could be improved to make the most of a venue with so much potential.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the facility.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be advised to our management team in order that the issues you have highlighted can be addressed.

Should you have any concerns when visiting in the future please feel free to bring them to the attention of the Duty Officer so they can be dealt with promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A badly run, dirty, smelly facility”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Firstly my friend who comes swimming with me can never get a disabled parking space (although she is a badge holder) because the spaces are already taken by non badge holders. The reception staff are painfully slow. If you are welcoming over a million visitors per year you would think the staff would be fairly quick at dealing with customers. The gym equipment is shocking its dangerous and I'm amazed nobody has been seriously injured. The downstairs strength and conditioning room has no air conditioning or water dispenser. The tv's on the cardio equipment are a joke and there are machines in there that I've never seen anybody use. Surely it would make sense to remove these and make some space considering the free weights area is tiny. The lockers are too small to fit a normal size gym bag in and several of them don't lock and swallow your money. The vending machines are also faulty and are normally half empty anyway. Now to the swimming pool section and where do I start. Dirty changing rooms (quite often nappies lying about) the smell in general is disgusting. The pool is cold and the rings for the rapid river are mouldy and look discoloured. I've complained several times about all these things but nothing seems to change its a shame because facilities like this if run and maintained correctly are great fun. But Inverness Leisure is far from either.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonnieScotland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit feedback on your use of the facility.

We are sorry to hear of the various concerns you have and would like to offer you the opportunity to meet with one of our management team in order to go through all the points raised - please give us a call on 01463 667500 to arrange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inverness Leisure also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing