We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rabbit warren in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Hayward, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A rabbit warren in Inverness”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As part of a package tour, this hotel was a real disappointment. the floor plan is so convoluted and it would take a week to get it all in memory. third floor rooms look straight out of the 1950s and our room had a view of a filthy alley. Fixtures need updating, water pressure is low and you had to run the water for several minutes to get any hot. Bed must have been made in the 1930s- squeaky and more squeaky if you moved at all.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve32480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a stay with us recently. I was pleased you enjoyed our service and will pass on your ratings to our team. I am sorry if you had difficulty finding your way around the hotel, we do have signage in all areas to direct guests. I am also sorry if you did not enjoy all aspects of your room and view, we have many different types of rooms and views and I do hope you raised this at the time as I am sure my team would of done their utmost to offer you a different choice. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. With best regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    395
    313
    174
    128
See reviews for
140
633
58
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Room was part of a tour package and I will be contacting C.I.E. as soon as I return home. While some of the group were satisfied with renovated rooms, ours on the third floor was not and at best was unacceptable. It was small, noisy, cramped, and extremely dated. The wall and ceiling paint was cracked and peeling. The bathroom was not particularly clean, and had no towel bar or any place to put toiletries. There was no room for two suitcases to be accessed without placing them on the desk top. There was no light bulb in the fixture near the only chair that could be used to sit and read. The room was heated by two wall hung units that were noisy and made for disturbed sleep. There is more but why bother. I can't wait for the AM to move on. Could never recommend this place "as is" to anyone. Too bad, because the location is quite nice.

Room Tip: Try another place of lodging - period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabe0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a one night stay with us. I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us and that you found the room not to your liking. I do hope you gave us the opportunity to try and re-alloacte your room as my team would of done their utmost to offer you a more suitable room, as we do have many different room types, with a more modern style. I do hope you enjoyed the rest fo your trip around the UK and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again. With best regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, oh my god if ever a hotel was in need of refurbishment its this one. Rooms on third floor are grubby, filthy wallpaper, paper coming away from roofs, hole in wall, filthy windows, also tiles in shower in need of fresh grout and beds creak and are lumpy. How this hotel is classed as 4 star is beyond me, i would rate it as a1. The breakfasts were ok not very hot, but meals in the bar area were really good, would recommend eating in there. Would only return to this hotel for meal but definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Once again, I am sorry that we did not meet all your expectations with your room. As you know we have already been in contact with you and after speaking with my team on sunday, offering you an alternative room, to which you declined, all I can do is offer my apologies again and I hope you do return to us, as I know we can be remembered for the right reasons.
With best wishes, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This used to be a good place for an evening meal and a bit of entertainment. My wife and I had a pre theatre supper which was just about ok however the plates of food looked thrown together and were not exactly warm.

The biggest problem was that the gents toilets were filthy (630pm) and had obviously not been cleaned for hours. Every single urinal was overflowing - absolutely disgusting. I reported this to the reception desk immediately but by the time we left nothing had been done. Apart from anything else this is a serious breach of health and safety. (And management cannot blame the hotel being busy as it wasn't).

I'm ashamed to be associated with Inverness if this is the level of welcome we offer guests from outside the area.

I shall not return to the Columba.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment regarding a visit to the hotel. I am sorry that we had an issue with our gents toilets on the ground floor. We did have an issue with 3 urinals and as a result had to block them off as the problem could not be solved on this evening. We do have two cubicals in this area, for guests to use and toilets lcoated on our first floor. I am sorry if this blemished your visit with us and would hope that you would understand that problems do happen and whilst we do try to resolve any maintenace issues as soon as possible, sometimes this can not always be the case. I would hope this would not deter you from visiting with us again and I hope I we have the chance to welcome you back.
Best regards, Amy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Could only stay one night this time round as we were just stopping over to see family.
Another good stay. We had one of the newer rooms at the back of the hotel this time - the bathroom looked new.
Good staff and breakfast and hotel looked after our luggage whilst we nipped to the shops.
Will be back soon, December hopefully.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest, Welcome back and what a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed another good stay and will share your very kind words will all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for one night as there was a problem with my booking at the next door Best Western hotel.

I would normally have rated the hotel as four out of five, however I was paying a premium to stay in this area due to a local conference, and would have expected friendlier reception and staff in general as well as being a little more helpful considering the situation.

(I don't know what was going on in the area as I overheard at least four other people in similar situations where they had booked into one hotel and then been moved here instead.)

As far as the amenities at the hotel itself are concerned, the room I had overlooked the river at the castle, unfortunately it was a little wasted on me due to the times I was in the room I was working.

Room was very large with an extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was a good size as well, but an odd mix of modern(ish) and antique fittings. Shower was a bit cramped.

All in all, a decent hotel, a little dated perhaps but that is to be expected from this type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments following a recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall your enjoyed your stay and that you were able to have one of our rooms overlooking the river and the castle. I do hope that if you are staying in Inverness again, that you will book with us and it would a great pleasure to welcome you back again. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My mom and I stayed here while on Insight Vacation's Britain and Ireland Discovery 26-day tour. The location is the best thing about this hotel. The beds were very old and hard with broken springs. They were very noisy with any movement you made while sleeping. The wallpaper and carpeting was old and dirty. The breakfast was just okay. Excellent view of Inverness Castle though!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a one night stay with us recently. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel but was sorry that your found the bed not to your liking. We are are old hotel, we date back to the 1800s but we do have some more modern rooms if this is more to your liking. Thank you again for your feedback, as we all feedback we monitor this and make changes where necessary. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the UK. Best regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Property: Columba Hotel, Inverness
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing