We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columba Hotel, Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

very tidy and friendly hotel. very clean. couldn't fault anything about the stay. only issue was parking. would try and arrange parking if you have mobility issues. I was in a room on the third floor which some have criticised yet I had no issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest, WOW thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay with us and my team will be equally delighted you had a good time. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    371
    290
    159
    112
See reviews for
130
585
53
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter (aged 4) and I recently stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed a lovely stay. Our room was on the second floor and and in my daughters words was 'lovely and cosy'. We had no concerns with the standard or cleanliness of the room. At breakfast, all our requests were met by the friendly and responsive staff. We would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ldaw2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was deligthed you enjoyed another great stay and your kind words will be shared with my team. I hope we have the chance to wlecome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

How sad that my fav hotel has let me down big time this last weekend. Have always enjoyed staying here but we were put in room 317. My advice if your given this room. Say NO NO NO. The windows were very very draghty and we had to put cushions in front of the windows to try to stop the cold air howling in. Bathroom was worse. Icing to the cake was no hot water so had no shower or bath the two days we stayed. We did get a heater to help heat up room. The manager was very nice and offered us a chance to go to another room to shower but we said no as had no time as our table was booked. Wish we had as what was promised as being fixed asap it still wasnt when we left. Food was luke warm and had to put back my starter to be reheated. Mind you if their was hot water I wouldnt have fancied having a bath in the freezing bathroom. We said to girl on checking out our problems and we got £20 of our bill and was told manager would look into it and phone on monday. Now 8pm and no phone call. Feel £20 off for a terrible room with no heating or hot water an insult. The worst bit is we are booked to go back in with two other couples in march as I recommended the hotel. Will have to rethink our plans I think!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go to room 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Est1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am so sorry that this visit has not been so enjoyable and again, I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay. Unfortunately, we did experience a few maintenace problems which are now fixed, but just sorry we could not get them resolved during your time with us.There can be no excuses for any shortfall and I do hope you will return to us in March and please do feel free to contact me direct so I can make sure we tick all the boxes this time. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on hogmany as it was close to the event, good location and that's where it ends! We received a room on the 3rd floor , came through double doors and there was a bucket collecting water from the roof, that was the 1st warning signs.. Opened the door and it had to be the smallest room I'd stayed in in my life, the heating had broken so they had put a small convector heater in which gave out very little heat , no double glazing so any heat went right out the window, small double cramped in between small gap, thought I'd been put in cleaners cupboard..very shabby , paper hanging off wall in corner, no chance of a shower as water stone cold...bar ok, dj played great music I didn't want to go to event, bar prices quite expensive....got up for breakfast and it was very poor.. Had to ask for milk for tea and sugar!! Didn't enjoy it one bit and service was terrible..I visit inverness every 6 wks..last stayed at hotel across the river ..what a difference...travel lodge a lot better and cheaper and cleaner!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of the stay and I do hope you spoke to one of the team at the time as I know my team would of done their utmost to try and alloacte you a different room given the chance. It is always a great disappointment to read a guest has left unhappy and I am very sorry. I will share this feedback with my team and correct what we can immediately. I hope we may have the chance to welcome you back as I know we can be remember for the right reasons. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights over Christmas and had a lovely time. We had a river view room which is definately worth paying the extra for as the view itself was stunning. I was delighted to find a proper hair dryer in the room which was every bit as good as my one at home! I can't be doing with those hand held hose things! Location is excellent as you are just across the bridge from the city center so a minutes walk and you have all the shops, bars and resturants you need. Handy for our last minute shopping! Despite it being a city center hotel we were never bothered by any traffic noise etc as the street the hotel is on is a one way, very quiet street. The staff we saw were welcoming and friendly, always ready to chat with us and make us feel at home despite it being a busy time for them. We really liked the Scottish feel to the hotel, with it's traditional but modern decor in the public areas, the big sweeping staircase leading upstairs and Macnabs Bar which we enjoyed a few drinks in. I definately think Macnabs Bar could do with a cosy fire of some sort in it as it was a little draughty at times, I would have sat all day on the leather sofa with a good book, drink in hand had it been a wee bit warmer in there as it's a really lovely bar. We both really enjoyed our stay and would happily go back again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a river view room. With stunning views along the River Ness, the twinkling lights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for a lovely review following your festive stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be shared with all my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I had a pleasant stay here. The room
was good considering the price paid of £45. The room was clean although the fittings were quite old. Good central location. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. All in , I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time and your kind words will be shared with my team, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back son. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The room was a little dusty, but not as bad as some of the reviews here.
The bar is nice, has a few drinks and I had a good night sleep.
The rest of the hotel and my room was a little dated, and needed an upheaval.
The breakfast in the morning was poor, I had some pancakes that weren't fully cooked.

I don't know how much my room cost, but it would have to be sub £40 for it to be acceptable

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MacD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a stay with us in October 2013. I was pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and your valuable feedback will be used to ensure we continually improve on all aspecs of our products and services. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon, With kindest regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Property: Columba Hotel, Inverness
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing