We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the town center, Inverness Castle, Railway station, river walks and restaurants. The room was very big with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom and with a fantastic view across the Ness River to Inverness Castle. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. We also had free Wi Fi. The staff also were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimArcherNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your very kind words will be shared with all my team. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location for a weekend in Inverness . Fabulous large room looking onto castle and the river Service at breakfast let hotel down although breakfast was very good would recommend poached haddock with poached egg

Room Tip: Ask for view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recetn stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and and that you enjoyed the food, I am sorry that you felt service at breakfast was not up to our high standards and I will ensure we taken this on board. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. With warm regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel last night, room was noisy from people moving about on the floor above and lots of noise from the street with someone hammering something at midnight, not that the hotel could be blamed for the 3rd party noise.

The bed was uncomfortable and wakened both my wife and I every time we moved, this seemed to surprise the receptionist as he insisted it was a new bed, we had no sleep at all and I suggest that the hotel change their procurement contract and buy the beds elsewhere.
I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry if you were disturb by noise from antoher room. I am also sorry if the bed was not to your liking, all our beds are new but I appreicated that it is a very personal choice and sorry we did not delvier the comfort factor for you. I do hope we can welcome you back again. With best regards,Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel would be much better if the staff were more friendly. The food also needs some major improvement. However, you can't beat the scenery or location along the River Ness. I would not stay her if I visited the the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that you found team unfriendly and it is certainly not in character to the reviews we get. I am sorry if you found this to be the case and please do contact me direct so I can gain some more feedback from you as it certainly is not what we strive for. With best regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night last week and from the moment I checked in to check out this place was great. Checked in very efficiently with all the information provided by the receptionist, the room was realy nice. Had a big comfy bed, plenty fluffy towels, big widescreen tv, large well appointed bathroom and of course the lovely view of the river and castle. We decided to go for a wee drink. We were going to go into town but deceided to give macnabs a try. Wecwere greeted by a young man behind the bar and after taing our drinks order he said he would take them over to us if we were to take a seat. When he came over with them he made conversation with us asking what teason our visit for inverness was for. He also had good knowledge of the area advising us where to go for a night out. The following morning we went down for breskfast and we were delighted with tbe hot buffet on offer which was well stocked and hot. You could go back and fore as many times as we wanted and we were offered ore tea or coffee by the pleasant waiting staff who didnt seem stressed out at all even though the restaurant was nearly full.
Overall a good stay in a hotel wirh character which is very rare these days as a lot of hotels now adays are very clinical and all the same. But not this one. We will definitely be back to the columba on our return to Inverness.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest, WOW, thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you had a good stay with us. Your very kind words will be shared with my team and it really is great to have the team mentioned in this way. I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very nice, very clean room. Good shower and lovely big fluffy towels. The breakfast was very good. Staff were really helpful and pleasant. The dining area is huge and well laid out.

We had our evening meal in the bar, the food was lovely and staff were friendly and quick.

The only minus with our stay was the bed being rather creaky but it wouldn't put me off going back there as everything else was so good.

We went a walk along the river as it was a beautiful morning. It's in a lovely spot. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your kind words will be shared with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The excellent riverside location is definitely a plus point, however, I don't think I would stay here again. My husband and I booked a last minute night away at the Columba and on first impressions I thought we had bagged a real bargain as the entrance, reception and bar areas are all very smart and modern. Our room was small and has a tiny television which is quite unusual in most hotels nowadays. There was also a draft coming in the old sash window as it was not fully closing which prompted a visit to reception and the duty manager coming to close the window. Even after this, I was still aware of a draft. There was also an intermittent buzzing noise coming from somewhere which was very irritating but for me the most annoying thing was the thin cream roman blind which hung in front of the window. The blind did not block out any light which resulted in a very disturbed nights sleep for me. Breakfast was okay but nothing special.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am sorry if you were disturbed by a draft from the window and will look into this immeidately. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcomg you back, we do have many different room types and styles to offer. When you are next visiting call us direct and we can see if we can upgrade your room type for you. With best regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#14 of 36 in Inverness
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £45 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness By Compass Hospitality Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing