We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room and a lovely city..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only a one night visit to this hotel. Very nice room and staff polite. Self service breakfast was good. Nowt really bad to say about the place. Inverness is a lovely city, great for the tourist. Downside was the McNabs bar next to the hotel. Very expensive (£9 for a Morgan's & coke and a vodka & coke!) We went to the nearby Bella Italia where we got a superb meal. We will go back to Inverness as fair few things we want to do and see. Overall the hotel was nice, clean and great views of the river ness..

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and your very kind words will be shared with all my team. Our bar prices do reflect the 35ml measures that we serve currently here but fully take on board your comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
There are newer reviews for Columba Hotel, Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Following a trip to Spain we decided on a few days away in our own country.
Normally we would drive but decided on coach travel instead. Great idea, no stress, no worries. Sit back and enjoy the scenery.
We arrived at Inverness around mid day. The Columbus is a 6 minute walk away. Reception was quiet. We were advised of a check in time of 3.00pm. Although late the other side is a late check out of 1.00pm. Our room was very comfortable but the view was of rooftops only.
The breakfasts were very good indeed. We had dinner included in our offer. It was a 3 course with coffee. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent. The dining room staff were quite brilliant. The two ladies were Polish and lovely people who chatted with us. We felt quite at ease.
Weather was not kind to us so that's a great excuse to visit again.

Room Tip: One to the front overlooks the river Ness.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist01Escocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the team looked after you. You kind words will be shared with my team who will be over the moon with your feedback. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the town center, Inverness Castle, Railway station, river walks and restaurants. The room was very big with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom and with a fantastic view across the Ness River to Inverness Castle. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. We also had free Wi Fi. The staff also were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimArcherNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your very kind words will be shared with all my team. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location for a weekend in Inverness . Fabulous large room looking onto castle and the river Service at breakfast let hotel down although breakfast was very good would recommend poached haddock with poached egg

Room Tip: Ask for view of castle
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recetn stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and and that you enjoyed the food, I am sorry that you felt service at breakfast was not up to our high standards and I will ensure we taken this on board. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. With warm regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel last night, room was noisy from people moving about on the floor above and lots of noise from the street with someone hammering something at midnight, not that the hotel could be blamed for the 3rd party noise.

The bed was uncomfortable and wakened both my wife and I every time we moved, this seemed to surprise the receptionist as he insisted it was a new bed, we had no sleep at all and I suggest that the hotel change their procurement contract and buy the beds elsewhere.
I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry if you were disturb by noise from antoher room. I am also sorry if the bed was not to your liking, all our beds are new but I appreicated that it is a very personal choice and sorry we did not delvier the comfort factor for you. I do hope we can welcome you back again. With best regards,Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel would be much better if the staff were more friendly. The food also needs some major improvement. However, you can't beat the scenery or location along the River Ness. I would not stay her if I visited the the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that you found team unfriendly and it is certainly not in character to the reviews we get. I am sorry if you found this to be the case and please do contact me direct so I can gain some more feedback from you as it certainly is not what we strive for. With best regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night last week and from the moment I checked in to check out this place was great. Checked in very efficiently with all the information provided by the receptionist, the room was realy nice. Had a big comfy bed, plenty fluffy towels, big widescreen tv, large well appointed bathroom and of course the lovely view of the river and castle. We decided to go for a wee drink. We were going to go into town but deceided to give macnabs a try. Wecwere greeted by a young man behind the bar and after taing our drinks order he said he would take them over to us if we were to take a seat. When he came over with them he made conversation with us asking what teason our visit for inverness was for. He also had good knowledge of the area advising us where to go for a night out. The following morning we went down for breskfast and we were delighted with tbe hot buffet on offer which was well stocked and hot. You could go back and fore as many times as we wanted and we were offered ore tea or coffee by the pleasant waiting staff who didnt seem stressed out at all even though the restaurant was nearly full.
Overall a good stay in a hotel wirh character which is very rare these days as a lot of hotels now adays are very clinical and all the same. But not this one. We will definitely be back to the columba on our return to Inverness.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest, WOW, thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you had a good stay with us. Your very kind words will be shared with my team and it really is great to have the team mentioned in this way. I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 35 in Inverness
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 35 in Inverness
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 35 in Inverness
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 35 in Inverness
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £58 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing