We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$158
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
224
441
359
204
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
441
359
204
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermcnabs barinverness castleexecutive roomitison voucherroll top bathcathedral car parkbuffet breakfasta river view roomeden court theatrecity centreshort breaklovely roompubshighlands
Filter
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

4 stars? You are joking. No fridge in the room and shower didn't work properly (fixed on day 2!). Heating was unbearably stuffy and in spite of it being cold outside we had to have windows open. Staff had absolutely no interest that this was our honeymoon, or doing anything more than the minimum in terms of service. To top it off we wanted to eat at a restaurant called Mustard Seed near the hotel and I asked for directions from reception, I asked whether we needed to book and she said we would be fine. It was fully booked. What a bunch of chumps. If you like impersonal service this place is for you. Asked us at check whether we were happy and I told her politely that I wasn't - I just got a blank look.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluerskiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Thank you for your comments made on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found our Reception Team unhelpful.
Please be assured that we take all our guests comments seriously and that full re-training has been carried out with our Reception Team to ensure that there is no re-occurrence of your experience.
Our maintenance manager has rectified the issues in your room.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed here over the halloween disco night. The rooms were lovely, Beds and carpets clean. Not too much traffic noise and beautiful views over the river and castle.
The staff were very helpful both in the restaurant and at reception. Food was delicious. Really above average on all accounts!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syt_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Convienent to shops and resturants. Parking is located a few hundred meters off site which became a problem lugging bags in the rain to the Hotel.
Bed was hard, mould on the roof of the bathroom and paint peeling on the walls. Not what I'd call value for money

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This was a celebration package which we booked, excellent value for money. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast, the good thing about breakfast being buffet style was that you could have as much or as little as you wanted. Excellent stay expecially as it was for my graduation. I would definately recommemd this hotel, we would definately stay here again so central for everything. Staff were great from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

we arrived and were well greeted, and given room 317. This was a small room under the roof eaves with signs of damp on the ceiling. The decor was not good and the bathroom tiny. On complaint we were given the choice of two further rooms, choosing the one most suitable to our needs(room 224 a three bedded room) This room was clean and tidy with a lot more space than 317, but was dark and tired with dull decor and dark furniture, overlooking the street to the rear of the hotel. This street, as we found out, is where the service vehicles arrived at 0645 hrs every morning, collecting refuge from the hotel and surrounding shops, also the laundry delivery point to the hotel. The noise from these vehicles was horrendous. Definately no need for an early morning wake up call.
The breakfast was buffet style, the plates being cold and the food only luke warm, with the same selection every day. The waiters appeared to be more interested in clearing and resetting used tables than removing used dishes from tables in use, leading to a lack of space on the table. After breakfast on the first day we decided to have dinner outwith the hotel during the remainder of our stay.
As a twentyfirst wedding anniversary break we were extremely disappointed.
This hotel in my opinion is not a 4star, the AA have got it wrong.
The only 4star and the saving grace of the hotel were the pleasant staff
I know I shall not stay at this hotel on my next planned visit to the wonderful city of Inverness.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twojrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear that all our staff were friendly, however I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience at the Columba Hotel.
I would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you received during your stay at the Columba Hotel. Our top priority is providing high standards of service & facilities to all our guests and clearly on this occasion we have failed to achieve this with you. We are currently working through a refurbishment programme to ensure all our bedrooms are of a 4*standard.
We have many good comments regarding our breakfast however we will sit down with our Restaurant Team to discuss your comments and we will endeavour to ensure that the issues are rectified and do not happen again.
Once again, thank you for your comments made and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Columba Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews