We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst place I have ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Redcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #147 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
1 review
“The worst place I have ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel was booked for a group of us working in Inverness for a couple of weeks. The rooms were ridiculously small. My colleague in the single was longer than his bed and could touch both walls if he stretched his arms out. The beds were very uncomfortable and we all ended up with very little sleep and bad backs. The so-called doubles were not proper double beds. One colleague found that there were no slats holding up his bed after the mattress collapsed in the middle of the night. The basement rooms were very damp and airless. The gravel in the car park outside was extremely noisy and impossible to sleep through. Cleanliness and staff attitude was hit and miss. One colleague found the previous occupier's underpants under his bed and at Monday breakfast we had to wade through the mess left behind from a party on Sunday evening. One colleague in a double occupancy room asked for 2 towels - one per person, only to be told there were no clean towels left in the hotel. It's unbelievable to me - and I travel widely - that this has been given hotel status. Inverness is a beautiful city but have blacklisted this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    45
    30
    22
    15
See reviews for
25
37
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Inverness great place to visit and to stay in such a great location with good food very friendly staff clean rooms was well worth visit would make it the first call next time l am in the area as so plesant a stay would say try rhem first as worth a stay thanks to all a the redcliffe for a plesant stay hope to be back again soon as well worth it as easy to get to centre and away from busy pubs and clubs that could spoil it so thanks again. Jeff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here with my partner on a Saturday night for a weekend trip to Inverness. We paid £95 for the room which was tiny - not large enough for 2 adults and luggage. The bed was also small but quite comfortable and there was a skylight window overhead. This was our first disappointment.
The following morning we were unable to shower as there was no hot water. There is no phone in the room to phone reception so my partner had to call a mobile number given in the information pack in the room from his own mobile phone. Eventually someone answered saying they had to put a booster on and it would take around 10 minutes. 15-20 minutes later and still no hot water I try to call again but no one answered. I then got dressed and went down to reception where a member of the kitchen staff dealt with my complaint giving me the same information about the booster 'about 10 minutes'. This is after trying to have a shower for 45 mins. He told me this is was because 'all the guests are having a shower at the same time'. After expressing my frustration of paying nearly £100 for a tiny room with no hot water I was offered £20 of my bill,
My partner and I left Inverness that morning as on going back to the room after complaining, there was no water coming out the shower at all. We decided to cut our losses and headed back home to Aberdeen as we did not wish to go walking without a shower.
To conclude, the room is very overpriced for what you get and the staff were less than helpful when we had a problem with the room. A very disappointing trip.
A hotel, AS A GIVEN, should provide a working shower in the rate for ALL guests regardless of the time of day they wish to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for work, just for one night. The room was small but was very comfy and had everything you need. The place was immaculate and the staff exceptional. Also ate in the restaurant and I have to say the food was delicious and the service superb. Location is excellent also for the town centre and has some very beautiful views. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLawson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in hotel room quite small but very clean and comfortable very good powerful shower , dined both nights in hotel food was excellent and good value for money 2 course for 12.95 would definetly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for a treat night away to the theatre , but ended up tired after very little sleep in the hotel. Our room was small with only a dirty velux window overlooking a roof. The bed was like a sofa bed hard and uncomfortable . On arrival we were not especially happy with the small room but our main concern was a loud electronic noise coming from below, so we went to the manager and said we would not be able to sleep with that noise. He informed us that the noise would stop at 9pm .It did not stop and we realised at about 6 am we were above the kitchen ,the morning shift came in and the noise got worse. The most annoying thing is that the owner who seemed nice enough had the opportunity to move us but he did not , we had even dined at his hotel thus giving him even more than the cost of our small noisy room. I would not recommend this hotel now wonder whether these poor standard rooms are used by hotels for late booking sites and they just make easy money from them .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayneychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We were in a group of 20 and we prebooked our menu.All courses were promptly served and no-one was left waiting for their food which is one of my pet hates! They even gave us a proper notepad to write out our drinks order. They have a cocktail menu which is quite varied but as there were 20 drinks cocktails were made last, unfortunately no jugs which i feel saves much time! They accomodated us all in lovely friendly suroundings while the staff smiled and were polite. My courses were prawn cocktail,just the way you would expect it, main course was plaice with capers on a bed of spinach,green beans and sliced roast potatoes yum! Had to do the sticky toffee pud with plenty sauce and some ice cream, not too heavy,just right. A very good evening had by all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#120 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#15 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Hotel

Property: Redcliffe Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Terrace, Inverness IV2 3HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in quiet corner two minutes walk from city centre. Guest off street parking. All rooms recently refurbished to high standard. LCD TV Freeview and Wi-Fi. Local knowledgeable staff, slick professional service. Popular restaurant and conservatory with heated terrace. A true Inverness hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing