We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #42 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Minty and Gavin provide a very warm welcome at their cottage beautifully nestled amid the trees and gardens. Their comfortable home also offers a pleasant sitting room, with fireplace, that is overflowing with magazines, maps and other helpful information, or, better yet, enjoy chatting with the owners about the many things to do and see in the area. Be hopeful that during your visit Minty will be there preparing fresh scones and Gavin will be there (he may be away guiding a private garden tour) for your own personal tour around the grounds. Our two-night stay while on a car tour of the Highlands was much too brief (but long enough to see the elusive cats!). We anticipate a return visit and a longer stay!

Room Tip: If prefer a shower, ask for second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We received a warm welcome, even though I had only booked the day before we arived and it was almost out of season. Minty and Gavin gave lots of helpful suggestions and advice for making the best use of our short time in the area. The location was wonderful with views of the sun setting behind the snow kissed mountains of the highlands. I had never been to the Black Isle before, but I will return and would want to stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeBeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We wanted to stay near Inverness, but out in the country with views - and the owners (Gavin and Minty) gave us just what we wanted. The charming mid-century style home has all the conveniences and has them with charm. Gavin and Minty provided us with great suggestions of what to see and where to eat (in fact, they booked our first night's restaurant for us since we would be arriving late). The B&B is in a beautiful, peaceful area - great for hikers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegathaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A little gem nestled in spectacular Scottish countryside - only 4 miles from Inverness and easily accessible from the A9. We stayed for 3 nights and used Craigiewood as a base for exploring the Black Isle, Glen Affric and Loch Ness. The house is beautiful - a home away from home. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious. There is free wi-fi and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is a sitting room with fire and 6 acres of meadows and gardens. Gavin and Minty are wonderful hosts. They are most helpful and accommodating - even of well-behaved doggies. They can advise of activities and excursions in the local area, provide maps and make restaurant reservations. They also make an outstanding breakfast!!

Highly recommended! Reservations are a must.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelazysundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Arriving after a long drive northwards and on our way up to the Orkneys the next day, we wished we had more time to spend at Craigiewood, amidst beautiful trees on the Black Isle. A warm welcome from Minty and Gavin, both good sources of local information (eg. how to hear Rod Stewart sing across the Moray Firth) and a great sense of humour, you really felt you were visiting friends. Craigiewood is a delightful house, really comfortable but not 'B&B-fussy'. Breakfast was first-class. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNJ014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Craigiewood is close to Inverness & yet tucked away. The house & surroundings are fabulous. We stayed for 2 nights & wished we had booked for atleast 3 nights. Minty & Gavin are super hosts - great local knowledge & so willing to help plan our trip. I wish Inverness had an international airport, I would be visiting Craigiewood atleast twice a year. Thanks Minty for everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delnavaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Wonderful peaceful location, with abundant wildlife. Fascinating gardens, with several species of native orchids growing in the front lawn!!
Minty made us very welcome, and was a fount of knowledge regarding the local area. Unfortunately Gavin was away on one of his garden tours... my wife would have loved a conducted tour of his garden!
Very comfortable room and smashing breakfast.
Only stayed one night... wish it could have been longer!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewtonsPlymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
0.8 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
#137 of 231 in Inverness
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Netherton Farm B&B
Netherton Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Culbokie
105 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caberfeidh B&B
Caberfeidh B&B
#61 of 231 in Inverness
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Property: Craigiewood
Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing