We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts and peaceful surroundings”
Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #50 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming hosts and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Minty and Gavin Dallmeyer are wonderful hosts who make you feel completely at home at their cozy hideout off the beaten tourist path, an oasis of peace and quiet but with easy access to the busy city of Inverness. The breakfasts were tasty and generous and our room very comfortable. Minty also took it upon herself to advocate on our behalf, contacting Booking.com directly to remedy a London hotel snafu that was causing us no shortage of grief. We recommend Craigiewood without reservation and look very much forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just go. If you can, it is like falling into the arms of your most beloved. A magical setting, in a magical place with the most welcoming of hosts. Want to feel like you came home? Here it is, Cragiewood. The best place to stay if you are touring Inverness, Loch Ness, or northern Scotland. The countryside surrounding Craigiewood is/was .... i do not have words to express... to me and my daughter. I recommend this beautiful , amazing B&B to young families, couples or anyone who wants to re-connect with is truly real. Tae your love, your family here. Minty and Gavin my hat is off.

Room Tip: Your GPS WILL get you to the wrong place Nevertheless, the folks at the wrong place will get you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Thanks once again to the hospitality of Minty and Gavin I had yet another weekend of golf and walking in the north of Scotland. You'll not be left wanting for anything during your stay at Craigiewood and it's a great base to make a number of trips around this beautiful area of the world.

Don't think twice about booking here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We visited Craigiewood in September and felt very comfortable and welcome. Minty and Gavin are very friendly hosts and very helpful. We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4cye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Araminta and Gavin are good old fashioned hospitality. Their personal attention to your needs for the day was a breath of fresh air and the use of their local knowledge put to good use. Loved my stay with them and the local suggestion of dinner at the North Kessock Pub. perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cramben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The guest house was easy to find and just what we needed. Araminta was great in arranging dinner for us at the North Kessock Hotel. The room was cosy and the bed extremely comfortable. All the guest amenities were there from goodies in the bathroom to the selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. Breakfast was delightful and good array of cereals and yoghurt followed by a full Scottish breakfast. We were sad to leave but will deffinately be back on a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally312633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had a lovely stay here. Armaminta and Gavin are charming, and make you so welcome. The location is fabulous, very rural and hidden away, but so close to Inverness. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. Breakfasts were delicious, aga cooked, sitting in the big kitchen. Lovely walks from the door and a super country place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
2.9 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#25 of 34 in Inverness
176 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast
Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Rosemarkie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Netherton Farm B&B
Netherton Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Culbokie
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Property: Craigiewood
Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing