We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, and right at home!”
Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #50 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, and right at home!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Gavin and Mintie's lovely house is perfectly sited - you feel like you are miles from the world! When we drove up, Gavin was in the garden with the cat, and we had to shoo some pheasant out of the way. Perfect, perfect place to unwind. Mintie did a great job working through where to eat, what to do, and what to see. Great recommendations for our drive the next day, and they even predicted the weather to a tee! Can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We greatly enjoyed having you all to stay even for such a brief time and I am so glad that you felt you were able to unwind. Thank you so much for reviewing us. You do not an excuse to come back to see us! With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed just one night at Craigiewood but it was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the wonderful surroundings of the lovely garden, the cosy living room with the fire and the peace and quietness of the area. The hosts are very nice and prepared a delicious breakfast. Mintie's homemade fruit purres were the best. We had the best night's sleep ever. The only disadvantage being that it is far away from restaurants and villages but it is well worth the drive into the forest. Highly recommendable if you're looking for a relaxing place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a nice Review - it really does mean a lot to us. I am only sorry that your stay was so brief but we will remember you fondly as you were just so sweet and sympathetic about our Cat Drama. Sadly he had to be put to sleep the evening you left us.With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Another fantastic stay at Craigiewood with Minty and Gavin. Hosting and cooking seems to be effortless for them, and we could have sat for hours in the garden surrounded by the wildlife (multiple yellowhammers, sparrows, goldfinches, Red Kites, buzzards, pheasants....etc). Hard to believe it is only a few miles from the Kessock Bridge and Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
It was our pleasure to have you all to stay and thank you for taking the time to post your Review on TripAdvisor. We can add two Greater Spotted Woodpeckers to your Wildlife list! We much look forward to your 2014 Golfing week-end. With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Craigiewood is a beautiful home surrounded by a lovely garden, set in the peace and quiet of the Black Isle with fine long views, especially to the west. It's easily accessible, being a couple of miles off the A9 just north of Inverness. What more could you want?
Oh, yes... the warm welcome, perfect hospitality and thoughtful comfort that Minty and Gavin offer and provide. You will be looked after, almost like an old friend, from the moment you first make contact by phone or email right through your arrival and stay to the moment you leave.
For those of us living in remote parts of the Highlands who occasionally come to Inverness for business and shopping and need to include an overnight stay, Craigiewood provides the best possible relaxation at the end of a busy day in the town. If you're a stranger to the area, Minty and Gavin will gladly offer advice to help you to get the most out of your time in the Highlands. And a fine breakfast is offered alongside all the great comfort and hospitality.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalmonSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Please come back and stay with us when the garden is looking less bleak and there is no snow on the ground!
With best wishes, Minty and Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Thank you Minty and Gavin. We thoroughly enjoyed our very short stay on the Black Isle with you both! Despite it being mid winter and us being a little disorganised in our arrival, with our friends, Minty welcomed us with open arms earlier than expected and rustled up a pot of tea and cake in a beautiful private sitting room. She booked us a table in a fantastic local hotel restaurant and made no complaint when we arrived back in the middle of the night, instead we found hot water bottles keeping our beds warm and a miniature vase of freshly-picked wildflowers in the bedroom. Breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen made us feel like part of the family and set us up for a day of exploring the Black Isle, thanks to Minty's recommendations of where to go. We stayed only one night but could easily have spent the week there in this welcoming and tranquil setting. A real find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Minty and Gavin gave us a warm welcome to their home. The guest lounge with fire was perfect for relaxing at the end of a long cold day. The local pub recommended for dinner is charming with good food. Our host's recommendations for a westerly drive were spot on. We would happily return if we are up that way again.

Room Tip: Worth noting that the beds are twin - but a lovely night's sleep with individual hot water bottl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Found this wonderful accommodation by using tripadvisor. It was well recommended - and I wholeheartedly agree! Thanks to Minty and Gavin for their hospitality and recommendation - the hotel in North Kessock serves fabulous food. I will definitely be back with hubby!

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
178 reviews
2.9 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
8.3 mi away
Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast
Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Rosemarkie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
8.7 mi away
Netherton Farm B&B
Netherton Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Culbokie
108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Drynie House
Old Drynie House
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Property: Craigiewood
Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing