We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #45 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was delightful to be welcomed by Minty and Gavin and to be served tea and cake in a sunny peaceful sitting room. Craigiewood is set in pretty gardens in the countryside north of Inverness and lives up to its photos. Minty had booked us a table for dinner at the North Kessock Hotel, where we had a lovely view of Inverness across the water in the moonlight. The excellent breakfast was at a large family-style table. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasannie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I apologise for taking so long to thank you for your kind review for which we are most grateful. I am just sorry that your visit to us was so brief but totally appreciate that you had a very tight schedule and can only hope that we will see you here again for a longer time.

With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed for just one night to collect my husband from the Caledonian Sleeper train before heading back up north. As I had the dog with me I needed somewhere I could give him a good off lead walk so the hotel right by the station was out of the question. Craigiewood was perfect as it is only about ten minutes' drive from the centre of town yet appears to be deep in the countryside. The garden is a delight with meandering paths cut through it to lead you on to discover its secrets. The hosts could not have been more accommodating, even agreeing to provide a delicious cooked breakfast for my husband after I collected him from the train. Lovely place, lovely hosts, and very reasonably priced. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We much enjoyed your stay with us even if only for one night and I am very glad that Toby appreciated following Gavin's paths in the garden! I hope that your final week's holiday with your husband was relaxing and peaceful. The sun did shine for you!

With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed only two nights at Craigiewood but it was wonderful, and we can't wait to return. We especially enjoyed the wonderful surroundings of the immediate area as well as the lovely garden, the cosy living room with the fire and the peace and quietness of it all. Gavin and Minty are fabulous hosts and prepared a truly delicious breakfast. We had the best night's sleep ever in an immaculate room which was filled with genuinely excellent reading books, I could have read at least 20 of them if we'd had the time ! Our hosts made us feel very very special and we came away feeling as though we had been welcomed into their family. Highly recommendable if you're looking for a relaxing place in beautiful surroundings and a fabulous home to stay in. without question we will be returning, hopefully very soon. Thank you Gavin and Minty for a wonderful experience. A & G (and Izzie).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajhajh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Gosh - that it such a lovely review - so very many thanks for taking the time to write it. I never take anything for granted so it is always a real bonus when we read nice things about Craigiewood. We so enjoyed your stay with us and Izzy is one of my favourite 'dog' visitors! Come back again soon.

With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spend the last two days of our week holiday at Craigiewood and this was our best B&B !!! It is a lovely place and Minty and Gavin are very nice and helpful. We enjoyed everything, the delicious breakfast, the house, the rooms, the garden and the early morning walks, it is a wonderful place to stay !!! We had a great time and we will definitely return next year !!!!

Nico and Margriet
The Netherlands

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you very much for telling TripAdvisor how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved meeting you all and hope very much that we will see you again in 2014.

Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I can't think why I haven't written about Craigiewood before, having stayed here a few times. The warm welcome never abates; Gavin and Minty's retreat may be secluded in the woods, yet it is so accessible to Inverness and the Highlands; it is the perfect base and launch-point. Their wise counsel on what to see, and how best to use the time available, is invaluable. Additionally, one has to restrain ones appetite for even more of Minty's cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about us. These days TripAdvisor is an important tool for the travelling public and we do appreciate the effort you make. We hugely enjoyed having you both to stay and just hope that your time on Skye was not too exhausting and that your energy and muscles survived!

With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were treated like one of the Family,with nothing being too much effort for Minty and Gavin.The rooms were great full of lots of unusual bits and pieces and the breakfasts were to die for.Can totally recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Bernie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We much enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time from your catching up on your return home to write a review. It is much appreciated.

With best wishes from me and the Shoe-Gluer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our daughter and her family (husband and two children) joined my husband and me at this lovely B&B nestled in the woods outside of Inverness. The home is charming and the hosts, Minty and Gavin, are most accommodating. We found the rooms to be comfortable and clean and Minty is a great cook! We especially enjoyed having the use of the parlor in the evening to read and play games. It was quite cozy! Minty and Gavin ensured that we had reservations for dinner (we were 6 and it was a major golf weekend in Inverness) helped us with our sightseeing plans. I'd love to return to their lovely home sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaT46341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor - it is much appreciated. You were such a lovely happy family to have to stay and we were most impressed by John's chess skills not to mention your solitare skills!! Do, please, come back one day and stay with us.

With best wishes to you all from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
0.8 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#20 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
#146 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Drynie House
Old Drynie House
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sealladh Sona
Sealladh Sona
#89 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Property: Craigiewood
Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing