We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, off-the-beaten track B&B”
Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #47 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Arriving after a long drive northwards and on our way up to the Orkneys the next day, we wished we had more time to spend at Craigiewood, amidst beautiful trees on the Black Isle. A warm welcome from Minty and Gavin, both good sources of local information (eg. how to hear Rod Stewart sing across the Moray Firth) and a great sense of humour, you really felt you were visiting friends. Craigiewood is a delightful house, really comfortable but not 'B&B-fussy'. Breakfast was first-class. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNJ014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Craigiewood is close to Inverness & yet tucked away. The house & surroundings are fabulous. We stayed for 2 nights & wished we had booked for atleast 3 nights. Minty & Gavin are super hosts - great local knowledge & so willing to help plan our trip. I wish Inverness had an international airport, I would be visiting Craigiewood atleast twice a year. Thanks Minty for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delnavaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Wonderful peaceful location, with abundant wildlife. Fascinating gardens, with several species of native orchids growing in the front lawn!!
Minty made us very welcome, and was a fount of knowledge regarding the local area. Unfortunately Gavin was away on one of his garden tours... my wife would have loved a conducted tour of his garden!
Very comfortable room and smashing breakfast.
Only stayed one night... wish it could have been longer!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank NewtonsPlymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The main difference that you will always find between a good get away B&B/Hotel and a great one is the service. This is a great B&B!!! Minty and Gav will always make you feel at home and offer you such things as the friendliest conversation or the best breakfast.

Whether you're in this area of the country for it's great golf courses or it's wonderful walks I wouldn't recommend you stay anywhere else (unless you want a driving holiday, in which case I would recommend Happy Highland Campers).

Craigiewood feels a million miles from anywhere but is conveniently on the doorstep of the very best Scotland has to offer. The rooms are large, comfortable and very well appointed and the rest of the house of superbly quaint and surrounded by superb gardens that Gav keeps in fantastic order.

I stay here every time I head north and couldn't think of anywhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed at Cragiewood while on a course in Inverness, the location is perfect, as only 10mins from Inverness centre, however you would never guess that from the stunning view from the bedroom window of beautiful highland countryside. Minty and Gavin are the most welcoming of hosts, food was fantastic, and they are great sources of information on things to see and do in the surrounding area. Don't miss it if you're heading to this part of Scotland!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghIrishmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We had two nights at Craigiewood at the end of a tour of the highlands and it was our best stay by miles. As soon as we arrived Minty offered us tea in the very comfortable guest lounge and made us feel at home. Minty and Gavin are perfect hosts and we were really sorry to leave, we could have chatted for hours. Minty gave us good recommendations for what to do and where to eat. We particularly liked a pub restaurant on the bank of Loch Ness which was fab, even on a gray, wet night. Stay at this beautiful place - you really can't go wrong! We'll be sending all our friends there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Loved our stay at the Craigiewood B&B----the breakfast was delicious, the owners--Araminta and Gavin were more than accommodating. The B&B was very clean and comfortable---loved the bath tub!---it was in the country so we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing. Gavin took us on a tour as we had no car and we loved the privacy and the no driving part. The food at the local hotel was delicious and very well served. We had a wonderful stay there and appreciated both the service and people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
0.8 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#19 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Drynie House
Old Drynie House
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Netherton Farm B&B
Netherton Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Culbokie
112 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ornum House
Ornum House
#1 of 10 in Beauly
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing