We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Stuart
Nearby Hotels
US$226
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathmount Hotel(Inverness)
US$216
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Glenmoriston Town House(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$244
US$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$167
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
121
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
11
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and truly enjoyed our entire stay. When Caroline welcomed us upon our arrival she told us she had good news and bad news for us. The good news was that we were the only guests and had the entire castle to ourselves for the night -- the bad news was that we had the entire castle to ourselves for the night! After our tour of this wonderful castle it seemed only a little spooky and we slept very soundly. Ghosts aside, Castle Stuart is simply a beautiful castle in a quiet and beautiful location. Caroline and the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The food for breakfast and dinner was outstanding and the atmosphere of the dinning room cannot be beat. Yes, it is expensive, but you will leave with a truly unforgettable experience. Take their advice to pack an overnight or other smaller bag to make it easier to bring your luggage up the spiral staircases.

Room Tip: McIntosh Room was large, very comfortable and full of character.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

If you're visiting Inverness, try to stay at Castle Stuart; it's a fun experience. We stayed here for one night, some reviews say that you should stay for 2 nights, I think one is enough. It's expensive but worth doing it at least once.

The castle overall was great; the dinning area, drawing room, outside grounds, and billiard room were all great.

We opted for the dinner. It's a bit expensive, but you're paying for an experience more than the fine food. It included wine which was a nice touch, but we didn't like either the red or white so didn't drink them. It would have been nice if they would have also had a la carte wines.

The tea and coffee in the drawing room was also a nice touch, but they were out of whiskey (which you must pay for a reasonable price). It's an expensive place, so I'd expect a well-stocked bar. Staff should check every day if anything needs to be replaced in the bar.

The rooms are nicely appointed in castle-style furniture; you feel like you've traveled back in time. However, the rooms were not the cleanest ones we saw in Scotland. There was dust in many places (dressers, window panes, night table, etc.), but the sheets and bathroom seemed fine. Our toilet was separate from the shower and they were both small, but keep in mind this is an old castle and the owners had to work with what they had. My one big complaint was about the pillows. Again, it's an expensive night, so they should at least have decent pillows. They were the worst pillows I've seen in any hotel in the world (yes, that bad).

The wi-fi only works in the dinning room. They said it only worked in the drawing room, but 3 of us couldn't get signal there. Again, it's expensive, so they should at least try to fix the wi-fi problem in drawing room (there are devices that can do this).

The staff was very nice and extremely help. They all had a smile and were very friendly.

All in all, you should stay here for the experience (which is great) but don't expect everything to be at par with what you pay.

Room Tip: If you like large bathrooms, opt for the room that has the bathroom outside the room if you don't mind going down a couple of stairs to reach it. It's a nice large bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The whole experience of staying here was a delight from the very first moment of our arrival. Friendly staff who love working there, and love the castle. Room very comfortable. We were on a 5 week trip of the UK, and our stay here was definitely a highlight.
Warning - there is no lift in this historic building - but the ghost helped us with our luggage by delivering it to our tower bedroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My cousin and I had been looking forward to our stay at Castle Stuart. What a disappointment.Castle Stuart appeared at the end of a long drive canopied by trees in a beautiful setting. On our first tour of the Castle it looked quaint however it quickly became difficult to overlook the cobwebs. Castle Stuart needs a very thorough cleaning and I think updating and most certainly, editing. Elvis and all those gnomes do not fit with the cost associated with a stay at Castle Stuart.
The positives; bed linen was clean and fresh, the bathroom was clean. Dinner was very good though the wine was mediocre. Staff was very pleasant, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms only lock on the inside. Unable to lock the rooms once you leave them.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana154932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We could only stay one night at the castle, and after that one night we wanted to stay a week!!!
Wonderful staff. Took us on a tour of the castle. Got us settled into our room. Wine, chocolates, cozy fireplace. Comfortable beds. Had the curtains pulled around them during the night and it was hard to get up in the morning. I could get use to living like a queen!!! The cook fixed a wonderful breakfast the next morning. She is a gem. Took a tour of the "gnomeland" garden.
We love Scotland!!! Can't wait to come back and will definitely stay at Castle Stuart.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews