We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Castle Stuart

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Stuart
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I booked 2 nights at castle Stuart to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. We are both castle enthusiasts and we love staying at old properties that ooze with character and history. Castle Stuart did not disapoint. It looks and feels the part. It's great advantage is that it doesn't feel like a hotel at all, but like being a guest at a baronial castle home. It certainly helped that we had the castle all to ourselves, especially the second night. So, my tip is to book a weekday if possible and avoid weekends or high season, in order to increase the changes of being the only guests. It will make you feel like lord of the manor, and you can enjoy the public rooms with their fireplaces and snooker tables like they are your own. The dinner experience was well worth it and the dinning room is very romantic with all the candles and imposing fireplace. I liked that during the booking procedure we were asked for food preferences. And I appreciated the fact that Caroline helped me set up a nice birthday surprise for my girlfriend. While waiting for the starters a piper appeared playing happy birthday, accompanied by the staff carrying a castle-shaped birthday cake. My girlfriend was even handed a real claymore to use for cutting the cake! Unforgettable experience! Best room in the castle is the Murray suite. All rooms in the castle are priced the same. It is not a cheap experience but it is worth it. However, it would be a nice idea to have a reduced rate for weekdays in the low season for example. That would make it much easier to repeat the experience, something that we would love to do in the future! Lastly, if you can afford, book for two nights, because only one is simply not enough to truly enjoy this wonderful castle!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the top of the towers are by far the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prince_Charming92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Returned today from a three day stay. Had a super time. Food very good (and portions large). Delicious breakfast and yummy porridge. Lovely castle. Very much recommend it. My boys - aged 13 and 16 - loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This place oozes character and you get the feeling that you have stepped back in time. We were lucky enough to have the castle to ourselves and had a great time. Our room was quirky and had lots of nooks and crannys that kept us busy. We had pre dinner drinks in front of a huge open fire in the lounge room. Our dinner was superb and we just loved the piper, huge dining table, roaring fire and great food. Breakfast was great and I don't think I've ever had porridge that tasted that good. I would highly recommend this castle as the accommodation is comfortable, fun and interesting.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were really looking forward to staying in a castle and it did not disappoint. Our room was on the 4th floor of the tower. The narrow spiral staircase was a real trip - particularly because we had to carry our own bags. Our room was really cute, a little kitschy with tartan rugs, etc - gas fireplace, great view of the loch, nice bath; toilet was in a tiny separate room. We didn't think we had a TV until we found it tucked away in a cabinet. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good. Being piped in to dinner by a young man was interesting - a trifle loud but entertaining. Dinner was excellent. Our group had a great time. Grounds needed some attention, particularly the "gnome garden" in the rear of the castle.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were pleasant and nicely furnished. The owners did a nice job working within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I always wanted to stay in an old castle and finally had the chance while celebrating my 60th birthday in Scotland. Castle Stuart didn't disappoint. Caroline and the other staff members were fantastic hosts. Our room at the top of one of the towers was roomy and had great views, though it was not an easy climb to get to. Visitors should bear in mind that it's truly an old, old place and doesn't have every modern comfort, but that's part of what makes it special - you can still get a feel for what it was like for the residents of the original structure. Very cool. My birthday dinner was excellent and entertaining - I even had fireworks on my castle-shaped cake! Also golfed at the fantastic new course within sight of the castle - great time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the tops of the two towers have the best views and are away from the rest of the castle act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and truly enjoyed our entire stay. When Caroline welcomed us upon our arrival she told us she had good news and bad news for us. The good news was that we were the only guests and had the entire castle to ourselves for the night -- the bad news was that we had the entire castle to ourselves for the night! After our tour of this wonderful castle it seemed only a little spooky and we slept very soundly. Ghosts aside, Castle Stuart is simply a beautiful castle in a quiet and beautiful location. Caroline and the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The food for breakfast and dinner was outstanding and the atmosphere of the dinning room cannot be beat. Yes, it is expensive, but you will leave with a truly unforgettable experience. Take their advice to pack an overnight or other smaller bag to make it easier to bring your luggage up the spiral staircases.

Room Tip: McIntosh Room was large, very comfortable and full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

If you're visiting Inverness, try to stay at Castle Stuart; it's a fun experience. We stayed here for one night, some reviews say that you should stay for 2 nights, I think one is enough. It's expensive but worth doing it at least once.

The castle overall was great; the dinning area, drawing room, outside grounds, and billiard room were all great.

We opted for the dinner. It's a bit expensive, but you're paying for an experience more than the fine food. It included wine which was a nice touch, but we didn't like either the red or white so didn't drink them. It would have been nice if they would have also had a la carte wines.

The tea and coffee in the drawing room was also a nice touch, but they were out of whiskey (which you must pay for a reasonable price). It's an expensive place, so I'd expect a well-stocked bar. Staff should check every day if anything needs to be replaced in the bar.

The rooms are nicely appointed in castle-style furniture; you feel like you've traveled back in time. However, the rooms were not the cleanest ones we saw in Scotland. There was dust in many places (dressers, window panes, night table, etc.), but the sheets and bathroom seemed fine. Our toilet was separate from the shower and they were both small, but keep in mind this is an old castle and the owners had to work with what they had. My one big complaint was about the pillows. Again, it's an expensive night, so they should at least have decent pillows. They were the worst pillows I've seen in any hotel in the world (yes, that bad).

The wi-fi only works in the dinning room. They said it only worked in the drawing room, but 3 of us couldn't get signal there. Again, it's expensive, so they should at least try to fix the wi-fi problem in drawing room (there are devices that can do this).

The staff was very nice and extremely help. They all had a smile and were very friendly.

All in all, you should stay here for the experience (which is great) but don't expect everything to be at par with what you pay.

Room Tip: If you like large bathrooms, opt for the room that has the bathroom outside the room if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
569 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
735 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Stuart

Property: Castle Stuart
Address: | Petty Parish, Inverness IV2 7JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Stuart is a 17th Century Tower House in the Highlands of Scotland, a 10 minute drive from Inverness.Restored privately from a derelict ruin, the Castle has 8 bedrooms available for overnight accommodation on an exclusive use basis or for individual use.Step back in time and enjoy the history and charm of a bygone era, alongwith the luxury of remote control gas fires/wifi/hot water and heating in your private chambers!Ideal for intimate weddings, a romantic escape, a family retreat, or indeed a birthday or anniversary party with style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Stuart Hotel Inverness
Castle Stuart Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing