We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Stuart
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
US$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
121
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
11
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Magnificent weekend at Castle Stuart in Inverness celebrating a friend's birthday.
Caroline, Mrs M and staff were absolutely wonderful. Service superb. I felt honoured to enjoy Caroline's home and loved all the special little touches.
Loved the drawing room, the dining room, home cooking, and Lala the shetland pony!
Mrs M you are amazing - cooking breakfast at 7am, teaching us Strip the Willow at 11pm, always a smile on your face. Ceilidh was so much fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed at Castle Stuart for the second time. It never disappoints, a wonderful place. Caroline was as lovely as ever, very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Making you feel very welcome. This time we stayed in the Battlement Suite Maclachlan, we had the whole tower to ourselves. The roof top was just a few steps up from our bedroom and at 11pm we stood looking out at the wonderful views as it was still very light.

Piper played as you walked into dinner, had a lovely three course meal and then into the drawing room to relax and enjoy a whisky or two

We will definatley be returning for a third time

Room Tip: If you dont like spiral stairs ask for a lower room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We spent one night at Castle Stuart and it was unforgettable.
We arrived after dinner and spent the evening enjoying the living room and billiard room.
Our room was lovely, and we loved the amenities - the castle book, mini bottles of wine, etc.
The breakfast was one of the best we had in Scotland.
All in all, sleeping in a bona fide castle was an experience we'd recommend to anyone (except people with limited mobility because of the spiral staircases).
In the morning we explored the gardens around and we were delighted to find Shetland ponies hanging out with the gnomes and bunnies! Very whimsical.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zazarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is our fourth stay at Castle Stuart & it is extra-special to us as it's where we were married 9 years ago. And, as ever, it didn't disappoint! Caroline & Grace went out of their way to make our stay a magical experience. It really is a home from home, with all those special little touches that set it apart from other places.

After two stays in the haunted Murray Room over the years, this time we chose the McLachlan Room, or Battlement Suite, at the top of the west tower, the room we had stayed in on our very first trip to Castle Stuart back in 2002. As ever, chocolates and goodies were left on the bed & all around the castle for us to help ourselves to, & tea, coffee & cakes were waiting for us in the drawing room. Although we missed Mrs M & her amazing porridge as she was on holiday, dinner & breakfast were elaborate affairs & we felt very spoilt. I would certainly recommend staying for dinner if you can.

If you're looking for enormous flat screen TVs & all the mod cons then this isn't the place for you. However, if you're searching for a place where you can get away from it all in the most wonderful peaceful surroundings where you feel really pampered, then this should suit you down to the ground! There is no denying that it is expensive, but each time we stay it's worth every penny.

Thank you Caroline (& this time Grace too) for another memorable stay - the perfect end to our holiday in Scotland!

Room Tip: Choose the haunted honeymoon suite (Murray Room) at the top of the East tower or battlement suite (McLachlan Room) at the top of the West tower for the best bathrooms & the best views (but not if you dislike stairs, heights or ghosts!!)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed a while back in August. We only had the chance to stay 1 night as our Scotland trip rushed passed us. I had booked the Castle room for my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by Caroline, we left our suitcases at the door as we had a very early start to Ireland the next morning so Caroline let us leave our luggage at the bottom (thank god) We were taken on a wonderful tour showing us all the hidden rooms and passages. We were then taken up to our room. I had booked this room for a number of reasons. It was the Murray Suite, My mums family's surname is Murray (from scotland too) 2. The haunted suite for the boyfriend, he loved it. and of course it is the honeymoon suite and made it perfect as we got engaged on our europe trip too!
Dinner was absolutely devine. We shared the dining room with only 1 other couple. Caroline and her staff did an amazing job for my boyfriends birthday giving him the kings throne and crown and gown! it was a sight!! The piper was beautiful he played my grandparents wedding song and many more of my grandads favourites (he passed away 10years ago - he was definately there that night) Piper also played Happy Birthday for my man too!
This place is breathtaking. Eery and creepy but absolutely amazing.
We will definately be back!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fondtraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews